We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser-Max-Str. 39 - 41, 87600 Kaufbeuren, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kaufbeuren
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“In the middle of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

You will stay right in the middle of Kaufbeuren when staying in this hotel. You need to belive you SatNav when driving to hotel by car, you must drive through pedestirian area to get there. Hotel has very small garage under hotel, only small cars are recommended, don´t go there with SUV. My room was ok, in 3rd floor. Sleeping quality was below average, pillow was horrible and I couldn´t find good position with it. Room rate is ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The building is very nice and the location is perfect, although Kaubeuren is not a big city. The staff was friendly but it seems to me that they are overloaded and therefore their mood is not always the best you'd expect. This is more obvious in the evening when they are working at the restaurant (the same personnel takes care of the front desk and the restaurant).

The restaurant of the hotel was excellent! The food was delicious and the beer as well, the price was also affordable and not overpriced at all, in fact me and my colleagues ate dinner there everyday of our stay. The breakfast in the morning was ok (it is served in a smaller restaurant) nothing outstanding but with enough options to offer for every taste.

The room itself was rather small but with all the amenities necessary to have a pleasant stay. The bed in my room was pretty small (individual size) but extremely comfortable so I didn't mind the size. The hotel has a garage that you can use if you need to but be careful because the parking spaces are extremely tight!! If you have a medium-big size car it would be better to ask for a badge (offered also at the front desk of the hotel) which you can use to park on the street. The hotel charged me 5 euro per day for the parking space which I think is fair enough.

Overall it was a nice stay, with the food at the restaurant as the highlight of my stay.

Room Tip: Since most of the doors dividing the common areas are quit noisy, it would be better if you choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Simply lovely and very accomodating. I was traveling with my brother and my 2 young sons. The staff was so helpful, the rooms wonderful and the food delicious. The Christmas decorations were incredible!!
Can't wait to go back to this beautiful old city and again stay in Hotel Goldener Hirsch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for a week-end stay over with the whole family. 2 adults 1 4yr old and an 8 month old baby.The hotel is located at the heart of Kaufbeuren on the main street of the town.
There's a small parking garage on the side, but i can imagine this being tricky to park in when it's busy in the hotel.

At arrival we got a room with an extra bed for one of the kids and the room was spacious enough to fit all of us including the babybed. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was a little basic but good enough. This is a clean 3 star hotel, i've stayed at 4 or even 5 star hotels much worse than what we got here.
The only downside i'd like to mention is that there is no staff or reception employee between 21:00 & 6:00 am. In this timewindow you can get acces to the hotel via your room keys but there is no service.

  • Liked — clean hotel
  • Disliked — No staff between 21:00 & 6:00
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Address: Kaiser-Max-Str. 39 - 41, 87600 Kaufbeuren, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Kaufbeuren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kaufbeuren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Hirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.