We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room ended in junior suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlosspark 1, Velden am Woerthersee 9220, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp - Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bad room ended in junior suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After checking in we received a room where our flatscreen had a crack , lamps in bathroom were missing , the WiFi did not work , the airco was noisy and the curtains closed only 50% using the domotica .
After one night I decided to complain to the management who apologized and moved us for the rest of our stay to a fantastic junior suite where beside the WiFi everything was in good order.
Beside this mishap and corrective action by the hotel staff , our stay was most enjoyable. At the breakfast , the beachclub and the restaurant , staff were very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Do first check room 202 if all defects are fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorbertO227, General Manager at Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear habrug,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to see, that you finally enjoyed your room and your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again!

Kind regards from Velden

Norbert Oblak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    27
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
94
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent location within walking distance from all you need. The recent restructuring has combined modern luxury with traditional Austrian culture, technology at its best in the room, size of the rooms beyond expectations and the rain shower in the bathroom is a must!
Plenty of helpfull and smiling managers and staff ready to hel and satisfy all your requests.
Excellent barman, great negroni!
Fine cuisine at its best with a young but talented chef.
The SPA has great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorbertO227, General Manager at Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you had a great time at Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden and enjoyed your stay. It would make us very happy to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Definitely one of the best hotels in Europe. Big rooms, all facilities , excellent breakfast, very polite and helpfull staff. best location in Seefeld. We stayed for 4 nights in May 2013 and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorbertO227, General Manager at Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mr Elimesser,
thank you for your great feedback. Is’s a pleasure for me to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your positive appraisals have been a great pleasure to me and I have already shared them with the entire team.
Thank you again for staying with us, hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Norbert Oblak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel itself is really luxery. The room we had was in modern wing and well renovated. Beautiful view to the garden, everything clean and new. Really good spa.we faced with a problem on breakfasts: a lack of fruits and some other products, the waiter can forget to bring you coffe or juice. I advice not to order dinners in advance, there are a lot of good places near the lake. But in whole we recieved very good impression.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel located on bank of the Worthersee lake. Amazing place! Schlosshotel is also one of the pearls of that site! The central part of the hotel is ancient building in a great condition. The rest of it is very modern and nice architecture. They have their own beach linked with a building by tunnel. The town is also magnificent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I booked a standard room at this Leading Hotel for one night from October 24 - 25, 2013. Rate was 201,50 Euro/Night, half-board and taxes inclusive.

I arrived with a colleague at about 7pm. A doorman or bellboy was not available at arrival, we parked the car at the entrance, stepped into the lobby and had to wait at reception until an employee noticed us and we could check in. No people in the city, no guests in the hotel - everything seemed to be quite calm and a bit deserted.

We were guided to our rooms. I got an upgrade to a next category room (no. 310). A welcome note and sweets were placed in the room and luggage transfer happened without complain. Turn down was already done.

My problems with the room: located on the attic floor, there were a few wooden beams in the room and unfortunately I hit my head promptly (and strong). Why was there no sign or better a pad on it? So I lost my happiness with this room quite soon. As a tall guest it also was difficult to use the working desk and also disputable: there was a partition in front of the bed and behind of it a small seating area, but without any lighting. This area was complete in the dark and you couldn't use it in the evening. Booking this room during holidays and not off season for one night it would be really annoying paying a few hundreds Euro/night for this.

Anyway, dinner at restaurant was fine (three tables were occupied), at the bar were no guests and no reason to stay for a drink (no music or any nice bar feeling). Breakfast was also fine and the check out process was efficient as it should be (luggage transfer, correct invoice, handover of the car).

There was foggy weather when we left Velden and like the whole stay there was a bit of sadness around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here mid-December while driving from Budapest to Venice. Got a really good winter rate and the Hotel was empty (I believe only 4 of 5 other guests). The hotel is excellent, the rooms very large, clean, comfortable and modern. Dinner was included and the restaurant was perfect. They could improve their free Wi-Fi, though, as connection is slow. Service is attentive and efficient. Even though Velden seems to be more like a summer resort, being there in the winter for a couple of days was very relaxing, especially if you use the Spa facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden

Address: Schlosspark 1, Velden am Woerthersee 9220, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Velden am Woerthersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Velden am Woerthersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Castle on Lake Woerthersee – Falkensteiner Shines in New Splendour!Welcome to the legendary Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, the premiere address on Carinthia’s Lake Woerthersee! The new Premium Collection Hotel offers a noble retreat with unique architecture that has been a popular destination for centuries. Glamorous and light-hearted, surrounded by style, tradition and modernity, the Schloss Hotel Velden receives its guests with exquisite personalised service. The former summer palace in Schönbrunn yellow offers 103 state-of-the-art rooms and suites. The design and superb furnishings underline the Falkensteiner philosophy and its commitment to guarantee every guest the utmost in personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.