We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great view on that top of the peak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallstatt-Dachstein - Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape

Hallstatt-Dachstein - Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape
Winkl 34, Obertraun 4831 , Austria
43 (0) 50 140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Obertraun
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The great view on that top of the peak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A never miss place if you are in Hallstatt of nearby, It located in Obertaun town not far from Hallstatt, easy going by local bus. At the top there are the ancient ice cave, such a huge ice cave I ever met in my life!, also the five fingers like a panel walk in the air over the peak. Not far from the peak and cable station, just for sweat and tears walk !, you will see a far way glacier on the other peak of the Dachstein. We were advised from the owner of the B&B we stayed ,namely; Helga Lenz, she runs her own private B&B business in Hallstatt., that We would like to credit her for her advice to visit this place,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    29
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“OH Austria !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What can a person say, being, watching and love those unbelivable beauty ! It is on any road and place you go. On the first half of October, you get for free the astonished colors of the fall. WOW.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Lakefront Hamlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cozy lakefront hamlet that clings to the side of the Alps. Many small artisan shops to browse, open cafes and incredible architecture to discover.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hallstatt is a small town situated on the banks of the Hallstätter See and is surrounded by the most majestic mountains. We took the cable car up to the Rudolfs tower mountain inn and had lunch perched on the side of the mountain with a totally breathtaking view. The town itself is something straight off of a picture postcard. The town square is from a grimms fairy tale (not the scarey ones though!). We travelled by car but you can get the train and a ferry and we fully intend going back that way. Stunning doesnt begin to describe this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit Hallstatt,Stay at Obertraun..My dream land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's the Must if you visit Austria. don't miss Hallstat and Obertraun.I'm very impress oth of them.very beautiful land..from vienna,we get train from wein west bahnhof to salzburg 10.44 am. but we get off at Attnang puchchiem toconnect local train to Hallstatt .(Obb change to bus at Bad goisern station)
please note,on the way .you can't sleep ir clise your eyes,.very beautiful scene ,lanscape, Mountain. lake . Get a Bus from Bad Goisern to Hallstatt beautiful way,distance 12 km. We recomment,.If you visit Hallstatt,not forget Obertraun ,the small lovely town in The hold of Mounttains , just 4 km,from hallstat.The bus stop at Obertraun Haupbahnhhof. I ve booking at little Zimmer "Haus Rye" you can walk to there in 20 mins.but walk on the beautiful way to Haus Rye ,Unforgetabe ,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallstatt-Dachstein - Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape also viewed

Obertraun, Upper Austria
 
 

Been to Hallstatt-Dachstein - Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallstatt-Dachstein - Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.