We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin to your Saves list
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Cucuron, 84160 Lourmarin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourmarin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

wonderful hotel, great location near Lourmarin, one of the most beautiful villages in Provence. You can walk form the hotel in to the village which has great restaurants and shops.There is secure parking at the hotel. The heated pool is perfect, tasteful room, helpful staff, would go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    34
    19
    2
See reviews for
9
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hôtel Will remain in Our couple as the lovelyest place we ever went.
The village is So romantic, and the hôtel is one of Our best moments in Our life.

M'y wife preferred to diner outside, but i think That the restaurant's restaurant is the best choice, and the room is perfect.
We didn't trier the pool :-(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

An Inn with beautiful pool and gardens but the room is very small, the smallest bed I ever slept!
but in the end was enough for one night.
Staff ok, but nothing special.
As it was not cheap I was really expecting more.
The breakfast, paid part, was reasonable.
Because of pebbles at the entrance is hard to drag your bags and there is no one to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been travelling to France for over 20 years, and have travelled from Picardie to Corsica in that time. Our favourite hotel is the Bastide de Lourmarin. It is very special. It fits perfectly into its classic surroundings. There are the things you expect such as lavender, there are pine trees, there are cigales, yet the hotel is at the same time modern in a french way. Its decor of warm colours, paintings and sculptures, the soft jazz music, and touches such as the window from the first floor that provides a framed view onto the village, a natural painting, distinguish this hotel. It is clear that its creation was and remains a labour of love for its owner and those who work there. As the name indicates it is located in Lourmarin, a beautiful picturesque perfect provencal village whose main street of little cafes, art galleries and restaurants hum with activity during the summer months. People watching with a coffee or glass of rose, or strolling and looking in the shop and gallery windows are the favoured pastimes. We first found the Bastide about seven years ago by chance. It had just opened. Since then we have returned every year, always in the summer and sometimes twice a year, visiting even in January once. There are many things that are special here, but one of its unique features is that each room is individually themed. Many have an oriental slant such as the Buddha or Zen, and the larger rooms have spectacular decor such as la Ronde. Even for those looking for something more traditional, there are rooms like la Romantique. The staff have always been warm and kind to us, and we enjoy meeting Sophie in particular each year. Breakfasts are ample and generous, and enjoyed on a veranda with vines overhead looking out onto the pool. That pool is perfect for a swim to cool down in on the baking sunny afternoons, and there is little more pleasant than reading a book by it, and of course listening to the chorus of cigales in the background. Drinks are available at leisure on a vouched system, and lunch can even be had from the hotel's restaurant sitting by the pool. The owner takes great pride in his hotel and from year to year we have seen the high standards maintained. Philippe is always there to make sure everything is working correctly. Overall, the Bastide is a very special hotel. It does not provide box-like clinical and functionally identical rooms, instead it is a hotel of immense character, charm and individuality .We have stayed in several of the different rooms, and we have our favourites, but those will remain a secret. Part of the fun is finding one or more that you like and are special to you. Visit often to do so. Thanks to all at La Bastide for the great kindness they have shown to us over the years. We will see you soon on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin with my family during some days of July 13 / August 13. I guess this can be one of the most charming places we have stayed in our lives. You can go walking to Lourmarin Centre and their restaurant is really,really good.
Staff is incredible: Sofia and Linda were really patient and helpful with us, always giving the best support, from the reservation until the end.
The room, in my case a family room, was perfect and amazingly well decorated. Pool is cool (my daugther loved it) but I think it´s only possible to be used during summer since the water was pretty cold even with the summer heat.

I think the hotel is much more indicated for couples, but did the job really well for my family. Hope to be back there one day.

Room Tip: There are some rooms close to the pool area. It´s a lovely garden but then you lose a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first time in Lourmarin although we have been to the Luberon on many occasions. Warning: it is ever so slighly twee and precious. Although a very pretty village indeed it doesn't seem to have much life outside tourism. Cucuron, just up the road, is to my mind much more interesting and well worth a visit.

The Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin is not twee, although it is very characterful. We had a room ("Coco") which was decorated in tropical style with lots of bamboo furniture and accessories. The overall effect might have been tacky but in fact it worked in a nicely quirky way. Other rooms are also similarly themed. Our room (one of the cheaper ones) was adequate, if a little small, but it had a nice balcony and decent wet room. The A/C was ferocious, very welcome in a Provencal heatwave. Staff on reception were unfailingly helpful and obliging.

The hotel has a smallish pool, good for lounging if not for lengths. The bar and restaurant look out on to the pool area, and tables are set outside for dinner. The menu is short, offering local fare, but the cooking and ingredients are of a very high standard. The tuna would not have shamed a top London restaurant. The wine list consists of about a dozen choices, all local. The price of the food and drink is extremely reasonable by Luberon standards.

The hotel is situated a short walk from the village centre, in a spacious plot with plenty of secure parking and shaded areas for sitting out. I think it is fair to say that the breakfasts (12€ per head) are a little disappointing. My tip would be to walk into Lourmarin for a coffee, picking up a patisserie in the excellent artisan bakery en route.

All in all - highly recommended. Individualistic rather than chi-chi, and all the better for that.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This family run hotel was already known to us with good facilities, restaurants and shopping close by. The Friday market which sells just about everything is definately worth a visit. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant has great potential, but unfortunately the food was only average and we would suggest it needs a chef with more imagination. The hotel decor is tasteful and the pool and gardens are most attractive. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again in the future. Good secure parking.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room which was air conditioned and quiet with a terrace near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin

Address: Route de Cucuron, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lourmarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.