We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Evreux

Hotel d'Evreux
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel d'Evreux
Save
You added Hotel d'Evreux to your Saves list
11 place d'Evreux | Vernon, 27200 Vernon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We did not stay in the hotel, but had dinner in the restaurant based on the suggestion of our B&B. The restaurant is cozy and charming with excellent service. The food was outstanding and the escargot were the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We did not stay here but had a wonderful meal with very good wine here. The atmosphere is nice but not stuffy. Service was attentive. If you are in the area, I would highly recommend dinner here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked to give easy access to Giverny the following morning and as we entered it was obvious that the place needed renovation. The upper corridor is long and dim and doors very ill-fitting due to movement over time. At €66 per night for a room the owners are probably in a no win situation in such a historic building.
However, the welcome was pleasant, we had some help with our cases and the room was clean, if spartan. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet, and I had my best night's sleep of the whole week we were in France.
The car park is at the far side of the hotel coming from the river and isn't charged.
And so to the restaurant. "Le Relais Normand." This is very well kept and belies the comments above about the hotel interior and bedrooms. It isn't separately listed in TripAdvisor so all who care to report here. It's excellent. We mixed and matched a bit but had mains from the €34 menu and were charged accordingly. It's the mains that stand out: a perfect seignant fillet of beef and equally well cooked cod. The starters and puds were also well presented and very good to eat. The young serving staff were very willing but a bit too keen (whipping the plate away while you're still using your bread on the last remnant of sauce!)
A separate room is used for the €8 breakfast, which was served rather than presented as a buffet. Adequate and acceptable.
You get what you pay for in both the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is old, authentic and shabby, but has a certain French provincial charm. It is cheap and the owner is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic. If you have a car it is a perfect location for visiting Monet's Garden. Vernon has an interesting market on Saturdays well worth a visit.
Even if you do not stay at this hotel, try to eat in the restaurant, bookings essential as it is very popular and oh so good. Food is exquisite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Oh dear, this place is throw-back to the terrible days of French tourism. When hotel owners just shrugged and when it was obviously your own fault if you didnt like it - nobody forced you to come. The hotel is in desperate need of renovation, in all areas. While our room was large and the bed comfortable, the corridors were dimly lit, and the door to the room was not much more than a closet door. The bathroom had no real shower option - and it was, just like the WC, carpeted! Plenty of towels to cover the floor, though.
Breakfast was spartan, just like 20 years ago. The front desk is only manned during peak hours, it seems. You'll be given a digicode for the front door, but if you lose that, you're hooped, as calls to the hotel go unanswered. Luckily for us, other guests came home after 9pm (what's there to do in Vernon anyway), and they didn't lose the post-it note and could let us in. Obviously, being close to Giverny discourages the owners from bringing this hotel out of the 70s.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the black dog Nikita. Rooms small and badly in need of attention.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I didn't actually stay at the hotel so my experience is based purely on the restaurant - I had read many good reviews of the food so after leaving our accommodation in Giverny we visited the Saturday morning market in Vernon and had lunch at this hotel before heading back to Calais. I had already made an on-line booking which I was very grateful for as it seemed very busy and we might have been disappointed. We opted for the 22 euros set menu of three courses and the food was superb and beautifully presented. I felt I had to write this review of the restaurant as it was the best meal we had during our stay in France. Please book in advance - very easy to do - to make sure you don't miss out.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Evreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Evreux

Address: 11 place d'Evreux | Vernon, 27200 Vernon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
d Evreux Hotel Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Evreux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.