We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern small hotel, with minor flaws.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Lune Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Lune Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Lune Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   62 Moo 4, Ao Wongduan | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice modern small hotel, with minor flaws.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent five nights at Lalune, really enjoyed it. I'll break it down: room is clean and comfortable, very modern, though the bathrooms are a bit tight and the shower leaves a little to be desired. It is like living in Hitchcock's "Rear Window," as you can see everyone and they see you - close your curtains. TV has ten channels, mostly news or Thai, breakfast is quite basic but okay, wifi is almost non-existent. But the beach is great, the staff are quiet but friendly, and they have the cheapest "SINGHA BIG" on the beach. The pool is great for a cool down or a great alternative to the Gulf. This I will say: we never ate dinner there. Doesn't seem like anyone does. They should stick to the drinks, not the food. Seahorse 2 was our favorite for food, Blue Sky the best place for sunset drinks.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be a bit better, not as many people outside your room as the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a new and modern addition on Ao Wongduan and nicely designed around the pool. The rooms were a lot more basic than we thought but comfortable all the same. The decor is quite modern and it was great to have a spacious balcony overlooking the pool. My only complaint with the design is the fact you can see into everyone's room. This is not a hotel for people who like privacy unless you never open the curtains.
The bathrooms were a little pokey and the shower was hit and miss but my biggest complaint with the rooms was the lack of toiletries provided. The shower gel and shampoo were never replaced and the soap was down to a stub by day 5.
Breakfast was the biggest let down. Some days there would be a full buffet and others there would be a card with a choice of eggs and a basic buffet. The food was not great but the biggest issue was having to share your breakfast with swarms of flies.. All over the food !! This needs to be addressed as this was not the case anywhere else we ate and was frankly quite disgusting.
The restaurant/bar closed abruptly at 9pm and they start packing up the tables around you making you feel a bit uncomfortable and rushed. This ONLY seems to happen at this hotel.. Everywhere else remains open. We only had a drink at the hotel once and the order was wrong as they gave us the most expensive beer instead of the one we wanted. The waiter apologised and said it would be at the same price as the one ordered but when it came to paying they charged us the higher price and was not happy when we refused to pay it! On top of this we were being rushed to finish up so they can pack up. We then went next door for a more welcome beer.
Wifi was hit and miss but the free wifi in the baywatch bar next door was fine.
Lastly we seemed to pick a week when it was high tide all day which was good in the fact you can step out of the hotel directly into the sea but on the other hand there was no beach!! This was only the case in the area directly by the hotel as a little further either side there was a small bit of dry beach. Obviously this is not the hotels fault but there are other hotels on ko Samet that will always have a bit of beach, regardless of high tide.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came down from Bangkok and took the ferry followed by Taxi van. I agree with what other reviewers have said about the road; it was pretty much non-existent, so we took the speedboat service back. This is what I recommend to fellow travellers; it is more expensive but at THB 750 / 2 people, it should not break the bank.
The hotel itself is nice; clean, modern rooms with satellite TV (one English/Russian channel, but ok!). Breakfast good with omelettes made to order, not really a wide selection though but decent and the quality of the omelette is enough to make a good breakfast. The hotel is right on the beach; in fact staying in Koh Samed means just that; a holiday on the beach - not much else to do apart from speedboat excursions, paragliding, banana boat sailing or just hanging around the beach. There is enough to do on that stretch of land, but I mention it so you can be prepared if that is not what you expected.
I thought; good hotel, good service, good location - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The road to the hotel is not very present,do consider a speed boat, if not, do check their big boat schedule which goes directly to the resort. Very good location if u don't like noisy activity at night, good restaurant are all in front of the beach,mostly Thai food & grill. Nice swimming pool, good breakfast as its included, poor English speaking staff but if u try hard enough,things will solve up, no phone in the room, so if you need some shampoo,you have to walk to the reception to tell them, only 2 flat pillow, for 2 of us, we ask for 2 more but they forget, only got it the next day. The reception close very early, everything is dark in the resort after 8on,meaning if u need anything after 8pm,no one is there for u but only a few kids sleep at the reception sofa using wiring from the hotel. Its far away from the main beach, so if u like nightlife, this is not a good place. Be careful while walking in the room, my leg was hurt 2 times by the bed edges & its still hurt now after a week. Not a good bed design. The housekeeping didn't do a good job on cleaning the sand because everytime after I am back after the cleaning, I can feel the sand on my feet while walking in the room. A good resort for a short trip.Me & my girlfriend are having a good time on the beach. Very good far ocean view as we were given a high floor seaview room. Happy holiday, cheers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silchar, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed with my wife in July 2013. From Bangkok Subarnabhumi Airport took a cab ( pre booked through net -Thaicalltaxi, cost 2000 Baht ,very good service) to Ban Phe pier -2hour drive.From there 40 min.boat trip by slow boat ( 140 Baht 2way fare) to Ao Wongduan Beach-no jetty there,you have to walk few yards through water to the clean white sandy beach and enter the Hotel lobby at Beachfront.Warm reception at check in. Rooms arranged around a nice swimming pool with large wall to wall windows and open Balcony.Good privacy, clean and fresh looking interiors and very good Breakfast.Hotel staff excellent and always smiling.Many Good seafood restuarants and Bars next door and We felt no need to go to other beaches or explore the main road going through the middle of the Island.And the place is not crowded. A very relaxing Holiday for us.Nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: If you are a pool lover get a ground floor room with direct access from balcony. 1st or 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lüdenscheid
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went there in late June 2013.

Besides the sandy floor in the room, the hotel is very clean. Breakfast is international and included. Didn't eat there for dinner, but the food looked nice. Beach is clean and beautiful, not too busy. There is a great bar/restaurant if you walk out to the beach and go 20 meters to left. If your boat doesn't land in the bay of the hotel it will be a challenge to find it, but manageable.
If you look for party, you will not find it at that beach. There are taxis available to party locations for about 150-200 THB.

Definitely good value for money!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved it!! Its brand new hotel, rooms even smell as new. Spotless clean. Flat screen tv. Comfy beds, nicely working air con. Lovely cosy swimming pool. Hotel is situated just by the beach so you can enjoy the view when you have a breakfast or some drink at the evening. In my opinion its situated in the "posh" part of the island. The only issue we had was lack of internet. It shows you are connected but it never worked. If they can sort it out it would easily be 4* hotel. There is also this nice chatty boy from Philipines (i forgot his name). He was very helpfull! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Lune Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lune Beach Resort

Address: 62 Moo 4, Ao Wongduan | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Lune Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Lune Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lune Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.