We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep getting better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apoyo Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apoyo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Apoyo Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laguna Apoyo Reserve, Catarina, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just keep getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

Just came back from five spectacular days at Norome, this was my fourth visit and it just keeps getting better. The Laguna de Apoyo is just wonderful and relaxing on its shore was just what the doctor orded. On each susequent vist to Norome the food and accomodations keep improving and available watersport and recreational activities multiply. It was a real treat to get back there again.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

I recently spent four glorious days at Norome Resort and Villas. This is the place to go to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The lake is crystal clear and the early mornings kayaking is fabulous. My favorite experience was listening to the monkeys in the hillside in the early morning. I have stayed at other places in Nicaragua and by far Norome was my favorite.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

I had the pleasure of saying at Norome Resort and Villas. I have never experienced anything quite like it. It is absolutely gorgeous. The villas are large and extremely comfortable. The pristine natural surroundings are breathtaking. The food and drinks are superb. The staff is extremely warm and attentive. I strongly recommend Norome to all those looking for an unforgettable experience.
Sincerely,
Nina Cortina

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Norome Resort and Villas for a couple of days. We were very pleased with the atmosphere of the resort. The food at this place is amazing! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The villa we stayed at had a wonderful view! It was comfortable and clean. One of the highlights of Norome is the incredible swimming in the lake, (the water is perfect). Another unforgettable aspect is also the howler monkeys! We highly recommend this place to someone who would want to experience real Nicaraguan food and amazing nature, and a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere!
Andrea & Chris, Boston, MA

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

We just got back from our THIRD visit to Norome. What a wonderful place. The villas are huge and comfortable, the staff is friendly and the lake itself is so pretty. I keep telling people it's the best fresh-water swimming experience in the world. The water is clear, blue like the Mediterranean and 80 degrees all year round. (I grew up swimming in cold Canadian lakes and Lake Apoyo is a big improvement. This last visit we took my 73 year old mum and we couldn't get her out of the water.)

There are organized activities at the hotel - sort of like a Club Med - and nice extras like a relaxing massage in a secluded little thatched hut. And speaking of thatched - the open-air restaurant and bar have thatched roofs and pretty stone work - the place LOOKS very pretty.

It's not the sort of hotel to go to if your idea of heaven is yet another interchangeable Hyatt or Hilton - it is much more laid back and you feel like you're really somewhere very different. (And you are - you're on the edge of an extinct volcano covered with jungle and you can actually see - and hear - howler monkeys in the huge trees that the resort luckily was careful to preserve whilst building.) I guess the best comparison would be Costa Rica twenty or thirty years ago before it was overbuilt and overrun with tourists and retirees. In Nicaragua you still feel a bit special as a tourist and don't feel that the locals are sick of you. On the contrary, people seemed genuinely pleased to help. More than once I asked for directions when I was in one of the towns and people went WAY out of their way to show us where we wanted to go and no-one wanted money or anything - just wanted to be helpful.

Villas Norome opened up the world of Nicaragua for us. I'm already thinking about our next visit.

Also, in the nearby colonial city of Granada there are lots of wonderful and reasonable restaurants - although the food at Norome was great, too, especially the fish and the fresh fruit platter breakfast - and in Masada there's some good shopping.

Mostly, though, it was the people of Nicaragua that we met that really made our trip. Friendly, open and patient with my really, really bad Spanish. (Hey - in Canada we learn French...)

Anyway, this is the first time I've written one of these things but I REALLY think this place is something special. I've attached a few snaps but am JUST joining the digital age and they're not great pictures and don't do the place justice. Oh - and you can climb a nearby volcano or go check out the ocean about an hour or so away -

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

My boyfriend and I recently went to Nicaragua on vacation. We spent time in Norome (Laguna de Apoyo) and in San Juan del Sur. Norome Resorts was exactly the type of hotel accomodations, atmosphere and service that we wanted when we decided to visit Nicaragua. Not only did we get the ammenities of a first class hotel, but we also got authentic Nicaragua food, people and nature...We saw several howler monkeys while walking to our rooms! The food at Norome was amazing...and, it was authentic Nicaraguan. The "frijoles en casuela" and "salsa jalapeno" were our favorite dishes during our entire stay in the country. One of my biggest disappointments in the hotel in San Juan del Sur (which was beautiful, as well) was that the food, although delicious, was not local. I could have gotten the same dishes in any city in the US. For this, I didnt need to travel to Nicaragua. Norome, on the other hand, obviously made an effort keep the Nicaraguan flare in its high class accomodations (which they were.) The room had an idealic view of the lake and was clean and beautifully decorated. They even provide you with a wicker basket for your trips to the lake! We feel Norome did an amazing job of pampering us with all the ammenities we wanted and still giving us a true taste of Nicaragua. This was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

In February my wife and I stayed in three different places in Nicaragua: Grenada,San Juan del Sur and Norome. When we arrived at the hotel in Norome, we were treated in a very cool manner and although the place seemed empty, we were taken to a standard room towards the rear of the property when, in fact, we had paid for a studio. After remarking at the front desk that we had paid for a studio, we were then moved to the front of the property, with a beautiful view of the crater lake. We felt very uncomfortable and took it personally wondering if it was because we were Americans. To add insult to injury, upon our return home, we found out someone had gotten our credit card number and charged approximately $3,000, and all indications point to the fact that it was probably someone who worked at this hotel.

Otherwise, the Colonial Hotel in Grenada and Pelican Eyes in San Juan del Sur were awesome and we would highly recommend them. Ed &BJ

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apoyo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apoyo Resort & Spa

Address: Laguna Apoyo Reserve, Catarina, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Catarina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Catarina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apoyo Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Apoyo, tucked unobtrusively in the hillside overlooking the Laguna, are some of the most unique hotel accommodations in Nicaragua. We offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas and apartments, some with fully equipped kitchens, to accommodate whatever size of group you may have. The Villas are situated in the dry tropical forest of Nicaragua which is home to Howler monkeys and a variety of tropical birds.The Grill, a small restaurant at the upper pool, has a variety of fresh and healthy foods. Try the Nachos Grande or the Chinese Chicken Salad while enjoying a beautiful view of the laguna. New at The Villas at Apoyo is our 5-station, Low Ropes Challenge Course. The Challenge Course was built to encourage participants to grow at both the team and individual levels. Our Low Ropes course focuses on communication, problem solving, and leadership. Every member must participate in order to complete the five tasks, and in doing so, inspires confidence in each other. Our hopes are that these skills will be carried by the participants to be used in their daily lives. We also have a new Game Room near the pool area so our guests can emjoy a game of Billiards, Darts or enjoy one of our many boards games. For your convenience, food and beverage can be served from The Grill. A new addition to our services is a fully equipped convention center with seating of up to 150 persons. This is a great location for sales seminars, company meetings as well as social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apoyo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apoyo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.