We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Wiesenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Der Wiesenhof to your Saves list
Der Wiesenhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haus Nr 9 | Tirol, Pertisau, Eben am Achensee 6213, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pertisau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have never felt moved to write a hotel review before and feel hesitant now as I would love to keep Der Wiesenhof as my secret. However, the family Entner deserve all recognition for their hard work and attention to detail. I have just returned from my seventh visit to this hotel and am already planning next year's visit and hopefully one in the summer too. Pertisau is a jewel in the heart of the Tyrol and Der Wiesenhof is the gem at its centre. As others have commented the rooms are well appointed and all with amazing views, the food is ample and delicious (with all dietary needs catered for) and the many spa facilities are spotless and very relaxing. But, I too, must draw attention to the outstanding customer service of all the Staff. You arrive as a guest but are made to feel part of the family from the moment you set foot in the door. No wonder that so many guests return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
A warm hello to Wales!

We are so grateful that you have not kept our hotel as a secret :-) Thank you so much for this brilliant rating. We look already now forwared to welcoming you again and again and again ......

Our warmest regards,
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
177
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at Der Wiesenhof. As most people comment, the rooms are very comfortable, the food plentiful and of a high quality and the hotel as a whole, very clean, well maintained with an excellent spa as a bonus. However the point that struck us more than anything was the customer service provided by the owners and staff which is outstanding and certainly goes further than "the extra mile". The fact that a lot of the staff have worked at the hotel for ten years and more says a lot in itself. Thank you Andrea, Anita, Martin, Sandro, Sylvia and all of your colleagues for making our stay so memorable. We shall look forward to swimming in the new pool when we return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful rating - all team members were very happy to have you with us and it was our pleasure to make your stay unforgetable.

We look very much forward when you make "the extra mile" next time and to welcoming you again at the Wiesenhof!

Our best personal regards,
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It’s a long way from New York to Pertisau, but it’s well worth it!
Drop dead gorgeous scenery,
Lots of activities for adults & kids,
Lots of ski runs in the winter,
Big lake and pools for swimming & boating in the summer,
Many all season hiking trails.
And the best place to stay? … Der Wiesenhof!!! It’s got it all! We loved it all last October, and many, many other visits over the last 30 or 40 years.
Try them out … and you’ll go back often!
Diane & Alan Wright - 25 miles west of New York City

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Diane and Alan,

We are so pleased that you are coming the long way from New Jersey to Pertisau and that you share experiences in such a nice way with us and all trip advisor users. Thanks a lot and see you hopefully soon again!

Take care and all the best
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from a most pleasant Christmas Holiday at the Wiesenhof. My expectations, based upon the experiences of my wife and adult son who visited in the Summer of 2012, and on the very positive Trip Advisors reviews, were pitched at dangerously high levels but I am pleased to say were fully realised

Since all aspects of the experience were excellent, both the hotel and winter in the Karwendel Mountains, it is difficult to know which to highlight but I would particularly mention that all members of the 'Wiesenhoff team' clearly shared the professionalism and values of the Entner family

Although other top rank hotels clearly can offer superb cuisine and facilities I would be prepared to bet that none of them would invite guests to begin Christmas Eve at the family stable where assorted horses, donkeys and alpaca were over wintering. A combination of Jager Tee, readings, watching children light candles on a huge Christmas Tree and music including singing 'Stile nacht heilige nacht' was simply wonderful. It is a memory I will treasure, all the more so because it was followed by a very fine Christmas Dinner

All of this must reflect a great deal of hard work and attention to detail. How pleasing it is that this is evidently appreciated by the Wiesenhof's guests

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Simon,

Wow, whatelse can we say about this fantastic rating as THANK YOU SO MUCH. It is true that we are especially keen on the little tiny details which makes in our opinion the whole picture complete. We are grateful when you guest appreciate those details too.

It was our pleasure having you with us and sharing with you the special Christmas atmosphere at the stable and at the hotel.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again in the circle of our "big Wiesenhof family".

Best wishes
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel over the Christmas holidays - and we were not disappointed. We are a family of 4, the "family" room we booked was spacious with plenty of storage. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at every request. The meals and food throughout the day were good quality, plenty of choice, good variety, and special requests accommodated. We wanted to be in the Alps to see, play and spend time out of doors in the snow. This region was perfect, not over crowded, with skiing, sledding, and a horse drawn sleigh ride. On Christmas Eve there was a special program for the kids, and the evening meal was a typical European 9 course dinner - unfortunately our kids only lasted thru 4 of the courses. Overall, we loved the cozy feeling of this hotel, the fantastic service, and it seemed the hotel had thought of everything as it relates to providing a good service. There is a spa on the 1st floor, which I was not able to enjoy, but many of the guests did enjoy and it was convenient. The hotels position of the ski slopes, cross-country trails, and ski school were not more than a 5minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Warm regards to Dubei!

We appreciate your rating very much and are pleased that we met your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you again and wish you all the best.

Best regards
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Der Wiesenhof, going so far as to change plans to stay a full week. The first room we had felt a little on the small size with a bit of an awkward layout. But, the bedding was superb, the room was immaculate and there was a nice balcony to compensate. Our second room, a suite is superb, very roomy and nicely decorated. The spa facilities are wonderfully varied with different types of spas; sauna, steam room mild, steam room with herbs, sauna mild, waterfall room, relaxing rooms with mountain views, foot baths, and showers with special features. Treatments were top notch. Pool looked nice, we did not try it, but will next visit.
The food was of good quality, ample and changing selection. There were some repetitions of salads that felt a little boring until we thought about the fact that we do that at home also. Service was nice. There were a few hitches in the dining room in the evening, but that would likely be seen anywhere one stays for a full week. Impeccably clean. Lots of great walking in the area. The views are spectacular. We found it to be very relaxing and plan on returning in 2014. If there is one thing that makes the Wiesenhof, it is the people. From the moment we arrived until we left, the service was really special. Each person was friendly and went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. If you want a special stay, this is a great place visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite, it is a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Mary Frances,

Thank you so much for this fantastic rating. It made us really happy to see that you changed your plans and stayed with us for one week. A better compliment is not possible!

All of us look very much forward to seeing you again next year.

All the best
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for three nights, unfortunately did not meet our expectations.

Let us talk about advantages and disadvantages:

Rooms:
Advantages:
Big enough
Comfortable beds
Reading lights on sides in addition to fridge
Lots of towels that you do not need to ask for more
Bottles of shampoos are big enough to meet your needs

Disadvantages:
Tired (A bit old)
Colors are dull

Building:
Advantages:
Location next to achansee lake surrounded by green area

Disadvantages:
Reception area looks dull and dead
The elevator is too old
The building itself is old
Lighting is too little everywhere, you feel that the place is wet and dark

Food:
We have chosen to pay Euro 10 to have full board

Advantages:
The service at the restaurant was excellent
Table is well prepared by your name from the first day, we had an infant, his chair and dishes were there all the time
They break the routine by doing Italian night for example, you can see dry pastas on your table, in addition to Italian Manu

Disadvantages:
Food not tasty
The salads at the buffet is exactly same every day and night

Service:
Advantages:
They are so honest, it happened that one night we did not have dinner, they automatically did not charge the Euro 10 for each person
The lady at the reception gave us map and explained to us about the area
Achansee discount card
At the restaurant they cook for you what ever you want even if it is not in the menu
Bike is available for free renting next to hotel’s door in addition to infant seat back of the bike and small biles + Umbrellas

Disadvantages:
We have asked for fan in the room as the room is too hot, they say that they do not have (Rooms are without Air Condition)

We have asked for family room suite sea view as we were with 2 children. The receptionist asked us to wait in the restaurant to have welcome drink and wait till they prepare our room. We waited for 45 minutes. Then she gave us the key. When we went to the room it was south double room not family suite. It was too small and crowded by one extra bed in addition to baby crib. Then i went down to reception and clarified to them by showing them again the voucher mentioning that am asking for family room not south double room. She gave me the key for a ready family room. She apologized that i asked previously for sea view while they do not have.

Thank you,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannes_entner, Owner at Der Wiesenhof, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mary,

Thanks for your time for all the comments. With regard to all the other previous comments it seems that you expected more the style as at your home in Bahrain. Our website reflects exactly what you can expect when you are staying with us concerning the rooms, reception, restaurant, bar etc. Our regular guests enjoy the very cozy atmosphere with dimmed lights and the calm atmosphere of the hotel – but not to be confused with dead, dark and wet corners. The taste of food is very subjective, we are sorry that you did not like it. All our family rooms are with mountain view, therefore we changed your booking to south room as you asked for lake view. But as mentioned changed the room according to your request.

Take care and best regards,
Johannes Entner & the entire Wiesenhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Wiesenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wiesenhof

Address: Haus Nr 9 | Tirol, Pertisau, Eben am Achensee 6213, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Eben am Achensee > Pertisau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pertisau
#1 Family Hotel in Pertisau
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pertisau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pertisau
#1 Spa Hotel in Pertisau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Wiesenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive as a guest. Leave as a friend. The Wiesenhof - the Achensee hotel with tradition. A quaint farmhouse in the centre of Pertisau 100 years ago, today a tasteful 4-star superior SPA & Park Hotel for all generations. A retreat for wellness guests who look for high standards in quality. A paradise for golfers who start their round of 18 holes just a few minutes walk away. Happiness for families fulfilling children's dreams when pony riding. Attractive for active guests who can explore Austria's largest nature park "Karwendel" from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Der Wiesenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wiesenhof Pertisau
Der Wiesenhof Hotel Pertisau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Wiesenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.