We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomolen B&B

Lomolen B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lomolen B&B to your Saves list
Lomolen B&B
Lomolenstraat 112 | Lotenhulle, Aalter 9880, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Aalter B&B and Inns
Hazzard Landing, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Placed between Ghent and Bruges in a quite road very near (6-7 km to highroad). The B&B is very nice and our room was very large, a real suite. The breakfast was abundant and varied with eggs, many kinds of bread, home made cakes, ham... The owner was very kind and smiling and helped with some problems.
I suggest this B&B for your visit in Flanders.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Looking for a place to stay when visiting Bruges and Ghent this is a perfect solution. Rooms are very well equipped (tv, coffee, small fridge) and the welcome is so friendly. Anyone must feel at home right from the start. Our room was quite large with a fair sized bathroom, fairly comfortable bed. All very clean. Great view. Breakfast is very good. Only minor drawback is that the sound isolation is not so good and you might hear other guest arriving late at night. Definitely enjoyed our stay and should we need to be in the neighborhood again we're likely to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casperaalter, Manager at Lomolen B&B, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B, the positive comments for the accommodation, the breakfast and the welcome, and that you would come back to our B&B when you are in the neighborhood.
Apologizes for the fact that you were awaken when other guest arrived late at night.
Thanks for the suggestion to evaluate the noise isolation between the rooms. We will analyse what can be improved & keep you informed.

Francis & Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My Belgian colleague booked this for me and I have to say, as a business traveller, I was a little concerned about staying in a B&B. However, I need not have worried. The whole experience was fantastic. Kathleen is so friendly and makes the experience extra special.
The accommodation is in a purpose built guest house. The room I stayed in was large, modern and very comfortable. Wi Fi (or wired) is free and works very well.
You are welcomed with a complimentary drink and I can recommend the local Belgian ale, which is very good. For further drinks, there is a fridge in the main living space - just help yourself and keep note of what you've had.
The home baked bread in the morning is really good, as is the selection of cheese, ham, pate etc.
I really enjoyed my stay here and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitors112, Manager at Lomolen B&B, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thanks for your reply.
We try to do our best to give business travelers optimal comfort, while giving them a home-feeling. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We (2 people) stayed for one night in the B&B Lomolen on our way from GB to Germany.
As we didn’t explore the area and really only looked for a nice place to stay the night I can’t comment on location, leisure possibilities, nearby restaurants etc.

We stayed in the so called STUDIO a very nice, large and newly renovated room, kind of an old barn or part of it with a really high ceiling, completely done up. Toilet and shower were separate. Everything was very clean. The studio contained a kitchen unit (with basically everything you need), a writing desk, table with two chairs (where breakfast is served), double bed (comfy), some shelves and even a washing machine.

Kathleen and Francis, the owners of the site, were ABSOLUTELY lovely. We felt wonderfully taken care of. Francis is a great cook and because of a lucky coincidence (as we had not ordered it) and caring hosts (who thought we might be hungry after our long drive) we could enjoy a very welcomed and DELICIOUS diner (pumpkin soup with freshly baked bread, local beer and desert).

Breakfast was also delicious, our favorites were the freshly baked, homemade rolls, the homemade jam and the various kinds of cheeses (partly even organic).

We enjoyed our stay very much and can truly recommend the LOMOLEN B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kateB9000, Eigenaar at Lomolen B&B, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lomolen Bed and breakfast.

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your stay in our Bed & breakfast.

We like to take care of our guests - hospitality is our greatest passion.

Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your return should your travels bring you back.

Kind regards

Kathleen
Lomolen Bed and Breakfast
Aalter - Belgium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed three night in Lomolen B&B with my family. Very good location between Gent an Brugge. We had a warm welcome from Kathleen, her husband and kids. They were really nice, provided us a lot of information about Gent and Brugge, even give us local maps. The room was big and clean, full of light and beds were very comfortable. There is big green backyard, so kids could play outside. The breakfast was very good, fresh homemade bread every day. My little daughter came one early morning to help baking a bread and really enjoyed it.
I wish all our stays in Belgium were so good. I diffidently would recommend this place for any kind of stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in Lomolen during a business visit in Aalter and (due to TripAdvisor) we choose the B&B Lomolen.
Warm welcome, excellent room(s)... Very nice breakfast and.... quiet.
And the best bed I had in a long long time.
5 star hotels can take a lesson here.

No need to say more.

Room Tip: Don't bother to look further... This is the place. Reservation required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

What a lovely place! A real oasis at the countryside in Belgium, just between the charming citites Gent and Brugge. The service and hospitality of this couple couldn´t be better. They go to a great length to make their guests satisfied. The salon was big, comfortable and with a personale style - and the breakfast was homemade and very tasteful. I wish we could have stayed here longer, and I really recommand this for all kind of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomolen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomolen B&B

Address: Lomolenstraat 112 | Lotenhulle, Aalter 9880, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aalter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomolen B&B has three newly constructed guestrooms and a cozy eat- and living room with terrace. Rooms equipped with beds from the box-spring type (180/200 or 2 x90/200). Each room has its own bathroom (bath or shower), TV/DVD, internet and telephone connection. The B&B offers you a qualitative stay in the middle of the countryside, completed with personal attention and information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lomolen B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomolen B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.