We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean with the best views over Knysna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brenton Hill Self Catering

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brenton Hill Self Catering to your Saves list
Brenton Hill Self Catering
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, clean with the best views over Knysna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were part of a group of 8 and we had the place to ourselves. The accommodation was very comfortable and roomy, with various alfresco areas that we could use, including an honesty bar!
Best by far was the breathtaking view over the lagoon to Knysna.....our hosts friendly and helpful and everything within a few minutes drive with spectacular views at every bend....going to Knysna stay at the Brenton Hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Such kind words - thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The view is still here so we look forward to seeing you all again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in mid jan and really enjoyed our stay. Absolutely amazing views of Knysna from across the lagoon and you can braai on the terrace with this as your back drop. Very friendly owners who leave you to it. Some cracks around he edges but that view will always paper over these. Great safe enclosed garden for the kids to play in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the tme to write a review for Brenton Hill self catering. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you can come back and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

There are probably comparable views in a few other very select locations in the world but not at this price, and not with this degree of space and comfort. The hosts are relaxed and ever helpful; the staff diligent and smiling. Our stay was a breathtaking treat from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Such a lovely review - thank you. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. We wish you safe travels onwards and hope to meet again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with a view which is breathtaking over Knysna Bay.
You have your own garden where you can have breakfast or sit in the evening watching the view over the bay. The garden has a fence so the kids can play without you need to watch them every minut.
The apartments are huge, we had three bedroom and a big living room
The owner is very nice and friendly.
The self catering is very nice and clean. The hotel also has a very big playground for the kids.
It a perfect for a family who wants to stay in self catering. If you want to go to a restaurant it's only 5 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: We had the Eagle's Nest where you have your own big garden where the kids can play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you all had fun here and everything was to your liking. I hope, should you ever come to Knysna again you will come back to soak up the views of the lagoon and the mountains from the comfort of Brenton Hill self catering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family and I were attending a wedding in Knysna and the guests were staying here so we popped round for a small get together the night before. Although I initially though that the place lacked a bit of atmosphere, I soon changed my mind once I got outside and admired the view! It is to die for! as we were just there for the evening I couldn't tell you how comfy the beds were or what the staff were like but I can tell you that you will not forget that view in a long time! The bedrooms/living areas were gorgeous though, quite plan and simple, but I think that works so to appeal to the masses! Even if you just stay for one night, go and see that view!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Wow - a review from someone that didn't even stay here! Thank you - we appreciate your thoughts on Brenton Hill. You are of course right - the views are to die for. i can assure you the beds are comfy too so hopefully next time you will get the opporunity to try them out!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Brenton Hill for a week in November 2012 and loved it. The views are beautiful, apartment (Eagle's Nest) VERY spacious, and the owners and their staff all very friendly and always ready to help. The kitchen is well equipped, the rooms were always clean. There is also a pool and a big area with a bar and an open fire. They also have some books and dvd's available in case of bad weather. One minor thing is that the curtains let the light through so our kids used to wake up with the sun (5.30-6am) and stay up till the dark (8pm), so they were tired, but we had lots of time for excursions. :) As for the location, it's a bit far from the shops and restaurants (10-15min drive to Knysna center), but I assume anyone visiting Knysna has got a car anyway, so it's not a big deal. The quietness and the views are well worth a drive. It's also perfect for families with kids as it's safe and there is so much place to play and run around.
PS. There are so many beautiful places to visit in the area, but if you are there take a few minutes and drive down to Brenton Beach, it's also very beautiful and very close to this accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I am glad you found your rooms to be spacious and clean - very important to us.
With regards to the curtains - I am grateful to you for your feedback and this is something we will work to change in the near future. Sleep with kids is of utmost importance - we certainly know that!
I hope we meet again one day.
Kind regard,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Brenton Hill self catering. The Oystercatcher room is huge with a magnificent view from the room and the private garden. The central guestroom was a treat where lit up the fireplace every evening and enjoyed a glass of wine.

Catriona and here husband a very relaxed and made us feel right at home from the beginning.

As other reviewers have mentioned, it is on the outskirts of Knysna and close to Brenton at sea. It is a 10 minute drive to the centre of Knysna where all the restaurants and bars are located.

Room Tip: As mentioned, the oystercatcher is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us at Brenton Hill self catering.
Should you ever come back to Knysna we would be delighted to accommodater you again.
Kind regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenton Hill Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenton Hill Self Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.