We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise beach location, peaceful setting, friendly service but let down by dining quality given isolation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise beach location, peaceful setting, friendly service but let down by dining quality given isolation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful James Bondesque speedboat arrival and Fantasy Island beach welcome by hotel staff and management. Then shown to fabulous beach front villa with its own pool with the waves lapping only metres away. Could not get much more perfect.

The hotel property location is not only on a very secluded and beautiful beach, but given the geography at the narrower southern end of Koh Samet island it is also directly adjacent to the opposite side of the island (5 minutes walk), where the resort has located a well equipped modern, albeit small sized gym and also a very nice bar with decking which overlooks the sunset to the west.

So far, so good. Unfortunately, the perfect setting and wonderful rooms are let down by food dining quality and service issues, which are not quite up-to-the-mark. Better standards should be expected in this part of the world, where Asian quality is meticulously high at the deluxe end of the market. There is only the single restaurant and prices are very high for the quality level provided. We felt the dishes were laced with MSG, which may be common practice in Thailand but should not be necessary and should be avoided in a luxury hotel resort. We opted therefore on a couple of nights of our stay to catch a local pickup truck taxi into the local town. However given the diabolical condition of the road was a slow, uncomfortable and, for Thailand, an expensive experience.

The comment on service standards is not a reflection of general staff friendliness or motivation, but more to do with language difficulties. On several occasions during the stay it was very hard to communicate due to poor staff English, which again for a hotel resort at this end of the luxury spectrum should not really be an issue.

In conclusion the Paradee offers a fantastic beach location and great villas but we felt a bit captive and stuck with excessively costly hotel catering, which for what was on offer was not value-for-money.

Pros
- Tranquil, idyllic beach location
- Excellent beach pool villa
- Speedboat arrival and beach welcome
- Sundowner bar experience in the evening
- Hotel management’s direct guest interaction and general staff friendliness

Cons
- Dining standards could be better at the prices charged
- Staff English and communication

Room Tip: Beach villas excellent. Pick your season. September can be wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    69
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
226
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent 3 days here with my partner and this is my second visit. The resort has had a lot of work done to it since I was here last year and it shows. the beach is quite stunning and the facilities are excellent We had a villa with private pool and it was lovely. I loved the outdoor shower and the cleanliness and attention to detail in our room. there were some delightful little touches which made our stay so pleasant. however the biggest plus point without doubt are the staff who were so wonderful , nothing was too much trouble and their happy smiling faces will stay with me forever. a wonderful,l wonderful, place to unwind. 3 days here was like two weeks at any other resort.

Room Tip: get a beach villa or garden villa with pool well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Are you looking for high class Thai hospitality?
Do you have high expectations on food quality and taste?
Is privacy a big issue to you?
If you are looking for a Resort that must meet these expectations....
PARADEE is the place you need to go!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Beach Front Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have spent one week at the Paradee and 3 weeks in Thailand. Paradee was a delight, we enjoyed every moment in this resort. We had some big expectations and it turned to be even better than expected. If we were to go back to Thailand some day we certainly will chose Paradee once again. Everything has been so perfect from the first moment when the staff took care of us before departing on the boat that took us to the resort. The service was excellent (PA is BEST) the food as well, the breakfast top notch, the setting of the resport is magic, the beach is very clean, the bungalows are so spacious and beautiful (excellent taste really). And this place is very quiet, something that means a lot to us. The bed, the pillows and sheets are of excellent quality. The pool is very charming, the view is gorgeous.
There is something else that we very much appreciated, it is the fact that mineral water was being served everywhere and for free. Then they serve fruits, home made excellent ice cream and tea as well, each day and on the beach at no extra charge.
Usually, we tend to move around a lot and explore places we travel to, but this time we had been very lazy because we enjoyed the resort so much. It is probably good because I was under the impression that there is no much to do on the Island (those who did some exploration was rather disapointed). I took a three hours walk one day and took some very nice pictures, but it was very hot. By the way, there is another very nice beach 40-50 minutes away, further up on the east side.
The only complain that I could have is concerning the cocktails in the bar area, on the other side of the Island. The taste was good but quality differed from one day to another; and I dislike it when they fill the glass with plenty of ice, even when you ask them not to!

Room Tip: Beachfront is best but not necessary, if you stay in the bungalows further away from the beach, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Location:Far end Southward island.Can reach only by Pvt hotel speedboat from mainland Jadet pier.Quiet clean privacy beach.

Exterior// Interior// Facility of resort: Many room type// Mostly Villa with Pvt pool.Veranda at front; Jacuzzi bath built in//Open air Rain shower// Day bed// Dining area at veranda. Main lobby is open air building with freeform pool connected. Spa program offer with 4 style following person zodiac element course. Sunset bar with indoor crystal counter and outdoor bar sunset view pier terrace. Garden area cover whole resort. Mini libraly Guest and business center with internet service provided. wifi for charge.
Open air dim lightless restaurant
with silverware kitchenette plate.Pyramid rice shape serve for gimmick guests.food taste so so ok.

Pros:All whole lovely privacy luxury concepts things.

Cons:Far from nightlife entertainment local people activity action area.the only way to go there is by island transfer taxi on roughly bumping moon surface narrow local road with no street lampole light.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guantánamo, Guantanamo, Cuba
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Got a unit away from others higher up and overlooking a great beach and small bay, private pool and tube and sitting area to view all, and great service, great spa and a very nice room, view from bed is great and room is big with outdoor shower to enjoy a rain shower, big and good warm water. The food was great and beach night was special and great food. Group pool was very nice also and swim up bar, has all the toys you need to use for free and scuba lessons can be made with another company up the coast, did 5 days of diving out of 10 days there, great time and snorkeling daily was great also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thanks to great trip-advisor reviews we chose Paradee for a short 4 night break in our recent trip through Thailand with our 11 year old daughter. From the time we were arrived at their offices ready to board the private boat to the lovely farewell waves from staff off the beach at the end we were treated like family and were so well looked after. We hadn't seen many reviews where people had taken children so were a little worried that it might be a little too adult based, but were delighted to find lots of other families travelling through when we arrived.

One of the most lovely pleasures for our daughter (aside from her own pool of course!) was to find the hotel had put out 3 bath robes, 3 towel sets, 3 toothbrushes - we travel a lot and we are always so surprised when a hotel doesn't recognise children as their future guests - they like to be treated as VIPs too - very clever of Paradee and much noted and loved by us all!

We also loved that they also thought of all the little details, a beautiful beach bag to borrow each day, free water cooled by your sun-lounger ready for you, to die for fruits, ice-cream and afternoon tea each day all served with a wonderful smile - all included.

We saw that quite a lot of reviews suggesting the restaurant prices were quite high - but after travelling through Thailand they were really reasonable, and shouldn't put anyone off eating the lovely array of foods on offer - of course New Zealand Lamp is going to be expensive - just think how far it will have had to travel! We would also definitely recommend the set menu on the beach - it really is magical and again Paradee were fabulous at letting us know it would be fine to share the set meal for 2 between the 3 of us - they just provided a little more rice for free!

As you will see we are very much in love with Paradee and are so glad we took lots of photos so that we can be reminded of our wonderful time here - we do hope everyone puts this as a stop in their trip!

Room Tip: We took a garden bungalow with private pool after other reviews - definitely more private than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.