We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Tux, Austria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vorderlanersbach 282, Tux 6293, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Tux B&B and Inns
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Tux, Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights a few weeks ago. This hotel has no flaws. Our room was very spacious, clean, lots of bathroom amenities like robes, room slippers. Excellent layout of the room. Great view of the mountains from the balcony. Service was outstanding. Alexandra Innerhof, who runs the dining and reception area was absolutely fabulous. She was very accommodating with all our requests. She even did our laundry!!! We always looked forward to our meals, especially their 4 course dinner. Food was excellent with the variety and selections they had offered during our stay. Restaurant has a great ambience. Great value for your money for a 4-night half board stay. There is a covered parking garage which was nice (saved my husband from scrapping off the snow from the car). I highly recommend this hotel. Best hotel we stayed amongst all the other hotels we were in on our 5 week European trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friend and I had originally a booking in another hotel by the same owner but changed to Alpenjuwel. The name does justice to the place; we had a family room with balcony and a separate bedroom. Lots of space and closet space plus a flat screen cable TV as well. We had a half board package with a four course dinner - food was excellent and service friendly. Next time I hope I will have time for the spa and gym as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

What a wonderful place! I stayed there to relax after a long cycle ride and it was the best place to unwind. The spa area is much better than what I have ever seen in any spa hotel and really invites to just relax and sit back and enjoy. They have a wide variety of saunas, whirlpool and other features and everywhere are nice little touches that make the stay so much more enjoyable, like a juice fountain or fruit.
Food was excellent, I loved the salad buffet, however, they were out of their vegetarian dish and could only offer me fish as an alternative.
The rooms are spacious, spotless and just wonderful in itself with the wooden furniture, the well-finished bathroom with its great tiles... It is only the great mountain scenery around the hotel, that makes you want to leave the premises.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were upgraded and had two bedrooms, lounge and kitchen area with large balcony but with an overhang so didn't get full sun.. Rooms and bathroom spotless. Beds very comfortable - had three 32" flat screen TVs!
Five course meals - lots of variety and excellent quality, plus hikers snack between 3-5.00p.m. but you had to pay for drinks even tea!
Wellness consisted of jacuzzi, foot spas, saunas and steam rooms - no costumes allowed which is just the Austrian way, you get used to it and people are discreet.
Vorderlanersbach is quiet but there were a few things happening in Lanersbach. Free bus goes up and down the valley during the day and we walked everyday. There was snow on the glacier and there was a guided tour into a crevasse to experience the ice structures. Worth getting the Zillertal card if you are using the gondolas and chairlifts. Staff at the hotel all very helpful and welcoming. Underground secure parking.
Only downside you had to pay for Internet access which was surprising given that much lower standard hotels we stayed at en route offered free Internet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager

Address: Vorderlanersbach 282, Tux 6293, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Tux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Tux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpenjuwel Jager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.