We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to drop anchor...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir du Suguensou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Audierne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir du Suguensou
Save
You added Manoir du Suguensou to your Saves list
Route D765, 29770 Audierne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Audierne B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to drop anchor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Of all the B&B's (5 total) during our 9 days in Brittany, I looked forward to this one the most because of the unique character and feeling of the website that Olivier put together. Believe all of the wonderful reviews that you read here,...there is a warm and tranquil air that pervades this wonderful place. We pulled into the car park and exited having just the right amount of time step out, stretch, look up and around and then Olivier appeared from around the corner to greet us. He is a true ambassador for both his family's Manor and region in general. The region is also spectacular with it's beautiful cliffs interspersed with wide wide beaches at low tide, and the jewel toned colours of the ocean as it crashes against the shoreline are mesmerizing. There is a gravitational pull that will bring me back to this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What great to find this gem on our tour of Brittany this year. The Manoir is a handsome building restored immaculately over 15 years by Olivier's own hand The rooms are spacious and lovely- full,of light and ours had a great view across the wooded river valley. The gardens are a relaxing place to read and paint. There is an atmosphere of peace and tranquility even though you share the building with Oliviers's family who all shake you by the hand on arrival and at breakfast if they bump into you. Real old fashioned charm and great good humour.
If you are lucky, Olivier will share breakfast with you in his creation of Monet' s kitchen at Giverny and regale you with helpful hints for your stay,tales of his family ( can he really be the descendant of Asterix?) and his colourful life. Your French will improve and you will be well entertained.
The Manoir was undoubtedly the highlight of our 2 week tour. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose the room with 3 windows overlooking the front and side of the building for a spacious and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a mini-tour of France we found ourselves back in Audierne after over 20 years. We consider ourselves very lucky to have found this wonderful and truly original B&B. The beautiful Manoir, restored with style, skill, dedication, imagination and love was a delight. Our room spacious and light, with three windows and a breathtaking view was also spotlessly clean and cosily comfortable. Just wandering through the house proved to be a magical journey with wonderful pictures, decorations and object d'art at every turn. We could not have been made to feel more welcome and our host Olivier proved himself to be charming and informative company over breakfast, whilst providing a delicious start to the day and an atmosphere condusive to friendly interaction with our fellow guests. Particularly a special thoughtful kindness providing us with breakfast in our room on our departure day to facilitate our early start. It was a pleasure to meet him, we feel honoured to have been lucky enough to stay in his wonderful childhood paradise and hope to be able to return one day. We would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaucene, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A truly great experience - the property was lovely and a bit dishevelled, the host most interesting and convivial. There was just the right balance of being there as your host and being absent to allow you privacy. The room was very large and eclectic, the property quiet. Breakfast was enjoyed with great conversation with other guests, with the host being able to participate in several languages. We love the B&B experience and confidently gives this one the thumbs up!

Room Tip: The propery is large and quiet, I imagine that all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this beautiful b&b for 4 nights in March. The owner, Olivier, was a delight - so kind and sweet. In fact, on the night of our arrival, we got lost {thanks to our GPS} and had to call Olivier around midnight for directions. His calm spirit helped to soothe our nerves and his directions got us to his b&b safe and sound. We were so grateful that he stayed up for our arrival and welcomed us despite the late hour. The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast and Olivier sat and talked with us - it was such an interesting conversation and we really enjoyed talking with him each morning and evening. He has done an amazing job with the house - completely restoring it and turning it into a beautiful b&b. Our room was impeccably clean and well-appointed with gorgeous French antiques. Very comfy bed and very nice bathroom. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay and if I ever return to Brittany, I'll definitely be staying at Manoir du Suguensou. :)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emory, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Friendly host Olivier, the grandson an admiral, carefully preserves this wonderful old family home (which he thinks of as a ship) near the lovely coast of Brittany. He makes a fine breakfast and if invited, will sit down with guests to get to know them. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the house. There are several dining options for other meals in the nearby harbor town of Audierne. This was one of my favorite stops on our recent trip to France.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir du Suguensou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Suguensou

Address: Route D765, 29770 Audierne, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Audierne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Audierne
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir du Suguensou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.