We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good or bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michel

Michel
Alfons Gossetlaan 31, Groot-Bijgaarden 1702, Belgium
+32 (0)2 466 65 91
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $66 - $133
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not good or bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to this restaurant for the restaurant week promotion in Belgium and therefore had a set menu at a reasonable price of 37 euros each. Considering this is a starred restaurant this was quite an undestinguished meal, with no evidence of great flavours or imagination in cooking although nothing we had was bad, just ok. We had a homemade pate starter with rabbit sweetbreads, a duck main and a strawberry desert, but nothing really stood out. Glitzy decor but could have done with something really tasty to remember.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Traditional very good French cuisine and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Well deserves it one star Michelin for an acceptable price. Food is traditional French with excellent ingredients and many times presented in the old fashioned way (for sure take the pheasant during the season or the fresh strawberries with vanilla ice-cream). Service is excellent as well. Decor is traditional (maybe a bit too traditional). On the outskirts of Brussels and requiring a car - next to industrial center but hundred meters further is the lovely town square.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Was there for lunch.
Great food, excellent service and good value for money.
Lots of space between the tables, guarantees privacy.
Good for business lunches.
Big terrace outside for summer lunch and dinners.
Will go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Slow and overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The restaurant is located in the middle of nowhere in a very ugly industrial area. We made the effort to go there hoping that the restaurant would be excellent. The decor is not very nice or welcoming. The food was good, especially the starters but it took us - two people- three and a half hours to have a three course meal out of a very short menu (4 or 5 starters and same for the main courses). We waited for more than an hour between the first course and the main one. The place was half empty, we were at a table in a corner and felt "abandonned" at times. In order to pay, after having been waiting for half an hour we had to look for the owner or manager- flemmish lady extremely unfriendly- and ask people in the kitchen as the place was empty asn we were the last ones. In my view, this place doesn´t deserve its Michelin star. I won´t go back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“1 Michelinstar, 16/20 in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

1 Michelinstar, 16/20 in GaultMillau... chef Robert Van Landeghem knows how to cook!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michel also viewed

Groot-Bijgaarden, Flemish Brabant Province
Groot-Bijgaarden, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Groot-Bijgaarden, Flemish Brabant Province
Sint-Martens-Bodegem, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.