We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basler Strasse 50, 79227 Schallstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a party of 6 adults so we took 3 rooms; the rooms were well equipped and clean. The location is excellent for travellers that would like to explore the area of the black forest, the Rhein falls in Swaziland and Alsace-Lorraine.
There is a supermarket near on the way to the highway and Freiburg is 10 minutes away, grate and cheap city for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family of four (two adults, two children ages 6 and 4) chose to stay at Hotel-Restaurant Zum Ochsen while visiting the Black Forest region, and we had a lovely visit! We had a large family room (one large bed, one bunk bed) that was very comfortable, and the bathroom was literally the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Truly spotless. The next morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast, far superior to any European included breakfast I've had before. Loads of different sausages, meats, and cheeses, homemade spreads, plenty of breads and cereals, multiple juices, coffee, and teas, and even scrambled eggs. The kids enjoyed playing on the small playground adjacent to the dining patio while my husband and I lingered over our coffee and enjoyed the atmosphere. And the price was more than reasonable. When we return to the Black Forest, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room not facing the street in advance. We sent an email a few weeks before our visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We was staying the 2nd time in the hotel "Zum Ochsen". There are small, but excellent rooms, very nice and clean. They have also bigger double rooms, you should tell while the reservation what room you like.
There is only one minus point: take care that you didn't get a room with the window to the street - it's very loud!
The restaurant is excellent too, they have an own butchers, great typical very fresh German food.
The breakfast buffet we enjoyed so much!
If you want to book a hotel very close to the Black forest - book "Zum Ochsen"!
We will come back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while traveling around the area. Stayed only 1 night, room 103 which was facing the back of the property. Nice size room, clean, with balcony. The room had plenty of space to set luggage up and leave it open. It is not connected to the Restaurant, but it is just a quick walk across the parking lot. This place looks a little old and outdated, but everything was so clean, it didn't matter.
Comfortable bed, my only problem was that the duvet was a bit too thick and the pillow a bit too thin. I would get toasty warm to the extent of sweaty with the duvet, throw it off and get too cold. Did that all night. Good size bathroom also, with counter next to the sink to set toiletries. Nice shower with strong stream of water. Soft fluffy towels with a heater to hang them on.

The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. The dining area was the typical German wood look. Everything, again, was very clean and fresh looking. There was a wide variety of food to pick from and everything we tasted was delicious.

When it came time to pay, I was charged for the breakfast, when it was suppose to be gratis. I only noticed after we left and we were in the car. A lesson that I should check out the bill before I leave. With that said, we would stay at the Zum Ochsen again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Because this is an old lady hotel with some pleasant spots! First do not let the location and look fool you. Yes it is on a busy street, but ask for a room in the back. Traffic does die down. And do go and eat in the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast. Fresh flowers were in bloom and you would think that it was a floral shop. All kinds of great food to dose down with a Ganter beer.
Just around the corner from the vineyards, and the rooms are clean and bright. I loved it and would not hesitate to stay. good value for money. It is not a well ness hotel, no pool, no dancing. Just a great place to rest before you continue your travels. Enjoy...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen

Address: Basler Strasse 50, 79227 Schallstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schallstadt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schallstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel-Restaurant zum Ochsen ! We are a familiy-run Business since 1919 and our philosophy is: Do it as good as you want to have it ! We are well-situated near Freiburg, Black Forrest, Alscace and Switzerland, our house is a nice place to stay for business and vacation. All our rooms have WIFI, new bathrooms, Samsung-flatscreen TV´s with international programmes, in the Restaurant you will find an englisch and french menu with regional and traditional food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant zum Ochsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.