We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprus Villages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cyprus Villages to your Saves list
Cyprus Villages
Mersinies Street, Tochni 7740, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tochni
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The village is lovely, and the people too. We had originally booked five nights, but left a night early in our eagerness to explore Northern Cyprus - they we very understanding about the change to our booking, and we truly regretted leaving. We stayed in a few other places, and nothing compared to the atmosphere of the village, the great view at breakfast and the comfortable beds. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
52
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you care to be completely integrated in the original atmosphere and culture of the country you are visiting in your vacation, then you'll be delighted with Cyprus Village in Tochni, Cyprus.
Tochni is situated in the middle of the southern part of the island, from where the most important atractions are easily reached by car. The Cyprus Village team and owner (Mr.Sofronis) are extremely helpful and always open to give a piece of advice. The breakfast buffet is delicious!
We absolutely loved the experience and strongly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We learned about this place via the Internet and were pleasantly surprised by the beauty, cleanliness, and comfort of the location. Smack in the center of Cyprus, ideal for day trips to Paphos, Nikosia, Larnaka, Limassol, the Troodos mountains, and, of course, the "Turkish Republic of Northen Cyprus".
We lived in the Villa Myrto, a charming former farmhouse, nicely restored, slightly away from the center of town. Breakfast (what a spread!) was served at the main house, to which we returned almost every day after our excursions for a scrumptious supper, Cypriote style. The director of the Tochni Villages, Sophroni, a former Stanford student, was most helpful and delightful to talk to. Lots of Germans, Dutch, and other Europeans were there, mostly for biking and hiking, astonishingly hardly any Americans who would explore this rich island for its historic treasures. We loved the place and think that jaded US travellers who have seen everything else would love to go to this enchanting place and have the vacation of their lives.

Room Tip: We lived in the Villa Myrto, slightly outside of the village. The rooms assigned to us did not appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Despite one of the most tragic pages of recent Cyprus history, the Tochni village has resurrected itself with a novel idea from Mr.Sofronis who has renovated a number of forcefully abandoned houses to give the village a welcome appearance of inns accommodating visitors from all over the world.
The concept oddly named “Cyprus Villages” comprises a number of nicely renovated houses, all self sufficient with some of them clustered around swimming pools and scattered around the village with a focal point the Tochni Taverna where the meals are served. We stayed in two of these houses, the Mespilo House and Dana 5 during our three separate visits within two months. Both houses are clean and functional with pleasant front yards and decorated in the classic island style. They were both a little dark with minimal light reaching the interior which is probably imperative for the ultra hot days of summer months. In both cases twisting little village streets lead you from the house to the Tochni Taverna. Since the village geography allows no flat spot it takes some climbing from one to an other.
The Tochni Taverna serves an adequate breakfast and dinner a la carte supplemented with an adequately equipped wine list from local Cyprus wines and other wines. The general atmosphere is jovial fueled by the efforts of the staff.
The staff is cooperative and willing to please and accommodate the requirements of the guests. As is the case all over Cyprus, the hospitality industry is saturated with personnel who are not Cypriots. This colours the impression of the visitor and consequently limits any discussion or inquiries about Cyprus.
We have enjoyed our stay at Cyprus Villages and would recommend others to do so. Good luck Sofronis!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I booked a long weekend at Cyprus villages for my son and his girlfriend. Angela, the office manager was extremely helpful. She immediately replied to all my emails and all my questions and trust me I had tons of it!
She organized the taxi pick-up from the airport , taxi for the sightseeing and all the meals.
Thanks Angela! When my son and his girlfriend arrived everyone was friendly and caring.
The accommodation was fantastic!
The breakfast was plentiful and great variety with freshly sqeezed orange juice every day.
The dinner was also great with different options.
One night at the restaurant the locals invited them over to their table and spent the evening singing and dancing. What a memorable experience!
With the help of the taxi driver -who was also very nice- they were able to see the sights nearby and in Larnaca and Lemesos. All in all it's a lovely place to stay .
You won't be surprised to read that they are already planning to back to Tochni .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I went on a yoga retreat in Tochni, Cyprus couple of weeks ago, called Inner Harmony Cyprus. I love yoga, and doing it one-to-one with the teacher (rather than as part of a group retreat) was a great experience. And it was sunny!! Sylvia Braun is a great yoga teacher - very supportive and listening to your needs. Definitely a great one if you like yoga or wanted to try it! And it's great to solo travellers. Couples/friends are welcome too though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We absolutely loved Cyprus Villages! If you are hiring a car and want the real Cyprus experience then I totally recommend it. We arrived late and were taken care of as soon as we walked through the doors, the villas were full of character and walking around the village chatting to the friendly locals was amazing. Could not speak more highly of Paul he was so friendly, helpful and full of knowledge. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tochni
12.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 59 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
12.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vasilikos House
Vasilikos House
#1 of 3 in Tochni
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
14.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#3 of 59 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#10 of 59 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyprus Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprus Villages

Address: Mersinies Street, Tochni 7740, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Tochni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tochni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing can quite compare with a holiday in the wholesome, serene environment of a village tucked in the hills of Cyprus. CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you the unique opportunity to live in a traditional stone-built village home... Stroll along the narrow cobbled paths to the village square.... Have a coffee in the local coffee shop... And settle into an easy-going Mediterranean lifestyle that respects and nurtures timeless traditions. Before you know, you will be a member of the local community, and will enjoy the generous Cypriot hospitality that can be summed up in a single word, "kopiaste"... Come and join us!CYPRUS VILLAGES was established in 1987 by Sofronis Potamitis, in an effort to revive rural communities and preserve the traditional houses of bygone days. With loving care, several abandoned family houses in the villages of Tochni, Kalavasos and Psematismenos were thoroughly renovated to provide comfort without sacrificing their original, rustic character and are all licensed by the Cyprus Tourism Organization. The villages are situated halfway between Larnaca and Lemesos towns and only 7km to the beach.CYPRUS VILLAGES offers you a choice of 1 and 2-bedroom fully furnished apartments with well equipped kitchens living room, bedroom with en-suite shower/wc and private balcony or patio. All our apartments have access to shared pool in the village within walking distance reserved exclusively for our guests and we have also selective villa complexes with pools shared by maximum 4-5 units. Notice the thick walls, small windows, stone or wooden staircases so typical of our island's architecture of yesteryear. On your veranda, in your patio or garden you can relax with a drink or a book any time of the day. Explore the remote corners of our island and discover its hidden beauty through activities that bring you face to face with the heart and soul of Cyprus. Whether on horseback or on a bike, whether you prefer a leisurely walk, a brisk hike or a morning jog, the choice is yours, including a series of activities and many more that are designed to lead you to the core of rural life in Cyprus. • Riding at our Drapia horse farm • Cycling on professional bikes and guided tours possible• Hiking and jogging on specially marked nature trails• Fishing with a local fisherman • Yoga & wellness spa Therapeutic massage/sports massage/relaxation massage• Watching how to make halloumi cheese and olive oil • Picking oranges and olives (December to February)• Visit the local archeological sites 'Tenta" and "Choirokoitia Neolithic site"Our guests have the opportunity to visit goat farms and watch the villagers prepare theisland's traditional 'halloumi' cheese, which is made from goat's milk. The traditional Cypriot breakfast is known to include fresh halloumi, olives, tomatoes, cucumber and homemade bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cyprus Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprus Villages Tochni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprus Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.