We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, typical Bavarian country hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger to your Saves list
Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger
Westerndorfer Str. 101 | Westerndorf St. Peter, 83024 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice, typical Bavarian country hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Good food, at pre-euro prices, very clean rooms, in typical Bavarian style and excellent pricing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here on our way home from Tuscany and it proved to be a great stopover. It is a typical gasthof. We had a quiet room at the back - a clean large room with sitting area and with balcony. Great food. The staff were pleasant and there was a nice garden area to sit out in good weather. Free off road parking. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Gasthof Hoehensteiger was our first place of stay over 10 years ago... and since then we've visited several times and the things that haven't changed here are the warmth, hospitality, "echtes Bayerisches" feel and the quality of stay and food.

Nicely located just outside of Munich and between a few minutes and a couple of hours drive from several lovely places to visit (like Salzburg, Kehlsteinhaus, Brechtesgaden Salt Mines, Chiemsee, Kampenwand where one can see the Alpine peaks of several countries and many more), Rosenheim and the Gasthof are big enough for city dwellers to feel comfortable and traditional enough to feel the real Bavaria.
They have great prices and rooms with up to 4 beds! Hallelujah for families with kids young enough to sleep in the same beds as the parents... but old enough to ensure parents always have little space ON the beds. :)) After over 2 weeks of sharing beds with our small kids, we entered our 4-bed room and thought - damn, we should have just stayed here the entire time! :))

A family run business, the Hoehensteigers are a wonderful, warm family - definitely the perfect place to start on success!

This time around, I'm planning to take back home several of their finest meats - Speck, different types of Wurste, maybe some Leberkaese...

Definitely recommend this place for all round wonderful feeling!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This is classic German hospitality at its finest. It is a family run hotel with an excellent staff. We stayed 3 nights and found this to be an ideal jumping off point for day trips. Breakfast was very good and dinner was excellent. If you want real Germany this is it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger

Address: Westerndorfer Str. 101 | Westerndorf St. Peter, 83024 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rosenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof-Hotel Hoehensteiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.