We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote to your Saves list
Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote
Route du Chateau, 29410 Saint-Thegonnec, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Superbe stay away from any noise. A bit out in the sticks, so make sure you have a nav to find this nice chateau. No need to bring any language skills with you because landlords speak french, german, dutch and english, of course,
We enjoyed garden, pool and tennis as we had great weather. In case the weather is not that good, the chateau has nice interior rooms for reading and billiard. Rooms are nicely furbished and have new beddings. Splendid breakfast. Very friendly hosts, always available for a nice chat. Highly recommended for a couple of days or overnight from Roscoff down-south or on the way to Finistère.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but of course the one with the balcony and the suite upstairs are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we loved having you with us and do hope you will be able to return soon. Bruno is already missing his special young friend and it was great to polish my very poor Dutch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After 5 hectic days in Paris touring wall-to-wall museums, churches and bistros, my wife and I were looking forward to 2 idyllic days in Brittany. Well, we totally enjoyed our stay, and if there’s only one thing to wish for, it is that we had stayed longer. After all, the chateau is nicely located for exploring the countryside.

For sightseeing, there were numerous abbeys, museums, castles and forts to choose from; they are listed on the Brittany tourism site. We chose to visit St. Pol de Leon, famed for its cathedral in which several historical personages were buried. I also found the nave to be quite lovely. We likewise visited the parish close of Saint Thegonnec, which has an impressive entrance arch and an underground ossuary. Do take a look at the Wikipedia articles of each site for visitor information. And if you choose to visit the church at Saint Thegonnec, don’t miss out on the sweets shop across the road, where we loaded up on salted caramel and galettes.

For meals, we had two very memorable dinners – the first night we drove to Les Creperies Fourges in Pleyber-Christ, one of Brittany’s nationally certified “creperies gourmande”. I had the salmon, blue cheese and onion crepe paired with the local cider, and I would heartily recommend it. On the second night, we opted for the Table D’hote and it was a real treat! We accompanied our host to a nearby market, where we snacked on fresh oysters and white wine, and we picked out the ingredients for dinner. We ended up with a lovely seafood bisque, a zesty ratatouille, potatoes with mint, and a hearty beef stroganoff. Needless to say the wine glasses were bottomless. For our next stay, I dream of getting a reservation at one of those Michelin-starred restaurants nearby. And definitely a visit to another one of those “creperies gourmande”.

For activities, my wife and I opted for a 90-minute stroll around the forest park surrounding the property. It was a good way to burn off our buffet breakfast. The path was not difficult to follow, and there’s a nice creek that runs through the property, so trout fishing is a possibility for those so inclined. I satisfied myself with identifying the various moss species in the forest, there were literally dozens! Next time, my dream is to go swimming with seals in the nearby Bay of Morlaix.

Yes admittedly, the property is off the beaten path and some may opt to stay nearer the village centers, but if you prefer to be "swimming in luxury”, the chateau’s Juliet suite is a must - it even has its own private balcony overlooking the chapel. The bedroom has a stylish antique touch, yet the bathroom is thoroughly modern and very clean. In closing, while we lacked the time to sample the chateau’s swimming pool and tennis court and billiard table, the real pleasure was to enjoy the company of the proprietors, Mike and Zina. They really made us feel “at home” and we definitely look forward to booking another stay with this lovely couple at their wonderful chateau.

Room Tip: If the Juliet suite is available, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for your visit to us here in Brittany. We loved having you and do hope you will be able to return soon. We have now taken a special interest in the various species of moss in the woods and yesterday we saw our first wild boar! Best wishes Mike and Zina (and not forgetting Bruno of course.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wonderful stay at this lovely period chateau with all the modern conveniences. Secluded with acres of walking and riding paths. Nice pool area. Within minutes of quaint towns and village and spectacular coastline. Hosts are welcoming and warm. Nothing has been left to chance. A truly wonderful stay. have already booked a return trip in June/July.

Room Tip: Spurge and take the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was great to have you visit us and what wonderful weather we all enjoyed. We really look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a lovely stay here for 5 nights. The hosts of warm and welcoming along with their dog Bruno. Breakfast was plentiful and the room decor kept to its traditional style. The garden and pool area is lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote

Address: Route du Chateau, 29410 Saint-Thegonnec, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Saint-Thegonnec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Thegonnec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Quelennec is a beautiful stone castle dating from the xvii century formerly an aristocratic family seat. Set in 100 acres of ancient woodland and park the property enjoys a heated swimming pool, tennis court and accommodation includes 4 suites with newly fitted bathrooms and antique furniture. Guests enjoy free wifi and on site parking the property is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Quelennec Maison D'hote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.