We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priviledged moments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Paul Delvaux

Museum Paul Delvaux
Av. Paul Delaux 42, Koksijde 8670, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Koksijde
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Priviledged moments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Other reviewers have described the museum perfectly so I will not repeat their excellent reviews.

But I want to emphasize the quality and quantity of the collection, seeing how Delvaux progressed and changed over the years is fascinating. Prior to coming to the museum I felt his work was perhaps a bit too cold for my taste. During my visit I learned about the person and how is work was influenced by his training in architecture - now I understand him and his work and I bought a giclee of a painting that gives me daily pleasure at home. There are few people I wish I had known, the first one is Marcus Aurelius and now I wish I had met Paul Delvaux: Two human beings with a deep sense of humanity and authenticity.

Two other delightful experiences in the museum have not been reviewed yet.

First, there is a one hour film about Delvaux including interviews. Unfortunately it is only in French (at least when I was last there in 2011). This was a truly moving experience.

Second, the restaurant of the museum is delightful. They offer excellent food and if the weather is good you may eat outdoor leisurely in a pleasant garden near a sculpture of Grard, a small pond, and a fountain.

Now, back in the area I will visit with Delvaux again. Note: this is a large museum so plan for many hours, especially if you have lunch. The first time we went we thought it was a small museum and planned for a 2 hour visit - this is too short.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels, belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent museum & guided tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Visiting with a large group, both the guides were excellent in showing us the collection, explaining us the different periods the painter went through, and the surrealistic environment he created.
Unlike most museums, this museum is not receiving public funding. Paul Delvaux himself bought the old fishermans' house, which was later expanded under the ground to keep the environment as it used to be.

Lovely posters and books available for those who like to take home a gift.
Highly recommended !

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Large and excellent selection of Delvaux paintings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The problem with some museums dedicated to famous painters is that they contain the story of his life , some sketches of his famous pieces and a few paintings - but the vast majority of their work is spread accross the big museums in the world.

Not so the Paul Delvaux museum. He seems to have painted to a very old age and this museum has at least 30 excellent paintings by Delvaux- and you are completely immersed in his world. You get a very good selection of his early work - to the end of his life when he was loosing his eyesight and painted from memory.

The museum tells you more about his life, and there is sense of humour when you sit on old railway carriage chairs and look at his paintings. All the model railways spread accross the museum are good fun, and the space is pleasantly designed.

The website directions may not be the best - but you can downlaod a map on www.koksijde.be and the attraction is signposted in the village (small signs - so look out)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A "must see" museum and collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Delvaux Museum and its collection are worth the trip to the Flanders coast alone. Easy to find in Koksijde (St Idesbald), the collection is an eye-opener and has some of Paul Delvaux's finest work, which was all new to me. I'm so glad I saw it. The building is much bigger than it appears, being extended underground across the road and under the carpark. There is a re-creation of his studio and lots of memorabilia that gives an insight into his artistic development. This is a very pleasant place to spend a couple of hours or so and then have lunch in the restaurant and garden. Then take a short stroll through the town to Koksijde's other outstanding attraction, The Dunes Abbey Museum. Easy to do both in a day with several excellent beers along the way.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Vaut le voyage to Saint Idesbald”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Among the Belgian surrealists, Paul Delvaux is by far the most accomplished painter. He did not consider himself a surrealist painter, poetry and phantasy is what makes his paintings so attractive to the modern spectator. His technique is certainly one of the finest in modern art.
The trip to the Paul Delvaux Museum is well worth the effort. It is a private museum, actually a foundation, well kept and managed . Besides the paintings it also conveys the biography of Paul Delvaux and you can get a glimpse of his studio and artifacts he kept as models. Originally a fisher's house amidst a lovely garden, with a terrace next doors where you can have a drink and a bite to eat. The setup is exquisite as are the paintings and sketches.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Paul Delvaux also viewed

Koksijde, West Flanders Province
De Panne, West Flanders Province
 
De Panne, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Museum Paul Delvaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Paul Delvaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum Paul Delvaux to your Saves list