We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Ko Samet
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Went for a weekend out of Bankok (29-06-2013). Absolutely loved this place. Very relaxing, very clean. Our cottage suite had an indoor shower and an outdoor covered shower, private balcony with beach view. It was a beautiful room with a luxury tropical theme. The staff are wonderful. They try very hard to make everything perfect. The staff always have a smile and pleasant greeting, which was very appreciated. The spa was also a nice treat. Everything is comparable to western prices (drinks, food, etc.) 250-350 Baht for mixed drinks. The best part was it was only a 2 and a half hour drive by mini-van taxi from Bankok. Downsides: the other side of the island is a state park, but where the fees go I have no idea. The road was one pothole after another with trash and shanties the whole way to the little port town. So make sure you go to the Le Vimarn speedboat launch just a few blocks away from the larger dock. We made the mistake of taking the island ferry; crowded boat with fish and other island stock. Smelly, rough ride. The Le Vimarn speed boat is complimentary... Take the speedboat not the ferry! Last negative point was that the Le Vimarn Resort side of the island was fairly windy the three days we were there. Could be just the season? Anyway, loved, loved, loved this place. We would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    88
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
43
102
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munchendorf, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's the best of the hotels in the bay and due to it's size the staff has plenty of time to treat you in a very personal way. Depending on the tide at your arrival a landing stage is pushed into the water by a tractor to allow you to reach the land with dry feet. At the receiption you get a welcome drink while your luggage is unloaded. The beach is clean, the sun beds and covers in good condition which is also valid for the garden, the pool area and and the villas. You reach the small Thai style Villas via wooden pedestrian bridges running through the garden. The houses are well positioned on the hill and far away from each other so that you can relax and enjoy the freedom of Ko Samet. The rooms are well equiped with every comfort, a large good quality canopy bed, a clean bath and a small terrace.
The Italien restaurant at the lobby area is also serving breakfast. In the Thai restaurant few meters down the beach you have the choice to enjoy the excellent food indoor with aircon or outside sorrounded by torches and an open fire place. A very romantic experience which I can really recommend. Another must do is to have a cocktail at the bar during sunset.
The perfect hideaway for couples, but nothing for party people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cixi, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'd stay from Jun18-22 2013 and the time there was very well spent and very relaxing. The staff in there will do anything for you to feel comfortable, the food and drinks excellent. try the pizza in the "O" restaurant is one of the best I ever tasted.
Beach is a very nice place and they give you towels so you can relax under the palm tree.
People and premises the very best.

:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 10 days here already and got another 5 days left , so if anyone needs any info while we are still here feel free.
Resort is in more of a small bay consisting of two other hotels( Lima coco ) which is cheaper for drinks 150-180 bahts for a cocktail rather than paying 235 bahts at the le vimarn and the food is cheaper at the Lima coco too but there is no way I would use there accommodation it's like butlins in the 70's. the other hotel is the Ao Prao which is part of the samed hotel chain, looks nice we have eaten at there restaurant twice ( breeze ) you can also put ur bill to ur room from there.i had a wonderful birthday meal there , the staff came out with a cake and sang happy birthday too :-)
Everyone has said that the spa is over priced , it's true even when they give you 20% off. There are ladies down by the Ao Prao who give a massage.
Breakfast is more than adequate , they will cook any eggs for you. fruit , pastries and much more , as for the coffee it's the best I have ever drank ( need to find out what the coffee is !).
Rooms are lovely , personally I wouldn't pay the extra to have the novelty of a bath outside ,plus there is more chance of more Mosquitos around you at night .we thought there was a storage issue in the room until I noticed the two big drawers under the day bed. I needed more hangers which were brought to the room in a flash .
The beach is lovely the sand is soft , white and clean , there where comments about rubbish , you get the odd bit brought in by the tide but we have watched staff pick it up every day .but it's the best beach on the island and wonderful to watch the sun set.
Getting into the main town costs 200 bahts ( back of a green truck, 10 mins away ) yes it is bumpy but very funny . Some more massage parlours 2 seven11's , the beach is nice too with lots of beach bars with comfy cushions to sit on the beach plus side its cheaper too.
Top tip , if you don't sleep too good bring earplugs ( or even ask for a set on the plane ) it's not just for the noise of the aircon but the frogs and crickets , they make a racket !!.
Think that covers most of it. Would I come back ..... Deffinatly ,even though its a little remote and people said 2weeks you will be bored obviously haven't been to a deserted island like the Maldives or needed to get away from everything and chill.

Room Tip: Ask for room 705 , it's placed perfectly . Bring ear plugs. Oh and if you like a beer go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were staying in this hotel and i would to thanks all the staff of the desk. They did all their best for us. Thanks a lot.. It was an excellent moment in this Le Virmarn and Spa, a nice and beautiful place to relax three or four days. The beach is idyllic and i ll very please to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent two days here recently with my wife and daughter and I'd happily choose Le Vimarn again.

Unfortunately we arrived at the pier after the speedboat had already left and the next one was a couple of hours later. We opted for a private hire at 2000 Baht for the ten or so minute trip over to the island. Find out the boat times to avoid having to do as we did.

We were met at the pier on the island and our bags transfered to reception by the staff. Our room 905 was really nice with a good balcony with an outside bathtub and a nice view. Everything in the room was well appointed but we did have a problem with the AC and the DVD Player. As the temperature rose during the day so did the temperature in the room and the AC appeared to not be able to cool the room. It got up to 28 in the room and although maintenance staff looked at it it wasn't repaired. They also looked at the DVD player which kept stopping and resetting the Disc back to the beginning. The DVD was no big problem really as my daughter had her portable player but the staff member commented that they do have problems with the machines. Maybe they should be updated if that's the case. The AC was more of an issue and the only reason why I wouldn't award this place with a 5 star rating. 27 or 28 degress in the room wasn't acceptable and although we made further calls to reception it wasn't dealt with. I mentioned this in the questionnaire given to us before checking out and to be fair I did receive an email back from the excellent member of staff, Jubjib. My young daughter Karen took an instant shine to her and she was great in every dealing we had with her and is a real asset to the hotel.

Breakfast was really nice and there was a good choice of options available. We also had lunch a couple of times at the Thai restaurant Buzz and the food there was also really tasty and the service was great also.

The pool area and the grounds are very attractive and you certainly get the feeling that you are some special. Sitting on the beach out front to have a happy hour cocktail in the evening really brought home how fotunate we were to be somewhere so lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi,Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I, my wife and both of my sons stayed 2 nights (19-21 Aprl 2013) here. We started our journey from Ban Phe, a small seaside village around fifteen minutes away from Rayong. We parked our car at Samed resort office at Seri Port. We were welcomed by several nice receptionists at the office, who managed our luggages and transported us to the speed boat. It takes just around 12-14 minutes from the port to Le vimarn. While we were disembarking from the boat. A group of hotel staff lined up to welcome us. It took just a few minutes to register and get the room.
We booked for two spa villas. My wife loved them at first sight. The interior design was classy. We had every thing we needed. The small lovely bathtub at the balcony outside even made us more impress.
The hotel is located at left upper part of Samed island, where there is small beautiful beach of Ao Phrao. There are not so many people here when comparing to the right side of the island, where there are many resorts in lower prices. My friends told me that if you want to see people, to attend parties, go to the right (eastern) side. But if you want a quiet area where there are sun,sand, sea and good food, then go to the left(western) side.
Anyway, please be informed that things here are expensive. But for me, it worths it.

Room Tip: I stayed in the old wing of spa villa. There is a new wing where every thing is new, but the jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Address: 40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa is a unique tropical Boutique Resort for an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Clustered on the gentle slope of a hilly cove overlooking a quiet bay beach is your stylish retreat from the world. Supremely comfortable individual cottages all with balconies, some with your own outdoor spa that look down onto a peaceful curved bay of sparkling sea and fine sand. The cottage cluster centers around a superb infinity pool, a world class spa and a restaurant offering a most interesting and comprehensive menu.Le Vimarn attracts sophisticated and discriminating international guests year after year. A dream location that will last in your memory for a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vimarn Cottages Hotel Koh Samet
Le Vimarn Cottages And Spa
Le Vimarn Hotel
Le Vimarn Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.