We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel to your Saves list
Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel
Linden 25, 91635 Windelsbach, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windelsbach
Modiin, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Located in a small village (10 min drive from Rothenburg ODT), may be a good alternative for the expensive hotels in Rothenburg. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This hotel has a free wifi access with no restriction to the number of connected devices.
The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent three nights at Gasthof Linden in August 2011, though I had visited three times previously and my wife has been staying there since she was a child. When we decided to visit Germany, it was not even a question that we would be spending some nights here as our base for visiting Rothenburg O.D.T. This stay was just as enjoyable as the others.

We were given a room on the second floor of the guesthouse- although I've always stayed on the second floor on my previous visits, I had never stayed in this room. It was straight through the door at the top of the stairs. This meant it was a little noisy from passing foot traffic, but it wasn't bad. The room itself seemed much smaller than the others I had stayed in previously, but had the same charm and quality as the others. The room, bathroom, and furniture was all clean and well kept. Our room's balcony looked out over a peaceful yard.

The breakfast in the morning is the typical German breakfast heavy on meats, cheeses, and breads. Fresh coffee is provided and a very nice breakfast attendent makes sure you have everything you need. The main building contains a restaurant and is a great place to stop in for dinner or a drink in the evening.

The hotel is a quick car ride to Rothenburg and is much, much less than comparable hotels within Rothenburg. All in all, this is a calm, quiet, and charming hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just got back from staying at this cute little inn for 2 nights and I'm already ready to go back! The village of Linden is only 7 km away from Rothenburg odT so location is great! The village itself is very quiet and beautiful. The rooms were clean, the showers wonderful and the breakfast was very satisfying. Couldn't have asked for nicer staff! All were very friendly and accomodating. They had no problem with my dog staying with me and there was a nice path along a field just behind the inn for me to walk her on. The only thing I feel I should warn you about is the bathrooms. I don't know if it was just my rooms or if all of the bathroom doors were glass with some frosted parts but were basically see through. This wasn't a problem for me this time but if I had been traveling with a friend it would have been uncomfortable. If you are sleeping on the bottom floor, you may here glasses clinking in the morning as people start their breakfasts. Again, this wasn't a problem for me since I wanted to be awake and out exploring the beautiful area each day. I felt everything was wonderful and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed at the Gasthof Linden and enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the area. The rooms were very comfortable and had all we needed for a good nights sleep! Our rooms was on the main floor, which I need. It's sometimes hard to find pensions with rooms on the main floor. The breakfast was the typical Bavarian breakfast with hard rolls, meats, cheese, coffee, cold cereal, etc. It was yummy and got us off to a good start for our day. The owners do have a restaurant also for meals later in the day. I was very happy there and would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel

Address: Linden 25, 91635 Windelsbach, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Windelsbach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windelsbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Gasthof Linden is situated in the lovely quiet village of Linden. Traditional cooking, only using products of our franconian area gives makes our food so special. Only 120 m in distance is our new Wildkrauterhotel. 18 rooms, every with the charme of an local herb, in colour and style makes this hotel so diffrent. Come in and relax....We give you the chance of feeling home even being far away from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Linden & Wildkraeuterhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.