We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated and over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bertahof Restaurant

Bertahof Restaurant
Vorderschneeberg 15, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
+43(0)6432 7608
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $26
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Over rated and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Menu- nothing special or out of the ordinary but no doubt over priced. Snobbish staff and owners and when poured flat sparkling wine and told "that's how we have sparkling wine Austria" by the owner, definitely don't like being accused of being stupid. We would never go there again and strongly recommend you don't either.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Top of Badhofgastein”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We are Every Christmas in Badhofgastein and Every year we go to Bertha Hof for the last day of the year! We eat very good and the atmosphere is super.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“hidden place with high quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

this restaurant is not located in the center of Bad or Badhofgastein but 100% to be recommended as one of the best places in the valley. from traditional food to modern style cuisine the restaurant welcomes you in a traditional way of being seated and atmosphere. a disadvantage is maybe you need to go by car or taxi in order to enjoy a nice bottle of wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food in town, but......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent, better then your normal Austrian cuisine, although a lot of the dishes are common. But there is also more refined food available. Service was also nice. So why only average, this because when we wanted to pay they charged us for the bread they served us at the start of dinner. No problem for us normally, but then we would like to know beforehand that we need to pay for the bread we didn't order. At first we thought is was very good service. So we would go here again, but then this way of doing business has to change. Next time the staff then would also receive the tip they deserve, but now don't get because of the way of doing business.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Finer Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a restaurant which concentrates on quality food and wine in manageable portions. The Austrian wine list is excellent and extensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertahof Restaurant also viewed

Bad Hofgastein, Salzburg Region
Bad Hofgastein, Salzburg Region
 
Bad Hofgastein, Salzburg Region
Bad Hofgastein, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Bertahof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertahof Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.