We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, beautiful food and generous portions!! Fantastic!! Would recommend to everyone!! Wonderful staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Main Street | across from medical clinic and police station, Ko Samet, Thailand
+66 84 383 4917
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Ko Samet
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Home-cooked food. " It's all about sauce".
1 review
“Warm welcome, beautiful food and generous portions!! Fantastic!! Would recommend to everyone!! Wonderful staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I was drawn in by the 'homemade chocolate brownie' advertised outfront. The warm, inviting look of the red ginger was complimented by the the wonderful staff and owner, Roger. I had the pork tenderloin and oh my god I did not expect it to be soooo good!! Pork was cooked to perfection and super soft and lean, the mash was gorgeous and the side brocolli salad on the side was just perfect. The size was way more than I thought I could manage, but the taste made me clean the plate!! I even pushed myself for a desesrt...helped by a beer interlude and wicked music!! the brownie was without doubt the best i'd ever had!! Made fresh that day along with the icecream!!! Utter heaven!! I was back the following day...and feel I made a great friend in Roger the Ower and Ollie, his helper and friend!! if I knew that had rooms too I would have stayed here for sure...for a month at least!! I guess you really do get what you pay for here...wonder food!!! wonderful people!!! I WILL be back red ginger!!! :):)xx love lydia from bristol

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    34
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Banana smoothie 85b very good,
Ordered curry carrot soup but the owner came over and told me the chef had overdone the prep with cocunut milk and only had one soup left and said he wouldn't serve it as not right, I appreciated his honesty, and he suggested the crab bisque 180b, nice big bowl and nice freshly made.
Ribs ordered were a very large portion with plenty of BBQ sauce, mash and vegetables,
Very nice and took some finishing off,
Thai food was also nice and good sized portions from others who dined with me.
Very good value and decent food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai and Western food in laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The place is located close to the entrance to natural park, alongside of the main road, few hundred meters from the beach.

Our posse of six ppl came to the restaurant without a booking a bit after eight o'clock in the evening, and got seated after half an hour waiting, which was quickly spent in a neighbour bar.

We chose both Western as well as Thai foods - all the portions are big and Western meals come with tasty side garnish. Thai meals were delicious, too - and they managed to cook them spicy if you wished (in many places they come without any spices if you ask for medium-spicy but here they balanced it very well). For sure running a restaurant is not a simple task especially when you're occupied in the kitchen (like Roger is), but overall service was excellent in this place compared to many other.

I sincerely recommed to pay a visit in this place if staying in Koh Samed - you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Really good food, nice atmosphere, best food we had on our trip. The rips where amazing, but so where the salads and all the other western dishes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice atmosphere and great food and all the children loved their spare ribs (large portion) and all of us enjoyed the food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.