We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brenton Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brenton Beach House to your Saves list
Brenton Beach House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   116 Watsonia Ave, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Knysna marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Arrived to the most horrific weather , but forget the marathon . Derrick has made the whole experience worthwhile - the conversation over a warm fire and a glass of wine is phenomenal. A must come to venue , for an amazing venue and fantastic company.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Just sorry I could not change the weather for you. Thanks for being so understanding about the situation we had. I'm told it was the 1st time that the marathon had to be cancelled in its 27 years of the oyster festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I can't stop talking about the WONDERFUL holiday w-end we had in Brenton. From the moment we arrived, Derrick made sure we felt at home at the lovely Beach House. STUNNING VIEW, SCRUMPTIOUS BREAD & YES, THE BEST FRENCH OMELETTE and FILTER COFFEE!!! The cycle through the Knysna forest was breath-taking and so well organised. We'll definitely make this a half-way stop on our journeys to Cape Town and will stay longer than a w-end. Thank you SO MUCH!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Trust me, all the raw materials for the bread and omelettes are South African made (Smile)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morningside, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was an incredible stay in Brenton Beach House. Derrick being a warm and friendly host which was a cherry on top to the comfort and spectacular beach house. Not to mention our mornings being delighted with a scrumptious French omellete served with warm homemade bread for breakfast. I had also enjoy the dilecant attention to everything at the Brenton Beach House. I highly recommend it!!!!! Thank you Derrick and Jean Michel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daughter and I spent a night at Brenton on Sea Beach House. What a special place! Our lovely room had wonderful sea views. Derrick, the owner made us the best French omlettes for breakfast. We felt very welcomed. We can highly recommend this as an overnight stay.

Room Tip: The sea view room is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I am flattered. As already said, when guests are so kind, how can I not respond back in kindness. Lets see if the boys enjoy my omelets next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A very lovely place in Knysna. Derrick is a great host and very helpful.
Nice view, we had a very good time. We definitely gonna come back!!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite (Gary Player)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Its a pleasure having such delightful people stay with us. Our honeymoon suit overlooking the ocean is a real treat for sure. Should you wish you see this suite and more on the beach house, just look for The Brenton Beach house on You Tube.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Highly recommended if you are looking for a sophisticated yet easy-going stay with spacious, quiet, light rooms with great facilities. Your host Derrick will help you find just about any activity you need while you enjoy his delicious continental breakfast or one of his excellent omelettes!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Quiet garden-facing rooms or choose the honeymoon suite for a panoramic view of the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Its not difficult to please beautiful people. Its a real pleasure to be able to assist and advise what there is to do round Knysna. Next time, we may even have a round of golf together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

What a wonderful place...Derrick is a great host. We would IGHLY recommend it to all who go to the Knysna area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
It is not a job that I am doing. Meeting such lovely people adds to a perfect life style. Brenton on sea does offer so much. Relaxing on the beach just 5 min away, visit our town on the lagoon. Play a round or two of golf on some of the worlds finest courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brenton Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Address: 116 Watsonia Ave, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenton Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.