We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and friendly...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Cafe

Antique Cafe
12/24 Moo. 4 | High Street, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 restaurants in Ko Samet
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: Bagels, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bkk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homey and friendly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's a cool place to get together & relax. Good place to escape from the noon heat!!!! Feels like home!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordSalmon, Owner at Antique Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are pleased you had a nice time at Antique Cafe.

Take care and hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of discovering The Antique Cafe. Everything was wonderful, from the art on the walls, the tunes on the stereo, the AMAZING FOOD, lovely owners and two great dogs.
It quickly became my favourite place on the island to kick - back, relax and watch the world go by.
I was made to feel really welcome and you can tell how much they love what they're doing. I wish them all the best and will definitely be back.
So pop in for a bite to eat, a drink and a good chat. I can't recommend the place highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordSalmon, Owner at Antique Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Another great review thanks very much.
We are delighted you felt relaxed at Antique Cafe, that is exactly what we are aiming for.

We both hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Thailand and we look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Antiques and Art in a cafe on Ko Samet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

More than pleasantly surprised with this cafe on Ko Samet, not only did I have the most perfect coffee I have had for a long time but also the cafe is full of Asian Antiques. I enjoyed the surroundings very much, antique cafe has amulets , original oil paintings and buddhas from
Thailand, Burma, Laos and Cambodia. Just the best place to buy something special as a reminder of your holiday or just for investment....the amulets from all over Thailand are sold at a price that is as good as I have seen in my travels, i came away very happy with my eggs benedict and cafe latte plus a little amulet in an old case and it was all an absolute bargain and pleasure....
Totally recommend this cafe on Samet.......fantastic afternoon with great hosts

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordSalmon, Owner at Antique Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review, we are glad you had a nice time here.
I am pleased that you like you amulet, it is a very nice one.
We hope to see you again at Antique Cafe.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Antique Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you're wanting to experience that island lifestyle, Antique Cafe is definitely a place to stop. A relaxed morden cafe in the middle of High Street that serves great food at a great price, and what's best, Beer Lao at 90 Baht a bottle, the greatest South East Asian beer! And the friendly and very helpful owners are just the icing on the cake at this great little find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordSalmon, Owner at Antique Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for leaving a great review and thanks for coming.

On my next trip to Vientiane I will be returning with Dark BeerLao.

We hope your folks enjoyed their time on Koh Samed, sorry about the rain........

Hope to see you again
Cheers Guys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaeng, Rayong, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food made by even better people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've been in Thailand for a year now, eating square, pre-sliced, 711 "bread" and drinking coffee that is 10% instant Nescafe and 90% sweetened condensed milk. But finally, twelve months later, I know exactly where to find the real stuff: Antique Cafe. Their bread is wonderful, and it's baked fresh by the lovely owner on the premises. She even makes English muffins, for an Eggs Benedict that is so good it deserves its own review. If you're looking for good food and real coffee, look no further! And if you want a place to relax, people-watch, talk to a charming and funny couple, and play a little Scrabble, this is it. Antique Cafe is my favorite place to spend a morning (or afternoon, or both) on Koh Samet!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordSalmon, Manager at Antique Cafe, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Bing Bong

Thanks for the great review, it is very much appreciated.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Cafe also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Antique Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.