We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
east anglia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“pure relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This must be one of the quietest hotels I have ever been to. but if you were going to stay too long it might be overwhelming. The staff do everything then go another mile to keep you pampered. The villas are perfect and very spacious. We had a beach front one with its own pool. The food is good but it is pricey and the drinks are very expensive about eight times the price down the long dusty road to the village.
The road through the island is very rough and it is about 4 miles to the small village and its restaurants. Taxis can be had for 500 baht to take up about ten people each way (back of pick up - no safety!). It is a very hard walk but due to the nature of the road it is nearly as quick! I believe the only restaurants are at the village, as is a a lot of other activities so it is well worth the trip.
There is however little to do at the hotel they do have hobby cats and will organise tours snorkeling etc which are not the cheapest
There is no all day bar but the drinks from room service which covers the beach are the same price. The sunset bar has views to die for!
the free Wi fi covers the whole of the resort down to the beach. unfortunately wind conditions were not ideal when we were there which kept the sea rough and this made it quite murky and the noise in the beachfront rooms will take a couple of days getting used too with the rollers coming in all night
Very good for a relaxing after a long haul flight before going on for more acttivity elsewhere, and I would think it would be hard to beat for a honeymoon

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadeeResort, Front Office Manager at Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your candid comments about your recent stay at Paradee, The Sixth Heaven.

I am glad to read that your stay with us was relaxing and that all our staff were friendly and helpful.

Your remark price of food and beverage is one of our concerns that we have been working on with the management team to provide best food with best ingredients to our Paradee guests.

Regarding the rough road, we have been fully aware of it. Since Paradee resort is located with in a National Park, we are not allowed to conduct pavement construction by ourselves. However, there seems to be a good news concerning this rough road. For safety reason, Paradee always recommend our guest to take a speed boat to trip around the island.

I am afraid that your villa was noisy due to heavy wind. All of your valued feedback have been shared with all management with many thanks.

On behalf of the entire team I am glad that we were able to provide you with a peaceful and relaxing holiday experience.

We will be looking forward to welcome your next visit in sooner future

Best regards,
Sean CHO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    69
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
226
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

A great place to unwind and enjoy the simple things in life. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Could do with a few more choices as far as the menu is concerned.
Villas are quite private, especially the garden pool ones.
Would we go again? Possibly, but for no more than 5-6 days.
Ask for Tom who sometimes looks after the main pool area- he really knows how to look after people!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadeeResort, Front Office Manager at Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments to trip advisor about your recent stay at Paradee The Sixth Heaven. I sincerely thank you for your positive comments and compliments. Your comments have been shared with the team and are also a motivation and a reward for their daily duties.

We have well noted regarding more choices of menu, our executive chef has been informed and aware of it. Chef is also working on providing more menu choice to our guest to satisfy all of our guests' taste.

I do hope that you will indeed be able to come back and see us again soon. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Spent a couple of days here at the end of January 2011, Villas are nice but need a bit of maintanance in a few areas, rusty taps and a few grubby areas! for the price of this place it should be tops and in line with big chains like six senses (sure the prices are but they dont quite justify it). There is only one restaurant, breakfast was great however the evening menu looks fab but the western menu is a complete rip off- I ordered a prawn cocktail for about £13-14 and it consisted of a half avocado pear with prawns and sauce in the middle of it....very pricey for what it was. For mains my choice was steak and chips at a cost of approx £38.00, when it arrived it was a medium size steak and frozen oven chips with no sign of veg or salad, i had to ask for veg (cost extra) which arrived when i had nearly eaten the steak. Overall a beautiful setting but far too overpriced. Sunset bar is beautiful but beware of insects (ouch).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadeeResort, Front Office Manager at Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and to give us a feedback of your stay.

-Maintenance required (Rusty taps and a few grubby areas)
We, all management team, have inspected all of our villas to recheck all taps' condition. Since the design and concept of villa is antique as well as its color, it sometimes might look rusty. However, your comment was shared with our Housekeeping and Engineering team.

-High price of food
For this regard, our executive chef has been aware. However, Paradee always pursuits to provide the best food with the freshest ingredients. Through your valued comment, management team has tasted those mentioned food items. We are actively working on re-food costing to provide the best food with reasonable price as well as prompt food service.

It is through feedback as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our services and we thank you for sharing with us.
We hope that it will not alter your confidence in Paradee, The SIxth Heaven.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back in sooner future.

Best regards,

Sean CHO
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Billed as 5 star but it is not, a good 4 star.
However its a great location. It has two beachs so you can watch the sunrise on one and later the sunset on the other.
It is small, I would say no more than 40 villas. It is quiet. Do not come here for a action packed holiday. Its a place you come to rest and relax. It is not for teenagers, clientelle are either couples or families with small kids who are happy playing in the sand. No night life.
The beach is small but big enough for the number of guests. A few hobby cat sailing boats, the odd wind surf board and a few canoes, that about as far as the water sports go, not that I ever saw them being used.
Rooms are individual villas. Three categories, standard villas three rows back from beach, Pool Villas second row back which have a small dip pool and beach front villas which have a dip pool but you can walk right on the beach. Ignore the Pool Villas, they are not worth the extra cost as the trees cut out the sun so you cannot sunbathe by your own private pool.
Food is good but expensive. They have you trapped on an island with nowhere else to go and they charge accordingly. Take lots of sun cream as they only sell factor 50 and charge about £20 for a regular size bottle.
Conclusion: Great for a short break at the end of a long trip as we did but after about 4 days I suspect you will be bored.
Tip: watch the sun go down at the Sunset Bar lounging on the pillow linned sofas drinking a lovely cocktail.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this resort very much. The diligent effort that the hotel makes to make guests feel comfortable is unparallel to any other hotel/resort that I have stayed at (and i have stayed at many places). The rooms are pristine and the attention to detail paid is amazing (boutique handmade soaps, music to set the mood, afternoon tea delivered to your room, etc). The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The food, especially breakfast, was delicious. The exclusivity of the resort made it a very quiet and relaxing stay. The beach was beautiful. I loved this place. I think it is worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

You can read the other reviwes to get the point: this resort is a wonder, truly. They took us there from another Samet hotel by private speed boat and welcomed us with smiles. Private beach was as real wow factor, not to mention the breakfast - we were astonished by the variety and little details that made it so special. During afternoons they served ice cream and fruit kebabs. Fresh towels and ice-cold water was always available. There was this lovely and helpful pool staff paying attention to us at all times. We felt like royalty.

If it was half the price I wouldn't bother going into these details but since the price is what it is I must say this I did not expect. The resort claims "sixth heaven" experience and that's what it would've been unless... First night over there we desided to relax and have a nice warm bath in the luxurious bathtub. Well, it never filled up. What a disapointment! We talked about this to the hotel manager who following day sent someone to fix the tub but we were never offered any compensation. This has never happened in a similar price level hotel before. It felt a bit as if they didn't care. Since it could've been just a small gesture like discount for a spa treatment or such. Also at one point there were some really loud guests so we didn't get much sleep that night.

Otherwise everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The smiles of the Staff who greet you as you arrive by speedboat at the resorts' pier will be with you throughout your whole stay. This little gem tucked away on the tip of the small island of Koh Samet , impeccably kept and beautifully designed, offers all the ingredients of an idyllic experience. The warm colours of the main open air spaces , the pink and purple cascades of bouganvilla and the profusion of exoitc flowers and foliage surronding the hotel's luxury villas all create a very special atmosphere. And of course - the sea - always surrounding you - whether lying on the white powdery beach on the eastern side of the resort, resting by the infinity pool or sipping a drink on the terrace of the sunset bar as you watch the sun disappear. The whole experience is full of exquisite touches - orchids on the bed and in the bathroom, delightful afternoon tea by the beach, fruit and ice cream by the pool - all offered with a smile. Delicious food, Western and Thai, is served in the restaurant overlooking the sea, by the pool, in the bar or on your terrace. Yet again, as always, the most important ingredient is the staff - and in this lovely resort one truly feels cared for and special.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.