We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Villaine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de la Villaine
La Villaine, 37320 Esvres, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Esvres B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We came here five years ago on our honeymoon and loved it so much that we returned five years later for our anniversary. The Chateau is lovely and the grounds are beautiful but the best thing is the kindness and welcome of Adrian and Joke. They gladly share their knowledge of the area to enhance the time spent there and made us feel like welcome friends rather than just guests. We had a wonderful dinner cooked by Joke with well chosen wines and great conversation. This is a very special place, which we think of with fondness and affection.

Claire and Doug Cooper

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
139
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, Ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hosts of the chateau are the most wonderful and welcoming. I was traveling alone and I was so happy to find this place and spend two nights exploring the Loire Valley. I received excellent recommendations about renting a bicycle and then further useful information about which chateaux to ride to. The room and bathroom was spacious and comfortable and I slept quite well. The floors do tend to creak a bit, but that contributed to the homey feeling and most travelers use their ear plugs as needed. Dinner was available the night I checked in and it was most memorable. A beautiful terrine, delicious duck with vegetables along with wine and dessert. I really felt like family. The only difficulty I had was finding the chateau because the address was not in my GPS system. Luckily I had printed a map with an extreme close up and that helped my get across the small and most picturesque river, proceed up the hill and find the little driveway. This location was very convenient to Villandry (the best gardens!), Azay le Rideau, Langais, and d'Usse. It is about 30 minutes from Chenonceau.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four lovely days at this wonderful chateau in mid June. The chateau is charming, set in beautiful grounds. Our room the Comtesse, was large, with a large bathroom, and our own patio that looked over the grounds. I can't say enough about Adrian and Joke, they are fantastic, and made our trip! Adrian did everything from programing our GPS so we could find our way "home," to giving us exellent advice such as: There's a market tomorrow in Loches I think you would like, and then you can see Montressor, before you go to Chenenceau, etc. It was great to get this advice, we would never have known about the market, or necessarily have picked Montressor which we loved. Adrian did this everyday suggesting places, or routes to take, even providing us with an umbrella!
We stayed for dinner every night that they served it. Joke is a fabulous cook, I don't know how she does it all. Every night she serves a four course dinner, that is completely delicious! Dinner begins with an aperitif in the living room, and proceeds to the dinning room. Everyone sits at one large table, and there was lively conversation, with stories from Adrian and Joke about buying and renovating the chateau, where everyone went that day, etc. Dinner would last till about 11:00 each evening. Then, in the morning, Joke serves breakfast, including preserves that she makes. They are both warm, lovely people that totally care for their guests. We just loved our stay there, and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed four nights in May and consider it the highlight of our trip to France. Arrived on a Sat. Night so we were treated to a wonderful dinner prepared by Joke with Adriannn serving an excellent selection of wines.It was great fun sharing the dinner with our hosts as well as other guests. This enjoyment was then repeated every morning while enjoying a lovely breakfast. It was a great way to start each day in the Loire. The Chateau is a wonderful property & is obviously a labour of love for Adriaan & Joke.They have done a marvellous job creating an excellent B & B. Our room was delightful, very roomy with a quality en-suite & a balcony. The lounge & dinning rooms look very stately but still have a very warm feeling to them. We will be recommending it to any of our Aust. friends who are going to the Loire. Should you choose to stay try to get to a dinner & also talk to Adriaan about which Chateau to visit & also get his advice on local restaurants. One in Cormery that he told us about was excellent.
Gary & Jan

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a delight to be able to visit Chateau de la Villaine. We spent a couple of days here, around the middle of May.
Joke and Adriaan, being perfect hosts!. . All guests who booked for diner came together in the "living room" and after a pré diner drink we where invited to the dining room. One big table!!!! Evening diner was prepared and explained by Joke, Adriaan explained the wines he served. (All from the regio!!!)
Adriaan advised what we could do and see, for the next day. Although the weather was awful at the time, it didn't stop us enjoying the surroundings, brocante's, wine cellars and Chateaux.
Big thank you to the hosts of this fairy tale castle. We are planning another visit next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Chateau and the surrounding was beautiful. Adrian and Joke were absolutely hospitable. The empire room was very spacious which is beautifully furnished and decorated with access to the patio with the amazing views. The hosts joined us for a meal which Joke cooked was very delicious. Adrian is very knowledgable on the Loire area, wines and his recommendations on what to do has been great. Highlight of our trip and definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Empire room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have spent two days here and the Chateau is spectacular! The location in the Loire Valley is very good.... Although it was a little difficult to find. The room with the rooftop patio is essential. The hosts have been very nice and made our first night dinner res for us.... A quaint little French Restraunt about 10 min away.
The only prob so far was the coffee.... But we have been spoiled by the Paris coffees

Room Tip: Room with the rooftop patio was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Villaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Villaine

Address: La Villaine, 37320 Esvres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esvres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Chateau de la Villaine (4 rooms) is located in the Loire Valley within half an hour drive from Chenonceau, Amboise, Tours, Villandry, Azay le Rideau, Langeais and Loches. Within one hour you can reach Chambord, Cheverny, Blois, Chaumont, Ussay, Saumur, Fontevrau and Chinon. You won't find a more central location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Villaine Hotel Esvres
Chateau De La Villaine Loire Valley, France - Esvres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Villaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau de la Villaine to your Saves list