We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AHHHHHHH-MAZING!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doug's Mountain Getaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Doug's Mountain Getaway to your Saves list
Doug's Mountain Getaway
Muehlwiese 12, Fulpmes 6166, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AHHHHHHH-MAZING!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow. This hostel owner has really thought of everything! From the cozy private or shared dorm rooms, to the sauna and hot tub, to the black light table tennis room, to the pool and fooseball and card playing tables. . . this place really has it all - ! And that's just at the hostel. They also have a HUGE list of activities that can be done in the surrounding areas and are also known to accompany the guests on excursions such as paragliding, volleyball games, swimming, hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking, snowboarding, hover boarding, and more! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!

Room Tip: The Red Room had excellent mountain views and two single beds :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Even with bad weather for may, Doug stil had plenty of ideas for activities for us to do to make the most of our stay. There is also loads to do in the hostel, which was clean, sociable and cosy. A real (better) home from home. From young couples to young singletons, this place is awesome, stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Amazing hostel, so much to do, cool board games, lots of toys, the spa is awesome, we were never bored, Doug's an excellent host and a great snowboard instructor.

The review needs to be 200 characters long so I had to add this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A stay at Doug's Mountain Getaway was exactly what the doctor ordered after a crazy week of boarding and partying in Mayrhofen. This hostel is more like a home where everyone is friendly and social and there is no end to the things to do from foosball, pingpong, pool, beanie shopping, chilling on the massive comfy couches watching movies on the big screen or easing the aches and pains in the sauna and spa.
Highly recommend and just wish we could have stayed for longer and gone checked out the nearby skifield with night tobogganing etc. Thanks for having us Doug, will def be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

So... why is this place so good? well first of all I booked the two nights that we wanted to stay and when we turned up realised I had booked it a week later! doh... However Doug was really helpful and turned the games room into a lovely little room for my boyfriend and I. It's so relaxing there, with free use of the kitchen, board games, computer games - everything. He also took everyone down to the river where you can swim and sunbathe. We went walking in the hills and found a monastery, luge and a very tasty snack shack up in the mountains with its own yodeller... Will definitely go again. Thanks Doug!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and just had an amazing time. A scenic tram ride or easy bus ride away from Innsbruck, it is very close to the base of a ski resort.
I just want to thank Doug for his hospitality and friendliness, as well helping me get geared up to hit the slopes.
Felt like being at a friends house, with everything you could imagine being there. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, huge projector screen, pool table, table tennis, board games, spa, sauna, weights room.
Having spent 7 months in Europe and stayed at around 70 hostels, this was in my top 5!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've been travelling for four months and Doug's Mountain Getaway is our favourite hostel yet. It's hard to believe they provide so many facilities for the price. There is also so much to do in the area (skiing, hiking, paragliding, adventure activities) and they're really generous with advice and resources. Doug made several phone calls to arrange things for us. The place has a great homely feel and is a nice small and social hostel.

Couldn't recommend this hostel more highly. One thing: do yourself a favour and book four nights MINIMUM. Everyone we talked to who came for less time regretted it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doug's Mountain Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doug's Mountain Getaway

Address: Muehlwiese 12, Fulpmes 6166, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fulpmes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fulpmes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an epic mountain holiday?? Our homely chalet has not only a cinema, hot tub, chill-out lounge, bar, sauna, fitness & table-tennis rooms, but is perfectly placed to enjoy a huge range of other activities.We are at the base of a fantastic Austrian ski resort, and offer trips, extreme sports, a tour guide for hikes and mountain biking, and make sure you hit up the world-famous Austrian après-ski! In fact, the full experience will knock your socks off - because we want you to come back being as smitten with the Austrian Alps as we are!The rooms are all cool and unique; there's an ensuite 4-man dorm with its own projector & DVD player, a double room with balcony (and soon to have its own jacuzzi!), the red twin room with balcony, the emerald suite twin with roof access, and for overflow, another cozy double with Nintendo 64 and all the best multiplayer games! All the rooms have funky speakers for your iThings, and you guys all get to use the whole place as you would your own homes. The experience is truly unique!! Come make some friends and go big in the Alps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Doug's Mountain Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doug's Mountain Getaway Fulpmes, Austria - Tirol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doug's Mountain Getaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.