We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel, very spa oriented...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf to your Saves list
Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thermenstrasse 111, Bad Waltersdorf A-8271, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bad Waltersdorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel, very spa oriented...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a business meeting here and enjoyed the surroundings and the hotel and food. Most people are clearly here for the thermal waters and rarely leave their housecoats so if you are expecting black tie and gowns go elsewhere! The decor is nice and relativelly modern and entertainment is a nice touch.

Seriously, a nice place to visit and beautiful surroundings you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views but higher floors (only up to 4th) is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
35
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A good hotel with amazing hot water pools. The rooms are spacious, everything is squeaky clean, the service is very professional. You will love the nearby village of Bad Waltersdorf (not walking distance though). One caveat - this place obviously caters mostly to seniors who have come for spa procedures. It's not a swim-and-splash place where your kids could have fun. You will get strange, unhappy looks from the other guests. I would not recommend the hotel for families with kids, but it's definitely a good choice for senior guests who want to have their peace.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

On a day without enough snow to ski we came to Spa here for a relaxing afternoon.

We arrived at around 4pm and were surprised to find that for the rest of the day (until 10pm) was 14.40€ for the spa and sauna. The was a multitude of different sauna's and steam rooms, however beware the in the sauna's you cannot wear you bathing suit, so be prepared for lots of naked people walking around. We were fine to have our towels wrapped around us, so long as our feet we on another towel and not on the seat.

The thermal spa consisted of four outdoor pools two for doing lengths or water aerobics and two for relaxing in. one of the relaxing pools had a ten point massage circuit, where you moved around through the ten stations and had a full body massage from the jets - this was great! the spa also had various indoor pools and plenty of seating. The lockers were free and we activated using the chip on the wristband given on entry.

Overall a great way to relax and spend a day or afternoon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Booked for a yoga and pilates retreat. My room had just finished being refurbished and was in North wing. The rooms are quiet and modern. The spa facilities are very nice. Many hot pools and there is a public area for day visitors as well as hotel guest only area. The water jet pools were very relaxing. Hotel has nice massage and beauty spa areas - therapists were nice and polite and knew their work well. Breakfasts were great. Dinner menus were good but not out of the ordinary. I was impressed with the ability of most employees to speak English which was very helpful. There were also bicycles free to use to ride around in the lovely countryside.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and conditioner as they are not supplied with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiltherme, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your recommendation! We are glad that you enjoyed the yoga and pilates week in our hotel!

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Quellenhotel & Spa!
Your Quellenhotel-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Quellenhotel and would return. The rooms are serviceable, very clean with plenty of storage space. Our room had a balcony which caught the evening sun. The TV has only one English language station (news programmes) so a couple of good books are a must !. The location is quite rural and consequently surrounded with beautiful views and an absence of unwelcome noise.

Staff are very helpful and everyone we met spoke excellent English - and put us at ease when our german skills quickly reached their limit.

Guests of the hotel have access to the Quellenoasis - which is just at a perfect oasis. There are a number of pools, saunas and sensory rooms. Note for those unfamiliar with sauna - this is taken in the nude and while I had not done this before I didn't find it in any way intimidating. There is a helpful guide in English in your room which let's you know what to expect.

The public spa area is also available to guests and there are a large number of indoor and outdoor thermal pools. Some of the pools have excerise bikes, various jets and are also varied in temperature.

The restaurant provides a wonderful breakfast, it is a continental breakfast but has a very large selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc. Dinner was asset menu and a choice of two starters and main courses. Again menus are provided in English.

There are activities each day which include yoga, gym, walking, water aerobics etc.

The is a small shop in the hotel. The village is a 20 min walk and has a shop or two. But a car is necessary if you which to explore further.

We had been hillwalking for a number of days and stayed in the Quellenhotel to relax and rejuvenate our weary bones, That we did in lovely surroundings and we left floating on air !

With regard to my marks below - the only reason I have marked the restaurant down is at the choice for main course on occasion didn't suit me. The quality of the food was excellent, and the buffet salad bar certainly provided for a lovely alternative. In fact the food left you feeling satisfied but also with a feeling of having eaten a delicious and healthy meal. When I say healthy please don't think that it's all Salad and no dressing ! There are options for those with a sweet tooth.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiltherme, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your recommendation and the detailed comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Quellenhotel & Spa!
Your Quellenhotel-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Quellenhotel for two nights in February. This was our first time in a spa resort and lived up to all expectations. Their special spa facility, the Quellenoasis, is all one can ask for in a spa resort and offers a full range of saunas, steam room, heated pool, and relaxation rooms. So much so that the public thermal pools are hardly needed in a short stay. They offer a fresh supply of towels when ever needed too. Food was simple and wholesome, and the staff responded magnificently to everything. There are also many options to eat out in the district if one doesn't want to take the half board option. All in all a great option for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I spent 4 nights at the Quellenhotel earlier this month and had a wonderful stay. Although the majority of guests were Austrian, the hotel staff were very good at helping me book and plan my visit despite me not speaking any German. I stayed in one of the new rooms which was very clean and functional. The Quellenoasis is lovely and was never too busy. The public spa was a little more busy but was still nice. I had a couple of treatments which were great. The food in the hotel was nice and filling but healthy. The location was great. All in all I had a great stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf

Address: Thermenstrasse 111, Bad Waltersdorf A-8271, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Bad Waltersdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bad Waltersdorf
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bad Waltersdorf
#3 Spa Hotel in Bad Waltersdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quellenhotel is situated in the "fruit bowl of Austria", in the Styrian Thermal region and is known as a Haven of peace and wellbeing. The Quellenhotel in Bad Waltersdorf is directly connected to the public Heiltherme day spa and offers its guests additionally a luxury private spa with natural bathing lake, thermal pools, saunas and different relaxation rooms. In summer 2015 the Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf gets revitalized. Look forward to new relaxation rooms, modern sports facilities and a new restaurant. From 8th of june to 16th of july the Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf is closed. In these times you get a discount of 10% on your room-rate. But you don't have to dispense with the themal water. The Quellenhotel and the Quellenoase are open the whole year. Experience the magic of our thermal water in the Quellenoase full-time. In the TSM-health oasis with treatments amongst others "Traditional Styrian Medicine(R)" (TSM(R)) a wide range of massages and spoiling beauty treatments are offered.We are looking forward welcoming you!Your team of Quellenhotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf Austria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heiltherme Bad Waltersdorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.