We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be so disappointed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Haus Alpenblick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirchberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Haus Alpenblick
Save
You added Pension Haus Alpenblick to your Saves list
Reithergasse 39, Kirchberg A-6365 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Kirchberg B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“You will be so disappointed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You will be disappointed if you were unable to book a place in this very popular guesthouse and had to stay elsewhere in the resort.

I stayed here for one week during the February half term break with my son along with 30 or so other people from all over Europe; the main factor that attracted me to the place was the positive reviews for the guesthouse and enthusiasm shown for the hosts.
The rooms are compact, very warm and ensuite with piping hot showers and possibly one of the nicest beds that I have slept in. Despite the wide range in age groups staying here the hotel has good soundproofing and guests were able to come and go late at night without disturbing each other.
The hosts are lovely people who try hard to make you feel welcome; their two small boys treat you like friends and request help with pouring juice for them at breakfast or even helping them put on their ski boots!! It is a nice touch to have two boys who are so comfortable with adults.
Emma took the time to speak to us every day and made me feel very welcome and also her local knowledge was very useful.

The food is superb, it is varied and cooked to perfection.

The rooms are clean as is the whole hotel.

The ski bus stops are 10 minute walk away in ski boots or 5 minutes in normal footwear.

What could be done to make my stay better?

(1) Kettle in my room, or free coffee/tea served from 4.00- 5.30pm in the bar area. Not an expensive addition but might encourage people to gather and then stay to drink the huge variety of beers on offer.

(2) Bread served at the table with the soup, some of my fellow guests often left the table still hungry after a day of skiing. The large bowls of salad were welcome.


The best things about the hotel.

(1) Emma and Chris, a well oiled slick machine that made our stay brilliant.

(2) Cosy setting with nice ambiance.

(3) Warm bootroom

(4) Smoke free and wi-fi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are just back from a family weeks skiing Feb 2013 and stayed at Haus Alpenblick. In summary, very clean hotel and rooms, limited breakfast, evening meals where fine mostly, plenty of beer choice and hosts very outgoing. We did stay in rooms at top of hotel very very tiny as roof/loft conversion and i kept hitting my head on a low beam avoid these rooms better rooms on ground, first or second floor. Good location 5 mins walk to bus or 15 mins to slopes. Kirchberg and Kitsbuhel excellent and varied skiing resort!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at top of hotel (roof/loft conversion) very very small rooms numbers 19-24
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Having just returned from a weeks skiing in Kirchberg, I found Haus Alpenblick to be superb! It's not a hotel but it really hits above its weight as a guesthouse. Rooms are a good standard, food is excellent, particularly at dinner, staff are very flexible (no set time for dinner) 6pm - 7.30pm, bar is small but intimate serving an excellent range of drinks ( particularly beers) which means you get to meet other guests very quickly. Drinks are very well priced and served extremely well. We ventured out most nights after dinner but on the two nights we stayed in, the nail game was great fun ( organised by Chris ) and lots of conversation and craic with the other guests on the other night! It's location is excellent, 7 minutes walk in boots to ski bus stop/ski school meeting place, less than 5 minutes to centre of Kirchberg to bars, shops etc but yet very quiet.
We did change rooms after first night as our room on the top floor had a beam crossing the room in the centre at approx 5 feet high. One of us would have hit our head on this had we stayed in that room but when mentioned to Chris & Emma it was immediately sorted.
All in all if I go back to Kirchberg , I will return to Haus Alpenblick providing they continue to keep Crystal ski guests.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms should be avoided if over 5 feet tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food was great, rooms very clean, warm and comfortable beds. Beyond their excellent hospitality, Chris and Emma’s local knowledge proved invaluable to maximizing our weeks skiing but offering advice on what ski pass to buy, bus timetables and where to ski when the weather was not optimum. On a slightly negative side, I would echo the comments on the lack of internet and English speaking tv. Although I suppose with hindsight, the lack of these 2 services can also be a blessing in disguise. My top tip for staying here would be to use the great bus connections to ski Brixental, Ktzbuhel, Westen dorf and Soll. They all offer great skiing and are very accessible from Kirchberg.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, there is no night-time noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better holiday destination - Chris and Emma welcome you to their gasthaus and make you part of their family and welcome you into their home.
Food is excellent and as good as i have ever had in years of ski-ing across resorts in Europe.
The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable with a cosy enjoyable bar.
Access to the ski area is easy and if you have any queries both Chris and Emma are both more than happy to answer your questions and go out of their way to help you get the best out of your holiday.
Both Chris and Emma take great pride in their home and local village and they have lots to be proud off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The accommodation, food, service and cleanliness are all excellent. Chris and Emma and their staff are amazing - very helpful and friendly and thorough. After a hard day in the mountains all you want is somewhere warm, comfortable, with good food and a bit of craic - this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Just home from a great stay in Kirchburg. Didn't snow till end of the week but on good advice from the Chris, we bought the best lift pass possible and travelled to all the best resorts for the best skiing.
The hotel itself is lovely, Situated a short walk from town and the ski bus stop. The hotel benefits from being run by Chris, a kiwi who knows the area inside out after living there 18 years I believe. Chris's wife is the amazing chef and there wasn't a single evening where I didn't want either option for the main course. The hotel is exactly what you want from a ski hotel and could only be improved by a few small things - improved wifi throughout at least the ground floor (e could only get online in the corridor as the router was in the private apartment). The other improvement would be adding some English TV channels to the package throughout the hotel even sky news or CNN would do, especially as all the occupants whilst I was there were English speakers. Two minor fixes could make all the difference. Special thanks to Chris for entertainment with nail game and the beer tasting. Cracking week thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Haus Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Haus Alpenblick

Address: Reithergasse 39, Kirchberg A-6365 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kirchberg
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Alpenblick was established as a guest house in 1930 and has been family run since then. Bought in 2002, by Emma and Chris, this beautiful pension is further evolving into a lovingly restored guesthouse full of life and the mouthwatering aromas of home cooking. The 24 guest rooms are all different and offer cosy country charm. Many regular guests see this lovely holiday destination as a home away from home. Being originally from Australia and New Zealand, both Emma and Chris have a strong love of nature and upon visiting Kirchberg found the call of the mountains was too strong to leave. They settled with a dream to offer, heartfelt and open guest friendliness to other travellers who enjoy the mountains, love travel and enjoy great food. Kirchberg is a real jewel in the Alps and a breathtaking area of the Tyrol. In 2009 Chris started a long and extensive training as a Beer Sommelier and Beer has now become a speciality of the house and beer tasting holidays are now very popular at Haus Alpenblick. If you are looking for a Holiday in Kitzbuehel, at Haus Alpenblick you are sure to be well looked after and enjoy personalised informal service that makes for a memorable holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Haus Alpenblick Hotel Kirchberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Haus Alpenblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.