We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, aways from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gabriele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Gabriele to your Saves list
San Gabriele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zellerhornstrasse 16, 82036 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Milford, Delaware
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, aways from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business, the hotel is set up to appear to be a monastery I think. It was clean, comfortable. The breakfast is typical Germany fare, well prepared. The only complaint was no temperature adjustment in the room. I slept with the window open so it worked. Fully stocked beer. If you don't have a car you will need either a cab or walk 30 minutes to Rosenheim. The restaurant was good that was attached to the hotel. If you have a car parking can be tough as the hotel is in a neighborhood with only a few spaces.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
30
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel looks from the outside like something from the 15th or 16th centuries, yet when you read the information in the hotel room you find it was opened in 2005 with all the old fashioned detailing being put in as new at this time.
It is quite a strange concept, but it does work.
My room was a good size with a good bathroom, although the bathroom was small.
There is a TV, mini-bar and safe in the rooms, plus ample space for hanging clothes.
The food in the restaurant is excellent, with a good choice all based on Italian cuisine.
The serving staff are dressed as monks, which is entertaining to a point, but it looks a little odd, especially on some of the younger staff, just doesn't look quite right.
The breakfast choice is typical continental, plenty to choose from and the serving staff are friendly and very efficient.
I will be staying here again in the next couple of months, and I must admit I am looking forward to it.
As a base for seeing the Bavarian mountains for a travelling couple this would be perfect.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms if you can, seem a little noisy. Room 16 is opposite the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for the second time and were just as happy as our first stay.
Lovely building, excellent room, nice and quiet, with very good breakfast for 4.5 euro, salmon, eggs, cold meats etc, and very friendly staff.
Within 2 minutes walk of big supermarket ideal to stock up for next days drive.
Very good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the San gabriele last weekend for two nights as a romantic weekend away. We booked the "romantische wochenende" package which included both nights and a 4 course meal in the hotel restaurant, Il convento. We upgraded the package to a deluxe room with four poster bed and whirlpool bath for an extra 100€
Arrangements:
Booking on the phone was a pleasure with very friendly and helpful staff who helped me both with the room and the restaurant booking.
The Hotel
Don't be put off by the hotels physical location if you look at it on google maps and see it surrounded by an industrial estate, petrol station and supermarket, once you pull up in front of the hotel it’ll all be forgotten as you’re transported to a wonderful, albeit, reconstructed medieval monastery but with the luxury of a modern hotel. The attention to detail and beautifully lit winding walkways, passages and stairways are beautifully done and it is worth staying at this hotel for the architecture alone.
The Room
As I mentioned, we had a deluxe room with four poster and whirlpool bath. The room was clean, romantically lit with a spacious bathroom and sitting area in addition to the comfortable bed. The pillows however were typical German fare.
If you’re not used to a pillow which at first although it seems to be fluffy and supportive but actually compresses on use to 1cm thick and endeavours to wrap itself round your head at night and suffocate you. Even folding it in half twice was only enough to give one a stiff neck, so I would heartily recommend you bring your own. The hotel does have an extensive “pillow menu” with various alternatives, but were apparently unable to bring us extra, replacement, or indeed any kind of what could be described as a functional pillow despite asking twice and being assured they were on the way. The room wasn’t made up during the day, but to be fair, we were only out of it from 10am to 3pm, so maybe there wasn’t enough time. They did bring fresh towels though.
Bathroom was lovely, as was the whirlpool bath, but it did give us quite a fright when it started of its own accord in an empty bath in late afternoon. TV was ancient, but functional with a very limited choice of channels, so not really catering for international visitors.

Our first night was also disturbed by a loud and noisy party held in the restaurant.

Food and Drink
The breakfast room is set out in the same theme, but for some reason they have laid out the buffet in the same narrow entrance which hotel guests use to enter and exit the “refectorium” leading to disgruntled tuts and logjams at regular intervals. Choosing tables is a free for all, and whereas normally one is offered tea or coffee at ones table, we were left to fend for ourselves and rattle through cupboards to find extra cups. Breakfast fare was plentiful and nicely, if over abundantly presented, but was of poor quality.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights, unfortunately. The restaurant follows the same architectural theme as the hotel, and looks fantastic, the service tried hard, they really did, but what let it down was quite simply the food. The menu was uninspiring, but simple food done well can be magnificent, done badly it can ruin even the best looking restaurant. Unfortunately the food here had the latter quality in abundance.
On the first night, I had caprese, or tomato and mozzarella. The tomatoes were large, hard, watery and tasteless, the mozzarella equally so. My main course of Linguine alla frütte de mare. The pasta was well cooked, but the sauce was bland, flavourless and looked like it came from a packet. The seafood was ok, but the lonely three prawns were overcooked and the baby squid were inedible. My wife had a fillet steak which was cooked as required, but was not properly sealed and lacked flavour. As a side dish, an unseasoned potato (singular) and some steamed carrot and cauliflower were added to the plate as an afterthought.
The four course meal wasn’t much better, although we did get to not enjoy it in a lovely romantic alcove. After a starter of rather boring antipasti, the pasta course was delicious and well presented. Unfortunately the main course, fish of unknown genus managed to be both over cooked and raw at the same time and was truly inedible.
There are many better restaurants in Rosenheim and the area, but in terms of food, few worse.
Overall
All that glisters is not gold
Overall we had a lovely romantic and relaxing weekend in a magnificent and beautiful hotel unfortunately let down by bland, cheap and poorly prepared food and the lacklustre service that one regrettably comes to expect when living in Germany.

Room Tip: Deluxe room, or room not above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I loved this hotel, it may not be old, it is true is a new construction, but the owners have taken care until the last detail to make it look like a real convent that the atmosphere is just like it. I loved all the decorations, the uneven floors and walls, the materials used, the doors with the huge old metal handles, niches in the walls with candles everywhere........great!! and most importantly, really fun to stay in a hotel like this one.

When we arrived, the receptionist informed us that we were given a better room than the one we booked, they upgraded us just because the room was available, so that was extra nice of them.

The hotel has a restaurant that continues with the theme of the convent looks, and all the waiters wear robes!!!, food was good and it is an italian restaurant, I recomed it.

The breakfast buffet was adecuate, enough of everything.

For a place like Rosenheim, that is not one of the biggest cities in Germany, to have this type of hotel, I find it amazing and really fun.

So, if for once, you want to stay in a different hotel, live something new, I really recommend you this hotel, is a nice place to stay in Rosenheim.

Pati-chueca

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for a week to attend a friend's wedding, though is outskirt of the town it takes around 5 mins to drive to the center from hotel - close to highway. Center of town has quite a few unexpectedly good restaurants/ hangout that midnight seems to be early.
The room is spacious, bathroom is small but lit nicely. Bed linens are less soft while mattress is however, due to the coolness of the weather with window opened I slept quite well. Just wished they would vacuum the floor more frequently. Hotel Restaurant aren't open after 10pm (if remember correctly) so please eat first at the airport / on the way should you arrive late. I'm fine with the monotonous breakfast however some of us got sick of it after 3 days of having the same food...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in this small brand-new "auberge" located in the outskirts of Rosenheim. Obviously, owned by an italian family, it tries very hard to recreate the atmosphere of a monastery. You have the "refektorium" for breakfast, the chapiter room, etc ... Rooms are somewhat "spartan" furnished but it is to comply with the theme ... Bathrooms are small but beautiful. Staff is friendly but not to the extent to keep open the restaurant on December 24th evening... hard to believe but not one restaurant open in this town of more than 20,000 people and even in München, it seemed that the only opened restaurant in this town of 1,300,000 was the Hofbraü !!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Gabriele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gabriele

Address: Zellerhornstrasse 16, 82036 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rosenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gabriele 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Gabriele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gabriele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.