We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I was expecting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking holiday resort

Viking holiday resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking holiday resort
Save
You added Viking holiday resort to your Saves list
Ao Sang Tien, Ko Samet, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Pattaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Last minute booking on a thai holiday weekend meant literally every hotel room on the island was booked, and we stayed here because we couldn't find anywhere else. Tripadvisor reviews were awful, but as it turned out, it's not that bad, especially if you can get a room for a cheap price, I'd say they are worth about 1400 baht. The beach is lovely, with rock pools to poke about in, a bit different from the usual. Very laid back, by no means luxurious, only 5 or 6 resorts spread out along the beach but I liked it, and vongdeuan is a short walk away if you want more choice. Rooms are clean if tired, food was fine, very good service, hotel has a artificial beach area which is handy when the tide is in. Overall, I thought it was a good 3 and a half stars worth, just don't expect anything more than a nice but basic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

stayed 3 nights at 3000 baht a night with my thai wife and 2 children,she was not happy with the room,dirty,staff couldnt understand her and she is thai,food very expensive,bar shut at 9.the shower you had to run around in to get wet it was that slow.the balcony banister was loose,so dangerous for the children.very dissapointed.dont bother,go next door to the ban thai sangtian resort,better cheaper rooms.the only plus about it was the sea, beach,even though small and the sun.

Room Tip: look around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayutthaya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed one night and the staff and most things seemed nice at first glance.. BUT the room way over priced and not that clean for 2500 Baht. 2nd We had a problem with are free breakfast included.. Very selective!! and limited on what we could order or drink, cheap food if you ask me . 3rd and WORST of all!! WE WERE STOLEN FROM!! 1000 Baht from my bag as well as 1000 Baht my friends bag. 2000 Baht was stolen all togethert and nothing was done about it.. Even after speaking with the manager about what happened, nothing was done! Very poor staff willing to steal when they clean your rooms..Go next door to Talay Guest House for a real beach bungalow and 1000 Bhat cheaper!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Arriving at the pre-booked affair, disappointment is the first word that springs to my mind. Don't these people have any decency, i.e. can they throw their garbage just a LITTLE further then their front door ?
Beach bungalow ? Excuse me. A bungalow just next to the staff toilets. Beach, you said ? A concrete affair.
Now, if at least the staff would be pleasant ...
Go elsewhere, there are plenty of options.

Room Tip: Avoid the place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking holiday resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking holiday resort

Address: Ao Sang Tien, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking holiday resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.