We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Forsthofgut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Forsthofgut to your Saves list
Hotel Forsthofgut
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Huetten 2, Leogang 5771, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leogang
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Its the best hotel in the area..The location is great, you can not believe the view you can get looking all around. The room was great with separate room for the kids, which they loved it.
The food great...We stayed for 5 nights. Every morning something new was added. The bread was warm and homemade one of the best I ever tried. Afternoon with delicious soups and great cakes. Dinner was also beyond expectations.
If you want relax holidays combined with good food, you are looking to the right place.
Looking forward visit it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
67
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have spent quite a few weekends in Leogang and as we prefer to go in the low season our other hotels have not always been open which means that we end up testing new ones. Last time this was the only one open - lucky for us as we got to find a new absolute favourite!

The hotel is pretty big, but it is not so big that it feels impersonal. It has all you could wish for. We were there in November before the skiing season started. The fire places (two) in the lobby/bar area are cleverly built for optimum enjoyment from when you sit and sip on a drink. The drink list is long with traditional home made snaps as well as well-known cocktails and wine.

The SPA-area is one of the nicest ones I have ever been too. You could find refreshing drinks (e.g. tea) and I think also fruit and nuts. This is one of the reasons for us to return here soon.

The other reasons are (apart from the scenery) the food which is absolutely fantastic, but also the overall service and atmosphere. If you want to make an outing the personal is there to give tips and advise.

They have a fitness room too so you can go for a run on the treadmill or simply work out if you wish.

I could go on and on, but just try it out yourself - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have stayed there for one week. The hotel is right near the slope and has been recently refurbished. The food, the accommodation, the spa, the pool, everything is perfect. In addition, the staff has a real sense of service. Definitely, a place I strongly recommend !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel which combines luxury, atmosphere and great service with family friendliness. Great location for skiing. Great quality of food (also when there's buffet). Only Minus: Relatively far from village and very warm if not hot in dining room in winter when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Forsthofgut Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it.
The hotel itself is in a great shape, really nicely decorated and very inviting. Nice reading room above the bar (great place to sit around with a laptop and have a drink)
Our room was huge and very clean. Room and bathroom were nice and stylish (modern Alpine style with a lot of wood and felt pillows...absolutely love that) The only thing I didn't like about the room was the wall-to-wall carpeting (hardwood floors would be much nicer and also easier to clean.)
The hotel has a large wellness area with a nice pool and several saunas/steam baths. (unfortunately very popular among the guests especially in the late afternoon). I especially loved the breakfast, plenty of choices, everything you wish for (a wonderful selection of breads and pastries, fresh OJ...). Dinner was good too (3 options to choose from - on some evenings I wasn't that happy with the choices). The staff was really friendly and helpful.
The only negative things:
We got a great room rate, but dogs normally cost 20EUR per night - I find that too expensive.
There is no WLAN in the rooms, which would not be necessarily a problem if the WLAN coverage downstairs would not be that weak (no coverage on the patio - so forget sitting outside and working on your laptop). However, I was told that this will be fixed soon.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will be definitely back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The moment you walk into the hotel you can relax. We really liked the bar and coffee area with great hot chocolates and a fabulous cocktail selection. The food and service at night are great and the breakfast is amazing. Difficult not to start the day eating too much with all sorts of fresh bread, cakes, freshly prepared egg variations, freshly squeezed juices and a range of tea leaves (there is even champagne...). The spa is fab with several sauna's, and a great relax area. Bliss after a day of skiing. We took a blue slope back so we could ski to the hotel (10 meters walk). Renting your ski's at the hotel in the ski rental shops was really convenient. Lovely duvet and a selection of pillows. There is nothing left to wish for...(except perhaps more slots for treatments because they were almost fully booked when we arrived). Ultimate relaxation... We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: The newly decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for one week at the Forsthofgut in Leogang with our two small children in August 2011 and enjoyed it a lot. Very nice and clean rooms, great outdoor area with natural lake and space for eveyone, very friendly kids club and great kitchen. The mountain scenary is spectacular and you can make great day visits from Leogang (Mountain Spa in Kaprun a must!). We and our kids had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Forsthofgut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forsthofgut

Address: Huetten 2, Leogang 5771, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Leogang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leogang
#2 Family Hotel in Leogang
#2 Spa Hotel in Leogang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leogang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Forsthofgut 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Forsthofgut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsthofgut Hotel Leogang
Hotel Forsthofgut Leogang, Austria - Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Forsthofgut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.