We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Timers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Roseraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Roseraie to your Saves list
La Roseraie
78 rue Armand Caillard, 86170 Neuville de Poitou, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discount for 3 nights or
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Timers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ours was a short notice overnight stay following a breakdown (with car) in Boulogne which foiled our original plans and delayed our journey south to the Dordogne. Tried booking 2 rooms (for 4 people) the same day and thrilled to find space as we had stayed for a week in 2012 and had got to know Heather & Michael and la Roseraie. Superb rooms, wonderful friendly welcome and simple but beautifully presented dinner (again provided at short notice) on the terrace on a beautifully warm evening. It was truly idyllic with classical music floating from an open window in the house. We did not have time to enjoy the swimming pool or relax in the substantial grounds as we hastened off after breakfast, which had been another treat - fresh and plentiful. Just wished we could have stayed longer but we hope to return. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Everybody was uplifted, seeing two beautiful, shiny, vintage cars parked in our courtyard, but better still, we were very happy to welcome you back and to meet your travelling companions. Thank you for your kind comments - we are already looking forward to your next visit! With warm wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lets start with the good bits.
The grounds are lovely. The village is very cute and has a great local market. Poitiers is very close and a lovely day trip. Heather was lovely and very welcoming.

Now, the not so good bits.
The welcome was less than friendly with us being sent our in the rain in the tiny village when we arrived 1 1/2 hours early for check in. We weren't even allowed to wait in the tv room.

The dinner had a lovely setting and some of the dishes were nice, but a bit over priced for what it was. We also were made to feel guilty for not being at the table at 7pm on the dot (on our holiday).
The croissants at the breakfast buffet were out of the freezer (in France, can you believe it).
I was there with two couples, so unfortunately, I got the kids room. The bed was uncomfortable and i've had better linen in backpacker hostels. There was also no window and no ventilation so it was quite stuffy. I know it's marketed as a kids room, but it wasn't very pleasant.

Overall, the place was nice and has so much potential if they just focus on those special touches to make you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
This reviewer is from the same group who wrote "A wet welcome". If one was to be pedantic, one could point out that they were much more than one and a half hours' early (having already agreed the day before that they would arrive at the usual time) and that dinner is served at 8pm, not 7pm. But this would be at the risk of boring the gentle reader. Suffice to say that whilst the gentleman in question did have the children's room (as explained at the time of booking), the beds are of a good quality and the linen too, as we take pride in the quality of sleep and decoration. If there had been an issue, there was ample opportunity to let us know, as we saw them daily and enquired whether there was anything that they needed, or were short of. We were told that everything was perfect. Being human, we are unable to act on any issues once our guests have left us. Regarding "special touches", these included placing fresh 'welcome' flowers in their rooms, preparing a vegan meal in addition to the menu for our meat-and-fish eating guests, offering to take group photos for them, so that the photographer in the party was not left out, checking regularly that they had all that they needed to make their stay with us enjoyable (answer invariably "yes"). In the final analysis, we are glad that he enjoyed his stay, but sorry that we did not succeed in every aspect, as we would have hoped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom, surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was a very rainy day and due to this we [5 of us] were unable to site see around the area. It had past lunchtime [13.30] and all of us had been travelling all day so we decided to see if we could chill at the La Roseraie whilst our rooms were being prepared. We stood outside in the rain and being 30 weeks pregnant, Michael the owner /one of the hosts talked to us through the big gates and said NO sorry “The rooms are not ready until 16:00 come back in 1 hour”. He didn’t even show us where to park or even consider us coming onto the premises. Bad introduction and poor customer service skills right from the beginning. It all left us in shock with a sour taste in our mouths. We understand it’s not a hotel as such, but surely we could have been showed to the Bistro/lounge room where we could wait in the warmth?

On a good note, I had the pleasure of booking everything seamlessly with Heather online and via the telephone but bad luck of being greeted by Michael her partner had put has back a few paces. Heather is very efficient and quick at responding to our needs. She is very personable and reliable. A very nice lady. The general feel is they both are trying their best to create a good holiday atmosphere but have lots to learn about customer service and little touches that make you smile.

We opted for set dinner the first night at 28 Euros and two of my friends who are Vegans were quietly satisfied which was prepared by Heather. As 4 of us didn’t drink alcohol we were served water instead. To be honest we thought the cost of the meal was overpriced and was disappointed that we got water as a substitute to alcohol. We didn’t realise the we had to be at the dinning lounge spot on 8pm and we were ushered on two occasions by Michael to be there on time, as we would be eating with other guests. His response ‘ its not a hotel’ you should have been there at 8pm. We were aware that we would be eating with other guests but we were not clear on the fact that all would be served at the same time.

All in all the Gite [Self catering apartment] was in very good condition. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The Gardens and the Pool were immaculate and we enjoyed making our food and sitting outside on the patio in the sun.

We would recommend this place for its quiet and quaint location. Without a doubt La Roseraie is set on beautiful grounds. Its great for couples and people wishing to sit back and relax and enjoy the beauties of West France.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Like the curate's egg, this review is good in parts. Whilst, of course, happy to receive the positives, the negatives are disappointing for us, as we work ceaselessly to make our guests happy. We actually enjoyed having this small group of young friends staying, but feel we must address the negative comments and set the record straight. What is not mentioned is that their booking form very clearly stated "due to maintenance and cleaning requirements, we request our incoming guests not to arrive before 4pm". We called the day before their arrival to verify exactly what the vegan members of the party did or didn't eat, so we could be sure to prepare their special meal for them . It was mentioned then, that they were thinking of arriving early. I explained this would not be possible, particularly as we had a full house, but as they were going to be in Poitiers, before coming to us, we went to the trouble of finding some restaurant options that would suit their dietary requirements, so they could have a leisurely lunch and we passed these on. Therefore, we were unprepared and surprised when they arrived hours early in spite of agreeing not to, when the housekeeping was not complete and maintenance was under way. Nevertheless, Michael suggested they come in an hour, still well before 4pm. n Regarding the evening meal, they had booked dinner, which in a "chambres d'hotes" is a communal affair, with other guests dining. The meals are freshly prepared on the day and dinner is served at 8pm, which our new guests were aware of. After the rest of the guests were left waiting (and the first course was going cold) we reminded them that they were late for dinner. When they still did not appear, my husband went to them again and explained that the other guests had been at the table for some time. If anyone should have been offended, it would be the guests who were kept waiting, but everyone was convivial. Regarding value for money - we are hard pressed to believe that there are many other establishments where one can sit down in a particularly beautiful dining room, to an especially prepared 4-course meal (including wine for those who drink) for 28 euros per adult. It was plain that they enjoyed their holiday and they were complimentary about their gite and the facilities. Sadly, the early arrival 'incident' seems to have coloured their view. We are sorry for this, as we value our reputation for hospitality, which most of our reviewers tell us is excellent, borne out by our high rate of repeat guests. We hope that one misadventure will not prevent this group from returning - they will be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked the Garden Room over the net weeks ago and spent two nights in early October. We used the Roseraie as a base for visiting Poitiers 20 minutes away. The room has been renovated in the last few weeks with a bright, warm, roomy walk-in shower bathroom, heated towel rack, and a lovely and very comfortable kingsize bed...brand new mattress. Room is very quiet (stone walls), has good lighting and the curtains keep outside light out for sleeping. Private entry off the secure parking area, a table and chairs by the door, and adjacent inside door access to the common room with TV, tea and travel info. Good wifi coverage throughout. There is outdoor space for families and a "bistro" with an honors bar in the gite building behind the main house, but we didn't spend time there due to the rain during our visit.
Heather and Michael are wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the breakfasts, loved the room and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Garden Room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we really appreciate it. You were the first guests to stay in the newly-remodelled Garden Room and of course we are delighted to know that it received the 'thumbs up'. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Roseraie and ww thank you for being such charming and interesting guests. Michael joins with me in sending warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautifully restored and decorated maison de maitre in a quiet and picturesque French village with swimming pool --lovely place, lovely people ,lovely food - some of the best we have had ! highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review - we know that in this day and age, time is precious and thus your writing is much appreciated. We are fortunate to have such delightful guests as yourselves, who contribute to the warm and happy atmosphere. The milk at the tea station is a tricky one for us. 'Health & Safety' dictates that the milk should be sealed and we therefore reluctantly supply the little milk containers. We failed regarding the fan - we supply these on request and we should have pointed this out to you and are sorry that we forgot to do so on this occasion. We take special pride in the food that we provide, as most of our ingredients come from our own vegetable garden, so vegetables, salads and fruit are all pesticide-free and all meals are freshly prepared by us. Thank you, once again, for noticing and sharing and we hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future. Michael and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here in July for two nights- on our way south ( Roussillon) and on our return journey. It was just the ideal distance from Cherbourg or Caen. We arrived in Cherbourg at lunchtime and it took us 5 hours to get to Neuville ( it's about 3 and a half from Caen)- just right to take advantage of the lovely pool and gardens before changing for dinner.We would highly recommend eating at the Roseraie, especially on your first night. Heather's food is fantastic and it was very convivial eating outside in the garden under the pergola with other guests. Everyone has a story to tell about places they have visited or are going to visit so it is very easy to make conversation. On each occasion, there was an even mix of French and English guests and it added even more interest to the exchanges. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, although quite small. It was very hot when we were there, and our only slightly negative comment is that we would have appreciated a fan in our room to sleep more comfortably. The bathrooms have clearly been modernized very recently and had state of the art showers and washing facilities. There are no facilities for making tea in the rooms but there is a small sitting room for guests to use. There is permanent hot water and a welcome addition would have been a small fridge containing fresh milk rather than the little pots of the not particularly pleasant long- life variety. Breakfast was good- lots of choice, good bread and croissants and home-made jam. We stayed on a Saturday on our return journey and left on Sunday to head to the ferry port. Sunday is a terrible day for finding restaurants in France- especially in August and in Normandy. Next year, we will make use of the market which takes place on Sunday mornings in Neuville and buy picnic food before we set off- there seemed to be a really good choice as we passed by and we regretted not stocking up when we struggled to find anywhere open ( all closed for the holiday!). An excellent place to unwind when undertaking a long journey- very conveniently situated- convivial, lovely location and the food is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful home. Michael & Heather are both warm & gracious hosts.
Michael gave us helpful directions in finding this little gem, tucked away in the French countryside.

Opt in for the four course home cooked dinner. It's great value & wonderfully prepared.

This is the perfect place to stay to explore the chateaus of the Loire Vallley.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roseraie

Address: 78 rue Armand Caillard, 86170 Neuville de Poitou, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Neuville de Poitou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neuville de Poitou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous Town & Country Bed & Breakfast property with two self-catering cottages in extensive gardens & parkland with heated pool & walking distance to village shops & restaurants. 10 Minutes from A10 and Futuroscope and 15 minutes from Poitiers. Central for Poitiers, Loire Valley, La Rochelle and Ile de Re ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roseraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.