We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muenchener Str. 40, 83022 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“There are better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel does not have a lounge in which one can sit with friends, the front door is locked at 9pm & access is through a dark dismal area.
The rooms are not air conditioned & are basic but quite acceptable.
Breakfast was ok but often basic items were not available for a day or two, e.g. cornflakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
2
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked into this hotel for 1 night on business as it was impossible to stay in Munich during a big trade show. This hotel is 5 minutes walk up 1 street from the railway station, which is approx 40 minutes from Munich. The hotel was less than half the price of hotels that were full in Munich, the room was very basic, but clean and tidy, I arrived late to recieve great advice from friendly reception staff on where to eat and drink in town. Breakfast was self service to a typical continental selection which was fine, and again I experienced a friendly and helpful response on check out. My room was at the rear of the hotel, I had no problem with road noise despite having the window wide open all night. Rosenheim is a great example of a Bavarian small town with a traditional central square furnished with a good selection of eateries. Before booking this hotel I think you have to get your expectations in order - 1 or 2 nights where a bed and breakfast are your main objective its fine, longer stays or expectations of finery and "vacation" style accommodation my recommendation would be to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Previous reviewers have commented about road noise, my room was on the rear of the building and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and close to the station. The reviews on the site I booked through were not particularly good, especially with regard to the street noise, so I made a point of requesting a room at the rear. I had a quiet double with a large bathroom. The room was featureless but the bed was very comfortable, there was an excellent shower, and everything was clean. I asked for a softer pillow and one was produced. I also asked for an early breakfast which was not possible, but despite breakfast being included in the room rate I was given a small refund instead which I thought was very fair. It's not exactly an exciting place to stay, but I think it's quite good value for money and I would stay here again provided I could get a similar room.

Room Tip: You need to do as I did and ask for a room the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, no a/c, street racing happening outside so you could not open the windows. Services discusting, food dodgy, have no idea who gave this establishment 3 stars, they must have been blind and deaf!

Web pictures do not represent this hotel in anyway!

A warning against staying here should be issued!

Andrew & Janet

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed for one very hot and noisy night (it's located on a busy street corner where local kids hang out and shout until late into the night!). The hotel is charmless and rather tatty. It is poor value for money. Also, the map given on trip advisor is totally WRONG - we followed these directions and ended up 30 km outside Rosenheim in the wrong direction.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

This hotel is just a short 5 minute walk from the train station in Rosenheim. Great location centrally located in the city. Easy walk to lots of shopping in the adorable historic area. The hotel includes an ample buffet breakfast. Also has a restaurant with great dinner selections. The room was clean and comfortable. Nice staff.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Address: Muenchener Str. 40, 83022 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rosenheim
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Hirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.