We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norica to your Saves list
Norica
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser Franz Platz 3, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We just returned from our ski vacation in Bad Hofgastein and are still talking about this fantastic hotel. To start with, on arrival we were met at the door and received assistance with our luggage. Dragan (a hotel employee) helpfully took our luggage to the rooms, while we went through the check in process. He then showed us where to park the car (hotel parking area around the corner). The rooms were well appointed, very comfortable and clean. They are quite modern, equipped with a flat screen TV, a rainfall showerhead, heated towel racks and other helpful amenities. The staff are very friendly, observant and provided helpful answers for all of my initial questions (snow conditions, rental locations, etc.).
After checking in, Dragan offered to drive us to the ski rental and ticket counter, which is approximately 7 minutes away by foot. We gladly accepted, as we did not yet know our way around and were travelling with my grandmother. He drove us, waited until we arranged for ski lessons and rentals, and drove us back.
Even though pretty much everything in this hotel is fantastic, the food is by far the most impressive. Every meal was better than the last. Being there over the Christmas holiday, they went out of their way to make the meals special and luxurious. They even noticed that one of our group only spoke English and made sure to provide her with a menu in English.
In terms of skiing, Bad Hofgastein offers varied terrain and a significant number of runs. At times it felt as though you were the only person on the mountain. My little sister (12) skied for the very first time. We arranged for her to have a group lesson on the first day (60 Euro for 9.45 - 15.00) and a private lesson on the second day (115 Euros 12.30 - 15.00). The group lessons are not available on Saturdays, hence the private lesson. Rental of boots and skis for two days is 55 Euros and best of all you can keep your equipment at the shop, located at the base of the mountain, so that you don't need to carry it around. A day ski lift pass is about 40 Euros for an adult. There are, however, all kinds of discounts for kids and you can even buy a pass by the hour.
After a day of skiing, we took advantage of the access to the Alpen Therme, which is included in the room rate. The Therme had numerous pools, outside swimming, hot tubs, a large sauna area and numerous spa treatments. The Therme can be accessed through an underground corridor.
All in all it was a truly fantastic vacation and we highly recommend the Norica to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife was two months ago to BadHofGastein to Norica Hotel. She liked it so much that convinced me to make a call for three days in June. I felt there like being in a family, everything is exactly like the pictures, the staff is extremely polite and willing to come to welcoming you. Underground pass to Alpentherme is extremely comfortable. We opted for two meals a day but they gave us the extra two days, dinner tables. They know how to do their job and I respect that. The spa is wonderful, refreshing, especially if you are over 50 (in summer, while winter is a paradise for skiing). The hotel is 4* rated and I felt that there is value for every EURO spent there. In June there was an unusual hot time (almost 30) and I noticed that most part of the Hotels in BadHof Gastein doesn't have air conditionated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had a good-sized room with balcony and a great view of the mountains. Hotel is connected through tunnel to the 'Therme', pools, saunas, gyms all in one building (also incl). The rate includes breakfast, a small lunch, and dinner, often buffet style with emphasis on meat dishes. As a vegetarian it was often a bit difficult to find your way to the salad selection. The hotel is probably best described as a spa vacation accommodation and it is not uncommon to come across people in white robes returning from the pool. All in all, a comfortable place. Music in restaurant often aggravatingly top 40ish, but service staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This was the conference hotel for my colleagues and I from May-June. We enjoyed comfortable rooms, the prime view of the Gastein valley in the middle of the Alps, access to the amazing Alpen Therme Spa, and three EXCELLENT meals every day at the hotel. All foods were house-made, so if you can get the meals included in the cost, especially with spa access--it is HIGHLY recommended.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful with everything from ordering train tickets to calling the train ticketing office when the rail gave us difficulties. Two web-access computers are available for free in the lounge.

The rooms were clean with large HD TVs. The balcony rooms really are worth the cost if you want a beautiful view when you wake up in the morning. Astonishing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Norica

Norica is the ski resort you should go to if you ever go to Bad Hofgastein
in Salzburg. Once you've been there, you will think it's one of the best hotels/resorts you have ever been to.

I especially loved the pools, jacuzzis, and the sauna. There is even a huge slide for your kids older than ten. When you get inside the covered slide you pass through a narrow turn. Suddenly it gets all dark and different color lights burst out. So do scary noises. Near the end, there's another turn and then comes the exit into a tiny, shallow pool. There's Family World–the place with the slide-and an outdoor pool connected to the indoor pool. Relax World is just like it's name, it's a place where you relax and feel like the tremendous pool is the whole world. Also a Sports World with all the sport things you would think of. The Sauna World is the best except the sauna is dry! That is all part of the Alpen Therme. If you are in another hotel then you have to go all the way through a bridge and will take a much longer time than from Norica. Norca is the main Alpen Therme place!

There is even a mini swimming pool for beginners. In there, there is also a seat connected to the wall that is about 60˚C to 70˚C. And also a sauna in there! The Norica guys thought ahead about swimming and being too warmand you need cold water so the made a juice machine that has 4 different kinds of juice and water.

You will also want to go there for its food and the polite waiters. Choosing the food the day before makes you always ready. You sometimes get to choose your appetizer in Buffet mode or your dessert and sometimes there is Gala dinner. Table? Talk about tables! You get your very own table for the whole stay so you won't have to care about who has been on the table and if it's clean or not. If you just take a shot in the dark you would get a really polite and careful waiter and sometimes know how to speak many different languages.

Norica is just the right place for skiing when you kid has to go to a Skischool. Like me, I bring my kids to the bus stop which is very close and brings you right to the other side of the school. And there is a skistall even closer to the bus stop because they know it's uncomfortable to walk in the ski boots.

Also, the rooms are all delightful and cozy. Even though there is only one bed, there is a very comfotable sofa that turns into a bed. All the pillows are extremely soft and the covers are impossible to imagine. Even softer! When you wake up there is coffee and tea waiting for you to drink. They are very splendid morning tea that will make you all wide awake. The coffee is always the best in Norica, you can add milk and sugar. As you wish! The sink in the bathroom works just fine like any other sink(or maybe better). When you get all sweaty, and hot when you come back from your great ski day you can just go to the sink and get some icy cold water just from the tap!

So if you ever go to Bad Hofgastein, make sure you go to this very splendid ski resort. Even if it will take a long flight to get there, you will forget the flight and remember the amazing parts of your journey!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Great hotel with wonderful helpful cheerful staff. We had teenagers and small children as well as adults in our group, all found the hotel excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was very good and the buffet presentation was a work of art every night , breakfast was huge and the apres ski snack adequate. The real bonus in this hotel is the underground connection to Alpen Therme which offers indoor and outdoor pools family world ladies world sauna world jaccuzi and a nude sauna totally seperate from family area. This is the only way to finish a day ski-ing !!! The hotel is situated very centrally in this lovely quaint village

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xpat @ large
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

We found the Hotel Norica through a travel agent as expats looking for a last minute (and I mean LAST minute!) holiday for a family of four with a never-skied toddler, a snowboarding pre-teen and two advanced-skiing adults. We were happy to get anything really, especially right before the European half-term break in February, but this little gem has been a real treat. We now just book it ourselves directly, but there may be other options available.

From the beginning, we were greeted by name, the children warmly welcomed, and people bending over backwards to help us. The food was fantastic and the only reason we didn't gain weight was the amount of skiing! Passes can be bought right at the front desk, saving you the queue at the hill or rental shops too. Everything is walking distance, and there are free buses in town and running up and down the valley to access the other resorts.

We start our day with the fantastic buffet breakfasts that cater to the traditions of almost any nationality and then the kids walk to the meeting points for their classes. We can meet for lessons at the skis school or at the lodge on the hill. And there is usually a good chance of seeing at least one of them on the slopes or at one of the many lodges scattered all over the hills. The Gastein valley has its own sites and skis school websites which are accurate in their descriptions. They are also really good with the kids and this adds to the whole experience.

We ski until lessons are over at three and then either meet up for a run or two with either of the kids, or we hurry back to the hotel to get changed and head off to the Alpentherme.

The underground access from the Hotel Norica to the Thermal spas and pools is brilliant and it's great fun swimming in the outside pools, tubing down the lazy river or going down the water slide. This is all included in your hotel rates!!! The wellness spa is extra, but well worth it, the treatments are fantastic and always add to the relaxation quotient. Have tried almost all over the last few years and can highly recommend the wraps and packs. :)

We then trundle back to our rooms and tidy up for the evening. Dinner is a four course affair and if you go hungry, it's your own fault! The selection of regional dishes and accompanying wine list make for a really lovely sampling and we have never been disappointed. The buffet is mouth-watering and can be a meal on its own. And they have been very happy to cater to the whims of a child's preferences also, whipping up spaghetti or schnitzel at a moments notice. It wouldn't happen at home!

By then there is more than one head nodding and we head to our room for the night, saying goodnight to other guests as we go. There has always been a great mix of people: older couples on their own, sometimes with their extended family of children and grandchildren, groups of families travelling together, young couples and small families like ours. We never seem to make it to the nightclubs after all the other activities, although we have it on good authority from our ski instructors that they are a lot of fun! Maybe this year...

We have seen many changes here over the several years we have been returning: the restaurant has moved from the basement and is now located so you can have a view of the mountains in the sunny area off the back of the entrance foyer, which has also seen a facelift. The old restaurant is now the location of the heated ski lockers and the wine cellar with the tasting evening is a nice addition also. We think that rooms in the newer section are nicer than the ones in the older section, but the older rooms have such a great view, it’s a hard call. The older ones are a bit smaller, but there is so much to do that we are only there to sleep and change! The foldout sofas in any of the rooms for the kids are okay, although it would be nicer if they also had proper beds. Also, the older section has bathtubs with a shower fitting but the new section only has showers. The plan is to upgrade all the rooms, but I don't know when that will be done. Parking is offsite, but only a two minute walk. I can be fussy, but it’s all very clean and requests are dealt with quickly, so the balance is still in favour. The effort is obvious.

The town itself is lovely to wander through and now has an ice rink with skate rentals, in case you still aren’t tired! Local clothing is for sale, a great idea for international school themes (yes, lederhosen!), and the local wood shops offer lovely carvings. My favourite is the one on the highway on the way in, located by the big rocking chair: he makes birdhouses/feeders that look like the chalets! And lots of places to upgrade your ski equipment/clothing in case Santa left a few gaps… And of course, there are lots of rockhound shops and Swarovski crystals available. And the yodelling groundhogs…!

Salzburg is only an hour away and is definitely worth the trip. There are lots of local cafes and restaurants and great shopping for the non-skiers and day-trippers alike. Luxury goods are plentiful, but there are some fun toy stores, Christmas shops, the usual souvenirs and lots of opportunities to honour Mozart in his hometown. The Sound of Music paraphernalia is only just starting to be available in a more widespread form as locals still find that awkward, but there was a bus tour available, so things change. The drive itself is really pretty but there is an airport in Salzburg and the trains run right through the valley, only a few minutes from the hotel, should you come in that way. Our day trips (once for each year of our first two years in the area) were a function of a broken wrist and torn shoulder ligaments, so were initially unplanned but we were glad we did and can recommend the excursion. BTW, the doctor at the little clinic in Bad Hofgastein is excellent, but do try and avoid the trip!

For us, the Norica Hotel has come to be synonymous with our ski holiday. There are lots of places we could go, and maybe we will one day. But for now, we are happy; the kids are happy and really look forward to the skiing and other activities provided in the area, even asking if we have booked The Norica again. We are having some great times in a hotel with very high standards in a fantastic location that caters to a diverse group of people, all looking to enjoy the ski season.

The whole holiday experience here is based on our enjoyment of the hotel. It is because of the family Czerny and their friendly staff who welcome us each year, making us feel like family, that we are heading back for our fourth year in 2009.

  • Liked — Friendlly staff, great location for skiing and access to Alpentherme
  • Disliked — Kids in same room, a bit cramped with ski stuff too!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norica

Address: Kaiser Franz Platz 3, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#4 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Norica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Hotel NORICA: close to nature, stylish, elegant and innovative; experience wellness, nature and culinary at its finest in a successful combination, shaped by your host's family Czerny. Directly linked with the Alpentherme Gastein and with the Health Centre Bad Hofgastein: free entire entry for the hotel guests. Modern equipped rooms, panoramic restaurant with winter garden and show kitchen, the in-house experience-thermal indoor swimming pool with new CELTIC SPA & CELTIC VITAL (special celtic treatments). All bathrooms with tropical rain showers, all rooms with a HD-Flat Screen TV, the whole hotel equipped with high speed WLAN. Anew since 2014: NORICA'S TOWER SUITE - architectural rarity, a luxury flat on two floors for special occasions like wedding, birthday, anniversary, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Norica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norica Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.