We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! (but let's keep it our little secret!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprus Villages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cyprus Villages to your Saves list
Cyprus Villages
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Mersinies Street, Tochni 7740, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tochni
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect! (but let's keep it our little secret!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My mother (73) and I (33) stayed at Cyprus Villages in Tochni (Tok-knee in case you get lost and need to ask for directions!) for a week in July. Absolutely wonderful. It's remote, quiet and unfathomably beautiful - the perfect place to relax if resorts aren't your thing (they're not ours). We hired a car (essential really given the location) from Paphos and explored the coast, Troodos mountains, Aphrodite's Rock, nearby Zigi and Kiti and even Ayia Napa easily from the village.

The accommodation is based in a number of beautifully restored traditional Cypriot houses overlooking the village. One gets a sense of real Cyprus here, away from the resorts. Mother and I shared a twin studio with a mezzanine bedroom. Very spacious, impeccably clean and kitted out with a cooker,hob,kettle,toaster and fridge. There WAS a TV which we switched on once in error trying to put on the air-conditioning! There's also WIFI but the connection is poor.

We shared our charming courtyard pool area with 3 neighboring rooms. It was never loud, busy or crowded.Half way through the week a couple of families arrived with older children (teenagers) who were beautifully well behaved all the time! Each room/villa has its own outside seating area with a table and chairs and two sunloungers; perfect for an early morning cup of tea watching the sun come up, or a relaxing lounge by the pool.

We were half board and ate breakfast and supper at the restaurant. Breakfast was basic suited us perfectly. Cereals, toast, fruit,yoghurt, cold meats & cheeses plus an egg boiled, scrambled or fried.

Supper was always delicious, our favourites included the vegetable moussaka, seabream and grilled prawns.Portions are plentiful! Yannis and Marie, who run the restaurant, are simply charming and give great tips on places to visit.

We loved our stay here and smiled smugly to ourselves everyday that we'd discovered this gem. The staff were wonderful and the Cypriots we met all hugely friendly and welcoming. If you've just booked to stay here, prepare to feel similarly smug!

*For horse lovers the Drapia Riding Centre in neighbouring Kalavasos is a must. Beautiful hacking with fit, healthy,beautifully looked after animals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
46
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My mother (73) and I (33) stayed at Cyprus Villages in Tochni (Tok-knee in case you get lost and need to ask for directions!) for a week in July. Absolutely wonderful. It's remote, quiet and unfathomably beautiful - the perfect place to relax if resorts aren't your thing (they're not ours). We hired a car (essential really given the location) from Paphos and explored the coast, Troodos mountains, Aphrodite's Rock, nearby Zigi and Kiti and even Ayia Napa easily from the village.

The accommodation is based in a number of beautifully restored traditional Cypriot houses overlooking the village. One gets a sense of real Cyprus here, away from the resorts. Mother and I shared a twin studio with a mezzanine bedroom. Very spacious, impeccably clean and kitted out with a cooker,hob,kettle,toaster and fridge. There WAS a TV which we switched on once in error trying to put on the air-conditioning! There's also WIFI but the connection is poor.

We shared our charming courtyard pool area with 3 neighboring rooms. It was never loud, busy or crowded.Half way through the week a couple of families arrived with older children (teenagers) who were beautifully well behaved all the time! Each room/villa has its own outside seating area with a table and chairs and two sunloungers; perfect for an early morning cup of tea watching the sun come up, or a relaxing lounge by the pool.

We were half board and ate breakfast and supper at the restaurant. Breakfast was basic suited us perfectly. Cereals, toast, fruit,yoghurt, cold meats & cheeses plus an egg boiled, scrambled or fried.

Supper was always delicious, our favourites included the vegetable moussaka, seabream and grilled prawns.Portions are plentiful! Yannis and Marie, who run the restaurant, are simply charming and give great tips on places to visit.

We loved our stay here and smiled smugly to ourselves everyday that we'd discovered this gem. The staff were wonderful and the Cypriots we met all hugely friendly and welcoming. If you've just booked to stay here, prepare to feel similarly smug!

*For horse lovers the Drapia Riding Centre in neighbouring Kalavasos is a must. Beautiful hacking with fit, healthy,beautifully looked after animals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlutava, Zlinsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We came here for business and research stay, students from our school go here for internship. The best feeling is from the friendly approach. Rooms are really traditional and cover nearly every part of village. Perfect service, delicious food and whats amazing is the support of regional products. Restaurant has a calming effect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been staying with Cyprus Villlages for many years and have just returned from another enjoyable holiday. We normally stay in the lovely village of Kalavasos. Holidays are a matter of taste but if you'd rather experience the real Cyprus and rub shoulders daily with real Cypriots rather than staying in a hotel which, no matter how luxurious, could be just about anywhere, we would strongly recommend Cyprus Villages. Their staff are always friendly and helpful. Don't expect the gloss of a hotel suite. Their properties are mostly genuine Cypriot houses in Cypriot villages and functional rather than luxurious. But that just adds to the charm of the whole thing. Bruce and Beryl Cain. England

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEAMINGTON SPA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned again from 2 weeks in Kalavassos.Not much changes even after the countries recent financial problems local prices don't seem to have changed much.The pace of life is as active as you like,we like it slow and peaceful. The people are very friendly and we count the owner Sofronis and his staff good friends.
Both this village and Tochni are typical rural Cyprus, with the locals outnumbering the tourists in the bar /coffee shops.
The position is very central so it is easy to reach all parts of the island quite quickly, the roads are nearly always quiet in Cyprus outside of the cities.
Accomodation is all in converted old family homes so if you like the the idea of fitting into a village rather than being one of thousands in a resort take a look at this option.We love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at The Achilleos Hotel in Larnaca in April 2013. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is in a great location even if the views out the window are not great. They had the best breakfasts in a lovely bright room on the top floor which did have a nice view down to the beach. We would highly recommend a stay - but get good directions, we did have to go round the block a few times but this probably had something to do with the one way system in central Larnaca.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went with my wife and 87 year old mother first week of May. The weather had just turned hot (30C) but the traditonal stone walls meant I felt no need to turn on the air conditioning. Our delicate English constitutions meant that many dips in the pool were called for. We were in the Adamos house, near the pool and Tavern restaurant.
Sophroni and his staff are very helpful about the details of what to see all over Cyprus.
The food was locally sourced, and Sophroni knew many of the producers.
A couple of warnings - the mini meze in the restaurant is not mini at all!
The village is on a steep hill so there are a lot of steps. My mother was somewhat limited in her movement around the village.

Room Tip: Adamos is nearest the Tavern and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyprus Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprus Villages

Address: Mersinies Street, Tochni 7740, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Tochni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tochni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cyprus Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing can quite compare with a holiday in the wholesome, serene environment of a village tucked in the hills of Cyprus. CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you the unique opportunity to live in a traditional stone-built village home... Stroll along the narrow cobbled paths to the village square.... Have a coffee in the local coffee shop... And settle into an easy-going Mediterranean lifestyle that respects and nurtures timeless traditions. Before you know, you will be a member of the local community, and will enjoy the generous Cypriot hospitality that can be summed up in a single word, "kopiaste"... Come and join us!CYPRUS VILLAGES was established in 1987 by Sofronis Potamitis, in an effort to revive rural communities and preserve the traditional houses of bygone days. With loving care, several abandoned family houses in the villages of Tochni, Kalavasos and Psematismenos were thoroughly renovated to provide comfort without sacrificing their original, rustic character and are all licensed by the Cyprus Tourism Organization. The villages are situated halfway between Larnaca and Lemesos towns and only 7km to the beach.CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you a choice of 1 and 2-bedroom fully furnished apartments with well equipped kitchens living room, bedroom with en-suite shower/wc and private balcony or patio. All our apartments have access to shared pool in the village within walking distance reserved exclusively for our guests and we have also selective villa complexes with pools shared by maximum 4-5 units. Notice the thick walls, small windows, stone or wooden staircases so typical of our island's architecture of yesteryear. On your veranda, in your patio or garden you can relax with a drink or a book any time of the day. Explore the remote corners of our island and discover its hidden beauty through activities that bring you face to face with the heart and soul of Cyprus. Whether on horseback or on a bike, whether you prefer a leisurely walk, a brisk hike or a morning jog, the choice is yours, including a series of activities and many more that are designed to lead you to the core of rural life in Cyprus. • Riding at our Drapia horse farm • Cycling on professional bikes and guided tours possible• Hiking and jogging on specially marked nature trails• Fishing with a local fisherman • Yoga & wellness spa Therapeutic massage/sports massage/relaxation massage• Watching how to make halloumi cheese and olive oil • Picking oranges and olives (December to February)• Visit the local archeological sites 'Tenta" and "Choirokoitia Neolithic site"Our guests have the opportunity to visit goat farms and watch the villagers prepare theisland's traditional 'halloumi' cheese, which is made from goat's milk. The traditional Cypriot breakfast is known to include fresh halloumi, olives, tomatoes, cucumber and homemade bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cyprus Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprus Villages Tochni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprus Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.