We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, family friendly and best beach in Samet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banthaisangthain Resort

Banthaisangthain Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Banthaisangthain Resort to your Saves list
Banthaisangthain Resort
Ao Sangthain, Phe Ko Samed, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, family friendly and best beach in Samet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of three who stayed here nine nights. This was just after the oil leak (on the other side of the island though), so we could see that there were fewer tourists on the island than normal. As for the oil leak... there are no signs of that. The beaches are beautiful, sea is good and we had a lot of spectacular seafood. So no worries - just go!
Ok, now the resort. We had a huge apartment, ditto bathroom and two balconies. Friendly and helpful staff, that will welcome any request - just ask.
The resort doesn't provide breakfast but there are plenty restaurants nearby that do. There's a beautiful private beach at the resort that we pretty much had all to ourselves (it might not be like that in high season). We rented an ATV a couple of days and explored the island and can say that this resort has the best beach.
This is a rather quiet area so come here to relax and recharge your batteries. Then take a ATV, motorbike, pickup taxi... if you want to go to the more busy villages/beaches. My wife took the padi open water course in Ao Phai and was very happy with the instructor (Udi).
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location is excellent if you prefer a quieter spot, but there are enough small bars and restaurants within a short walking distance to make this a comfortable stay.

Rooms however are a bit small and becoming dated with some minor maintenance issues. We stayed in the Deluxe Room and expected a bit more for the premium paid.

WiFi signal was weak and difficult to connect, so avoid if this could be an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived by speed boat in the evening 9pm (dont be put off by the Ferry times for 2200 Baht we had a private speed boat take us direct to the Hotel beach) staff met us on the beach and carried our bags to the rooms.

Hotel is in a beautiful area away from the busy and noise night scene, and rooms are comfortable. Dont come here for luxuries, come for peace, quiet and a beautiful and romantic setting. The hotel does not offer food, and the internet was not operational during our visit however next to the hotel, 10 metres from the door of our units is a restaurant by the beach which offered food from breakfast to dinner as well as drinks served on the hotel beach and free wifi.

Swimming pool is the sea and right on the door step. There are a number of restaurants within an easy walk along the beach or there is the option of a taxi to the busier night life. However be warned the roads are very very rough and taxi is the back of a pick up, expensive at 700 baht return and you will understand when you set off!

Had a great time and a hotel I will be returning too, great and safe bathing for children

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

50 meters from the beach, 100 meters from the massage place and delicious Thai food cafe. Quiet and simple place. Free Wi Fi. Cleaning the rooms and changing the towels upon request. Rooms for 3 persons available. Many other cafes around and small shop. You can go to the neighbor beach, 10 min of walking. Speedboat going to the main land for 250 baht. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banthaisangthain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthaisangthain Resort

Address: Ao Sangthain, Phe Ko Samed, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Banthaisangthain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banthaisangthain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.