We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach & good accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vongdeuan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vongdeuan Resort to your Saves list
Vongdeuan Resort
22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great beach & good accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayedhere for 3 nights and stayed in a cottage which was lovey ( set back from the sea so no sea view)The location is quiet but there are restarants along the beach but if your looking for more entertainment, shops etc then this is probably not the place for you however we loved it and with the added benefit of it running its own ferry from the pier at Rayong direct to the resort cut out time and taxi transfer, we got the 1.30pm ferry going and think it was about 11.00am going back.

The cottages were clean and a little basic but wee fine for a short break the Thai houses looked very nice but we didnt see inside one but the phots on the website didnt appear to do them justice.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice for both western and eastern choiceWe would recommend as along as your looking for a quiet break on a lovley beach.

Room Tip: The bungalows were fine for a short stay but anything longer maybe worth looking to upgrade to a T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    49
    9
    13
See reviews for
45
89
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights and had a lovely, hassle-free time. We loved our bungalow and the beach was very nice. We had some friends who stayed somewhere else come for breakfast one morning and they said it was the best they'd had on the island yet. The hotel is a few beaches down from the main area, we thought that would be an issue, but once we hiked up there, we were actually really happy that we stayed where we did. It was quieter, not as crazy and packed as the main one was. Lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, not as built up as the rest of the island and situated at the quieter end of the beach, the bar in hotel shut at 9.30 which is probably a good thing as no drunks falling about the place, although other places open till late.
I stayed in standard room which was clean and had all I needed, if I went again I would upgrade as walls paper thin between the us and room next door.
Beach was clean and water clear.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really dont Understand those customers who complained about this resort. Beautiful location. Clean and nice room. Cleaning service ok. Clean towels everyday. Very good breakfast. Friendly people at the check in and restaurant...always smiling...they ready to help U if u need. Of course if u think they should bow just because u pay...u ll be disappointed. Quite beach with facilities around (restaurant, thai massage, atm, shops). Private boat from ban phe (free at the check in, 70 bath at the check out). U must go if u need a relaxing spot!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This was my third trip to Thailand in 10 years. It has really changed a lot and developed in to a well oiled tourist industry. This island was ok, just over crowded with tourists. As a result the water, as well as the island, was very dirty. However the water temperature was great. The resort is ok, very basic which what we were looking for. So our expectations were low, and we were not disappointed at all. The service was good and the pool was well maintained. I don't think I will ever travel to Thailand again, it it too developed and expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been coming here off and on for 15 years. Last visit 5 years ago. Was a bit apprehensive on this trip because of length of time since last visit, however was not disappointed. There has been quite a bit of development along the beach but not too bad. Vong Deuan is still run by the same family and many of the excellent staff have been there since my first visit. Good for families, safe beach, excellent sand.
Accommodation has gone upon price and obviously all prices have gone up (especially when you're used to getting 70 baht to the £).
All in all would still tecommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a really nice bungalow, nice and clean. The area was fantastic, felt like we were in the middle of a rainforest. Nice and serviceminded staff. The restaurant was excellent and the staff in the Coffeebar really knew how to prepare coffee for swedes... ;) We also felt we had the best part of the beach, not so crowded or narrow. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vongdeuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongdeuan Resort

Address: 22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vongdeuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongdeuan Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vongdeuan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.