We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aard 1, Aalter 9880, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOW RATE GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Gatwick UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I chose this hotel as a convenient stop on my journey to Germany .My wife and I were delighted with the friendly reception which continued to be attentive throughout our short stay.
It is a modern style of hotel with a bar that appears to be very popular with the locals (a good sign ), and a short walk into the town.
Rooms were clean , well appointed and nicely decorated .

We took advantage of the 'weekend' offer (which can actually be taken anytime ) which comprised a welcome aperitif taken at the bar or with your meal, 3 course dinner with wine +another aperitif (we had a bucks fizz at breakfast ) also included .Total cost 150 euro for 2 pers.
I highly recommend this owner managed hotel .

nb Our sat-nav did not work with the postcode --use the street address instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
61
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I spent 2 nights at this hotel as a stopover when driving from Germany to England. 

The hotel is situated right off the main highway and has plenty of parking. We drove into Bruges for the day and parked at the station which was far easier than trying to find a hotel with parking in the city. 

The hotel has wifi, comfy beds, good showers and friendly staff. I would stay again as thought it was very good value for its convenient location. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nothing to complain about, a lovely one night stopover whilst touring this area of Belguim. The hotel was located 2 mins walk from the town centre with loads of free parking opposite, but was still very quiet. Rooms are a reasonable size with good bathroom - more a wetroom with no bath, clean linen and comfy bed. Friendly bar / cafe downstairs, the hotel staff were helpful and efficient and spoke good English. List to all floors and well decorated communal areas. Not the prettiest architecture, but no complaints with what was offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a gift voucher (which means I can't really judge value for money), having chosen it as our base for a 'free' weekend in Gent. All in all, this was a very nice, if really modern hotel (and not necessarily in a 'designy' way).

Free parking right across from the hotel, friendly staff, and spacious, nice-looking, clean and well-equipped rooms. The voucher also included a four-course dinner, which was served by a friendly waiter in a somewhat over-lit restaurant. The food was perfectly acceptable, if a little run-of-the-mill (and, I suspect, served-from-the-fridge), but really, what do you expect from what is basically a highway hotel? No complaints there at all.

You need to be aware, however, where you're going. The hotel is located in a small village - not a particularly picturesque or touristy destination but nice enough for an evening stroll - which is conveniently located near a highway, about midway (i.e. 20-25 minutes' drive in either direction) between Brugge and Gent. Having by car is a bit of a must for a tourist staying at this hotel, but if you do, it's really easy to reach and there's free parking. I can also imagine this is a good location for passers-through, for a business or vacation stop-over.

Either way, if you need (or want) to be in this specific area, I doubt that you could do better than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as a stop over when driving to the UK from Germany with my baby, as didn't fancy the long drive with a three month year old. It's an hour 1/2 away from Calais and close to the motorway which meant we didn't have to travel far out of our way.
The room was clean but I don't agree with 4* rating, more like a 3. The standard and finish of the room was not what I would expect of a 4* but the price was very reasonable and good location meant that this was a minor discomfort.
The breakfast was continental, coissants,  breads, cereal etc. 
As only staying for one full day, we only had time to travel to nearby Bruges once. We drove to a carpark near the station, which was very cheap 70 cents/ hr and took a bus right into the city centre of Bruges. The bus cost €1.20/ single journey which took about 15 minutes and goes right into the main square, 'Markt' 
Overall pleasant stay, would stay again. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very clean and comfortable and quiet .Check in easy, pleasant staff.Booked two rooms for one night as a stop over on way to Holland.Easy to get into Brugge. Continental breakfast fine but expensive 50 euros for 4 no child reductions.Would stop again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Good and clean hotel with nice breakfast and good service.... No wonder it's often sold out. We will be back. This is a good alternative for some overpriced hotels in Ghent if you don't mind driving 20 mins. Also the parking in front of the hotel is convenient.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee

Address: Aard 1, Aalter 9880, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Orchidee is situated in the center of Aalter, provides modern rooms, a buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the building. All of the individually air-conditioned/heated rooms at Best Western Hotel Orchidee have a satellite TV , free safe, free coffee amenities, fridge and a work desk. Each of the rooms also have a private en suite bathroom with shower, toilet and wash table with all necessary amenities. The E40 motorway (Exit 11) is about 500 m away. Best Western Hotel Orchidee has a free and safe public parking in front of the hotel. Aalter Railway Station is less than a 15-minute walk away with direct services to Ghent and Bruges every half hour, with the car a 20-minute drive is all it takes to reach both Ghent and Bruges. The surrounding area is well suited for hiking and cycling tours, bikes can be rented in the local bicycle shop. In summertime the town square is filled with outside seating where drinks and food can be enjoyed in an extraordinary ambiance until late in the night. Guests can enjoy specialty beers and a selections of more then 70 kind of liquors and whisky's in the bar. This bar is frequently visited by the local population. There are various restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aalter
Aalter Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.