We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a lovely side street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Numero 9

Restaurant Numero 9
9rue du Temple | 84160, Lourmarin, France
0490790046
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Lourmarin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
london
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food in a lovely side street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked for dinner here and sat outside around a circular table. There are a range of menu's at different prices to choose from. It took a while to get served and order our food, despite this the staff were attentive and friendly.
I had a courgette veloute which was wonderful and refreshing (served cold), followed by seabass which was beautifully cooked and accompanied by a delicious sauce made with sweet ripe tomatoes. The desserts were wonderful and beautifully presented and not too big or heavy.
The food was beautifully cooked and well presented and I would recommend Numero ( but book and be prepared to be patient as it will be worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    58
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great address to try out in Lourmarin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Numero 9 was recommended to us by friends but we had also consulted Trip Advisor and we were very happy with our dining experience there. We enjoyed the non pretencious but yet still creative dishes on offer. Staff efficient and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place, but food not "fait maison"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A lovely setting in a side street, with tables and chairs outside. We had a three-course set lunch for 19 euros. At the price, it was good value, and the service was charming.

My only quibble would be that the food seemed to have been pre-cooked or prepared and just assembled in the restaurant. We had starters of salad and pate, which were fine, but nothing special. The bread was not stale, but not fresh French bread either - more like a decent-quality catering roll.

The mains were a choice of salmon and chicken with Provencal vegetables, and while they were delicious, the vegetables had clearly been cooked earlier. Salmon and chicken aren't exactly local options, either.

It all felt a bit like good-quality wedding food - prepared en masse and in advance. This may not be the case for dinner, just for the set lunch. But though 19 euros was good value, I don't think I'd want to go for an expensive dinner here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

excellent food for this price. biggest asset of the restaurant is their chef.

forget about the non-existant service. no soap in toilet (a bit worried about hygiene of staff); exceptionally slow/unattentive service. after we finished the main course at 8:00 and had our plates removed, dessert didnt arrive until 9:30. asking/waiting for the bill was like waiting for another course. part of french culture but this one was excessive. your pace is determined by the mood of the waiter/waitress of the day. hope the substandard service wont taint the restaurant, as they hv done a fantastic job with the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great cuisine in Lourmarin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great evening in July in Lourmarin. We reserved at this resto this time as we were confronted with a full house the evening before. Dinner is offered on the terrace in front of the restaurant hided from the sun but with some nice air flowing through the streets. We enjoyed the 30 Euro dinner menu with 4 courses en it was a superb experience on all fronts, taste, visual, atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Numero 9 also viewed

Lourmarin, Luberon
Lourmarin, Luberon
 
Lourmarin, Luberon
Lourmarin, Luberon
 

Been to Restaurant Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Numero 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.