We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace and beauty run by a warm and friendly family in the heart of Provence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Saint Saourde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Clos Saint Saourde to your Saves list
Le Clos Saint Saourde
1769 route de Saint Veran, 84190 Beaumes-de-Venise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An oasis of peace and beauty run by a warm and friendly family in the heart of Provence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

This husband and wife team together with their beautiful children turned this stylishly converted farm house into a dream location. Add in their warmth and kindness and it felt more like staying with friends for the weekend and if they recommend a restaurant, go there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in the tree house for four nights in June, and thought the property was fantastic. The property has been beautifully renovated, and while we only actually saw the tree house, the other rooms also looked to be luxuriously appointed from the photos included in the owners' album which shows the renovation of the property.
The pool area is nicely done and great for the long, long afternoons of sun - breakfast is taken at a table by the pool and had a great atmosphere; there could maybe have been a little more choice at breakfast, but that was only a minor gripe.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner bookings and other activities - we enjoyed all the meals we went out for, and the wine tour with Celine Viany, who the hosts put us in touch with
The treehouse itself is superb - it is down a path from the main property and overlooks vines in both directions, and is totally private - the hot tub on the deck is fantastic! The accommodation was very spacious and well appointed - we would definitely recommend spending the extra money for the uniqueness of the experience

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon in early September and, despite missing out on the sat-nav at Marseille airport, when we finally got there, fell in love with the place on sight!! It is beautiful, set against the most exquisite backdrop of mountains and fields. We entirely recommend it.

Le Clos Saint Saurde isn't a hotel and for me, that is exactly what makes it so charming - you can cook your own dinner or make lunch with food from the market and generally potter around as though it's your own place [if only!]. We stayed in both the Treehouse and in the Zellige room during our visit. The treehouse is a bit of a work of art with a fab secluded setting, its own candle fireplace and hot tub. Something really special. Zellige is part of the main house and utterly cosy with a great bathroom.

There are loads of fantastic restaurants around - Jerome is very helpful in recommending these [as well as giving us maps and directions!] and we loved Le grand prix in particular. Plus, big recommendation to pop over to Chateaux Neuf du Pape - its about 40 mins, and the wine tasting is such good fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Clos is so far away from antiseptic, impersonal and corporate that it’s come out the other side. It’s not a hotel; it’s a guest house (a big family's home, actually) and you will be mixing in with the owners, their children and a cavalcade of assorted relatives and animals.

The place is mainly run by Jerome and he’s in position every morning to organise the 10 –seater communal breakfast from a kitchen area next to the swimming pool patio. Everyone will lace into a tray of bread and a dish of fruit, with cheese, yoghurt, cereal and tea/coffee also available. Small cylinders of fresh orange juice are served too.

Apparently, some guests find this enforced matiness uncomfortable; fortunately all our fellow residents seemed highly sociable and friendly. Jerome’s a top man, and great guy for recommendations. He sorted us out at least two excellent restaurants that we would never have found on our own, and he likes feedback from his guests about where they’ve been and how they’ve got on.

This area also houses the weekly evening meal for guests, organised by Jerome and his very pleasant and cordial wife, Geraldine (a corker), where we had a really good time together with another couple, all enjoying our al fresco meal and some excellent wine.

This versatile area is additionally the home of the giant communal fridge, and guests get a shelf for their own food and drink thus establishing the bar alternative.

The property itself is lovely – a big old farmhouse with a large courtyard surrounded by lots of natural beautiful countryside and a well established vineyard. The location is very isolated, and once you are within the zone of the Clos itself, the views and the outlook are marvellous, both day and night. The nearest village, Beaumes de Venise is about three miles away. You will need to look hard to find the signs to the Clos, and then don’t mistake it for it’s more immediate neighbour which is under renovation nearer the road. The Clos is behind, down an adjacent 50 yard track.

Although there is a lot to do nearby viz Orange, Mont Ventoux, Vaison la Romaines, etc, the Clos’s swimming pool is also a big draw on a hot day. It’s often used simultaneously by various members of the family who seem happy to co-exist with whichever guests are around at the time. The pool is a good size and well maintained, with a wide patio and several sunbeds with nice thick mattresses and enormous umbrellas. A very comfy way to spend an afternoon.

Finally, to our room. Imagine a hermit’s cottage after he’d won the lottery and got the designers in. Sort of “rustic chic plus”. A lot of brown, a lot of stone and a lot of beams, boards, concrete and cement. We had a separate small lounge and a larger bedroom, with quite a snazzy gallery above for bath, basin and shower facilities The shower was quite impressively set in a cocoon of pebbles – very attractive. Jerome also sourced us a large flatscreen TV and an internet cable for our laptop. Reception on both was perfect

Unfortunately what we didn’t have was air conditioning (which we knew) and it was as hot as hell when we arrived, and about the same when we left. Two fans later and it wasn’t much better but it could have been worse. Regrettably any natural rock in the room seemed to retain the heat rather than cool anything down as suggested. The small outside patio (down some very steep steps) was a refuge in the evening, and it’s not often you can share the night with singing frogs (pond next to the swimming pool) and chirruping bats (small opening not dissimilar to a cave under the room).

Before we left, Jerome was happy to print out our flight boarding passes, and our main memory of the Clos will always be of the happy Thuillier family and their beautiful home, which, at night particularly, seemed to be in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The perfect place to unwind! Set amongst rolling hills covered in ancient vines, Le Clos Saint Saourde is the ideal romantic getaway. Beautiful, cool, airy bedrooms, with stunning views of the house, garden, pool and beyond. Jerome and his family do everything possible to make your stay run as smoothly as possible - nothing is too much trouble.

Over a delicious al fresco breakfast each morning, Jerome gives amazing tips on places to visit and restaurants and wine to sample - organising any reservations for you where necessary.

We would definitely recommend Le Clos to couples of any age who are looking for some well deserved time out. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Le Clos is a very cost-effective alternative to the nearby Relais & Chateaux properties in Salon (Abbaye de Saint Croix) and Crillon-le-Brave. The advantages of those latter two properties are better views, air conditioning (and larger – but colder -- pools), size of the grounds in the case of the Abbaye, and quiet. (Noise is only an issue at Le Clos during frog mating season, mid-May to mid-June.)

Aside from those items, Le Clos is a far better choice for the experienced traveler. First, the breakfast is better (and included in the price, which in France is a major money-saver). Second, the rooms are more charming and distinctive. Ours, for example, occupied three levels. (This was not the entry-level room, but nor was it the most expensive. It was an in-between choice.)

I actually thought – once again, leaving aside the air conditioning issue – that the bed was more comfortable here than at the Abbaye de Sainte Croix, though it’s a queen instead of a king. (By the way, the host found us a ventilateur to mitigate the warmth of the room, which brought sleep quality up to four stars for us Americans accustomed to air conditioning.)

Third, you get more of a sense of immersion in the culture, as the innkeeper, Jerome, will give you personal ideas about choices for your daily excursions. And he is a restaurant connoisseur extraordinaire, suggesting two excellent venues we never would have found on our own, including one (Le Mesclun) that isn’t reviewed anywhere in English and yet we had our best-ever meal there…for under $100. Jerome was born to run a B&B. He is totally into it and quite good at it.

The property itself is everything that it looks to be on the website, a charming farmhouse whose pool area (where breakfast is served, including a small glass of orange juice that is freshly squeezed – also a rarity in France) has a lot of character. The property is also well off the main roads, which is great but make sure to follow the signs closely, as they are easy to miss.

We will certainly be visiting again and staying longer, though we might try to avoid the hot season and also frog mating season. If they got the rooms air-conditioned, that would actually address both issues. The reason you hear the frogs at night is that you need to open the windows to cool the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I probably had too high expectations after reading the reviews and seeing the website. Somehow I had envisioned this more as a small hotel and it is very much of a B&B. The good things: the owner/Dad is very nice and helpful, the rooms interesting, the countryside and things to do great, and a nice pool set up (if you don't want to eat out easy to make your meal there which is lovely). The not so great - very strict times (small window for breakfast and feels very not OK to bother them after breakfast and 5), quite remote (don't arrive in the dark - hard to find - behind a house under construction), no common space inside, and room was clean but things like spider webs on the bathroom lites. no tv or internet acccess. Price was good though - I guess this was a little more "B&B" like than we had expected from the website.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclos84, propriétaire at Le Clos Saint Saourde, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
Le Clos Saint Saourde is not a small hôtel but a bed & breakfast.

Our guets can have TV in their rooms but on demand, because a lot of them don't want to have TV, very happy to be in a natural quiet space . For internet access, it's an ADSL cable on demand to.

We are at home almost all day, our guests must feel free to come in the common place (living/dinning room) and ask questions.

Breakfast is between 9 and 10 am, but it's almost never finished before 11:00-11:30 am and sometimes 12:00. We, the owner, take a lot of our time to speak about restaurants in the surroundings and nice place to go during the day, and it's a great pleasure.

We have a Cleaning lady that comes in the room everyday, and everyday she fights against spiders in the rooms, but we live in the countryside so their is always one spider left to make a web after the comming of the cleaning lady.

We have a lot of pleasure with receiving all our guests and thank them for coming at Le Clos Saint Saourde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Saint Saourde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Saint Saourde

Address: 1769 route de Saint Veran, 84190 Beaumes-de-Venise, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Beaumes-de-Venise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumes-de-Venise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, the “Clos Saint Saourde” lies down the Mont Ventoux and faces the Dentelles de Montmirail. It is surrounded by the vineyards of the famous “Muscat de Beaumes de Venise “ wine. A very special place in the middle of unspoiled nature… A guesthouse offering charming suites, guest rooms and a holiday cottage and located close to cities such as Avignon, Carpentras, Orange, Isle sur la Sorgue and Vaison la Romaine.A mas from the 18th century built into the rocks, its spring (“saourde” in provençal), its big plane tree, its square courtyard, its dry-stone walls, its surrounding vineyards and an exceptional view of the Dentelles de Montmirail that one can admire from the heated salt water swimming pool will seduce amateurs of authenticity in quest of well-being and serenity.Géraldine and Jérôme will be pleased to warmly welcome you throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos Saint Saourde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Saint Saourde Hotel Beaumes-De-Venise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Saint Saourde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.