We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Forsthofgut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Forsthofgut to your Saves list
Hotel Forsthofgut
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Huetten 2, Leogang 5771, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leogang
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great quality experience. Food is delicious and the Chef very helpful - I have sone food intolerances and he was able to provide special food for me during the whole stay. There are different room categories, mine was very big with a sitting area and huge bathroom with shower and bath. All very clean. Nice Spa area with steaming room,sauna,relaxing area and massage service (massages at extra but reasonable cost). Would try to go back maye in winter time since the hotel is located in a big and beautiful ski area.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This has to be one of the best hotels in an Austrian ski resort. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome with a glass of sparkling wine. We were upgraded to a family suite which had been newly renovated and was luxurious in every way . The hotel is situated in a fantastic position at the bottom of the slopes very close to the gondola which makes ski in/ski out simple. The hotel has it's own ski shop next to the ski lockers which means if you order on line you can be on the slopes within 10 minutes of arrival. The facilities in the hotel were teriffic including one of the best spas we have used which was all included in the package. The food felt like full board with a wonderful breakfast buffet, gourmet dinner and fantastic cakes /snacks when you came in off the slopes. We loved the hotel and the skiing area and will definitely be returning nexr year !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

From the moment we arrived and were offered a glass of sparkling wine we knew we had picked the right place. We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The food was amazing .The breakfast buffet was incredible, afternoon tea was another full blown event and the gala dinner we had on friday night was one of the best meals we have eaten. The other 2 evening meals did not dissapoint. Always a healthy option was on offer if required. the staff obviously love their jobs and took great pride in working there.We have never been anywhere where all the staff have been tip top all the time !!The hotel bar is a lovely place to unwind . You can ski right onto the piste and the main gondola is a minute away. The ski area is fantastic. The wellness area is a lovely place to go after a days sking though takes a bit of getting used to for us prudish british !!! Our room was nice though i think we will ask for one of the newer rooms next time. We decided against these when we booked as it seemed silly having a large suite for the 2 of us which was all that was available. Our room however was large had a very comfy bed,was clean and very quiet with a lovely balcony. there is nothing much else in leogang which could be a problem if travelling with teenagers though the main gondola seemed to run late into the evening and there is a very lively restaurant at the top of it. a great place to stay and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diemen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Having tried two other hotels in recent years, the Salzburger Hof and the Krallerhof we opted this time for the Forsthofgut. We were not disappointed. Great location within view and walking distance of the main skilift and children's skischool area yet none of the noise you might expect. We visited at probably the busiest time of the year because of the Northern European school holiday's. The place was close to fully booked but staff handled everything with care and consideration. This is a family run place which started from scratch thirty years ago and one can tell the effort and work the family has put into it.
The new extension, which blends perfectly well with the earlier buildings has obviously the more modern rooms. The older rooms, we stayed in both parts of the hotel, are fine as well but the bathrooms, although fully equipped, could do with a makeover to avoid the feeling one is visiting a place with two room standards. Food is great! Excellent breakfast, midday snacks and great choices for dinner. You look up the word clean in a dictionary and you find a picture of this place. Wellness area is a bit small but gets never overcrowded. No drawbacks? Only a few. Children's area/programme is good but basic and could use some improvement to be in line with the quality of the rest. Massage was ok but experienced guests at this game are invited to indicate preferences since the treatment we experienced caters to the not so experienced. However, it is all a matter of personal preference. Leogang has been massively upgraded in recent years making it a great place for a quiet and/or family/children's holiday. You can ski right into Saalbach and Hinterglem, the busier and more notorious places for drinking and dancing, or drive in 20 minutes to Zell am See for some shopping. Our son and his friend, 10 and 11, loved the place and enjoyed the lessons they took on the slopes from experienced instructors. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

We were looking for a place to go skiing for a week and found this area in Austria. It is not one of the cheapest places to stay, but the service is excellent. We had a big room and attached extra room for our son. The food had 5-star quality and the amenities were great. The spa area had 3 different saunas and a variety of massages.
The skiing area is absolutelly wonderful. We only had a few minute walk to the lift into the upper skiing area. Very family and for my part snowboard friendly.

We went skiing to the same area but to stayed at an other hotel in December 2007. Check my other review.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

I stayed in this hotel with my family in January 2006, we had been to the hotel previously when visiting Leogang for dinner.

Leogang is an undiscovered resort, by the british. It has amazing skiing and links to Salbach and Hinterglem.

The hotel is at the bottom of the slopes. On arrival you will receive a warm welcome, the hotel is picturesque and the room are equally as good. We stayed in the Luxory famiy suite which was great, a lovely double room with underfloor heating in the bathroom, balcoy and attached room with very sturdy bunk beds that would actually sleep adults.

The hotel can be half board and this option is well worth taking the breakfast is great with a huge selection of breads, cereals, bacon and eggs. The evening menu changes daily and is set it really is world cass food and very fresh.

There is a kids club at the hotel which runs all day and allows parents to have a good ski.

I have already booked for 2007.

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Disliked — no sky tv
  • Tips/Secrets — take a protable dvd player and films if you have childern
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Forsthofgut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forsthofgut

Address: Huetten 2, Leogang 5771, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Leogang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leogang
#2 Family Hotel in Leogang
#2 Spa Hotel in Leogang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leogang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Forsthofgut 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Forsthofgut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsthofgut Hotel Leogang
Hotel Forsthofgut Leogang, Austria - Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Forsthofgut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.