We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newbuilt, Clean, Well situated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Rak Samed Hotel

Ban Rak Samed Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ban Rak Samed Hotel to your Saves list
Ban Rak Samed Hotel
35/4 M.4 Soi next to Koh Samet's Health Promoting Hospital T.Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Newbuilt, Clean, Well situated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This newbuilt place is situated 250 m. From the ferry from Ban Phe, which takes 35 min., and 250 or 300m from The most famous beach at Koh Samet....Sai Kheo Beach. On the main street of Koh Samet next to the Police Station. 11 very nice rooms, very well designed. All rooms have air.con, tv,;
And own bathroom. Outside the room a corridor with tables and chair, facinng the outside area and catching the wind! This area is decorated with fresh growing plants and flowers. The rooms on top floor, the D Floor have a terrass of about 45 sq.m. with flower and trees facing the sea and always a beautiful wind from the sea. Prices is very o.k. to be at very centre and at the beach of the island. We were in the middle of everything. Beautil high class sea.food buffet on the beach every night. Disco with live music at Ploy entertainment on the beach and many possibilities to boat excursions every day. PERFECT!! PERFECT!!

Room Tip: The beach hotels charge 2 until 3 times more for half the quality you get at a place like BAN RAK S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was looking forward to some days on the beach between travels in-lands....
The island was really nice - but with a lot of tourists - and had a lot of good beaches.

The hostel was really basic.. It was clean, the A/C was great and the rooms were big.
I had a few problems, however, with the staff..

It was hard to get in touch with the staff. They were rarely at the reception desk, so everytime we had to get in touch with them, we had to call from our own cell phone..
Our room did not get cleaned a single time during our 3-nights visit. Usually i don't have a big problem with this, but when you are at a beach location i tends to get very sandy in the room - a little annoying.

The place is close to the beach and the port though, so if you are looking for a few days on an island close to Bangkok, you can easily pick this place - I would however go for some of the other guesthouses, that you have to book off-line, when you arrive at the island..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was a lttle afraid before reading reviews but I was really surprised, it is new, it is quiet and it is clean.

Prices is ok, you can deal directly also, during the weekend is more expensive and after 3 days they give you a discount if you dela there. As you are outside of the entree to the beach you do not pay the fee that you pay as foreigner. I am not against a fee to maintain a natural park ... but believe me they do not invest the money there ...

Some people write that it is 15 minutes to the beach and sorry maybe I am faster but is just 5 minutes...

At the reception usually there is not people but there is a cell number and the family is always around .. just ask in front.

I chose the place as it was new and the other places on the each in general are overpriced and not so clean.

You can take a ATV and go around the island, avoid to rent a motorbikes if you want to go around the island ... the holes on the road are so big that you bike can go inside ...

You have to deal for the bikes, better in the town...

When you arrive if you do not hvae plety of luggage you can go on foot it is really near

Room Tip: Ask for a room for Ac in the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After staying in a bungalow on the beach which cost a fortune and was frankly terrible, we went looking for a new hotel and tried the side streets in the village and this is where we found this little gem!

The hotel is clearly brand new as some of the rooms still have plastic on the mattresses (the unused rooms of course at this point), and they really have done a fantastic job of it. The rooms are bright and airy with windows everywhere but excellent blinds for privacy. There's also a balcony and patio style doors for the front door and balcony door (whether this is a bonus or not is up to personal preferance. I liked it but my partner not so much).

The rooms are sparkling clean with a western style bathroom which is fantastic as you rarely will find that on this island. There's also a huge fridge and lcd tv (the only thing i would say is that there aren't any english speaking channels on the tv which they could do with adding at some point)
The best thing about it is that for all of this, the price is so low! You can have a fan or air con room and the price is loads cheaper than the other alternatives on the beach which offer you nothing for an expensive price.
The lady at reception helped us with laundry and everything too so we brought more people to the hotel.

The location is fine but is not on the beach (only 300 metres from the beach though), however it's down a side road that you have to find but dont worry as they have an A board on the main road walking down. The side road is nice and quiet but if its rained it may flood a little (but they put a sandbag walkway there for you when it floods).

Cant recommend this hotel enough if you are staying on Koh Samet on a budget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ban Rak Samed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Rak Samed Hotel

Address: 35/4 M.4 Soi next to Koh Samet's Health Promoting Hospital T.Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ban Rak Samed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Rak Samed Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.