We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position on Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vimarn Samed Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vimarn Samed Resort to your Saves list
Vimarn Samed Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13/18 Moo 4 A.Meung Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely position on Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This could be a lovely hotel the room was comfortable but furnishings now a little tired. The room and balcony needs some TLC restaurant furniture also needs painting or tidying. Breakfast is ok but there is limited choice.There are no safes in room or safety deposit box at reception either which is a minus too. However the view from our balcony was amazing, the beach was lovely and the sea very warm.

Room Tip: A sea view room is the best. No twin rooms so if you need 2 beds you have to book duplex bungalow, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booked superior room as needed twinbeds. The room clean and looed out to sea. Duplex means up steep ladder with matress on floor. Duplex floor had its own air conditioning which was new and effective. Light switch at opposite end to bed.
Balcony furnirure and dining furniture in need of some T.L.C. No safes in room or at reception.
Staff will transport luggage across sand to taxi rank. Breakfast average.
Sun loungers in need of cushions but pleasant to sit on jetty and look out to sea.
Maid service late in day. Very hard matresses.

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

In spite of sending an e-mail to arrange transfers from Bangkok we got no response and it is not exactly easy to get there. While other hotels on this beach have their own ferries this place gave us no help or information about getting there. The last bit involves a long and arduous trek with luggage which is pretty difficult as it involves trying to drag your baggage through loose dry sand. The staff though helpful when goaded is not forthcoming. A tad overpriced for what they offer. We had what they call superior rooms, and still wonder what they were superior to?
We must however say that in spite of all this we had a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: If you stay here make sure you get the sea facing bungalows. Though overpriced they are the only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed in superior sea view building for 2 nights, glad with this decision as our room is at the end of the building, top floor with a great sea view (from bed and balcony) and quite private. Hard mattress but got extra padding on the top for better sleep. Shower area is very awkward (opposite sink with no curtain). Something wrong with tap as water just dribbled out (no point to complain as don't think they can fix it soon enough and we didn't wanna move to another room).
Room was fairly clean. There were a line of ant parading near the front door searching for food in the room.
Room decor still looks fairly new, plenty of lighting options.
Wi-fi signal ok in some areas, in our room was weak and disappeared often.

Service really needs to improve. On our floor there was only one small clothes hanger provided and it was already taken. I walked down myself to the reception area where most of their staff were gathering there in preparation to close the restaurant for the day as there was no more customers. The answer was there is only one hanger on the floor and nowhere else, the owner did not buy enough for every room. Next morning I noticed that there were plenty provided individually at their superior twin house rooms (room cost only $5-$10 more and not very private) which were also vacant overnight! They could not be bother!
Breakfast (buffet) is served till 9.30 but you may find there is not much left even if you come down at 9am as their staff may start to collect some of the foods even though there are still some guests that arrived earlier hanging around and enjoying their breakfast.(During our stay, at least half of the resort’s rooms were occupied.) When we asked, one of the staff gave a signal to the other staff to bring the food back.
We had dinner with them on our first night. A few dishes were not available. Apparently their restaurant does not get many customers (I found out the reason myself eventually) so don’t expect to order any freshly caught seafood.
One of our dishes was spicy and sour steamed squid, pretty disappointed as it was not cooked all the way through, needed to ask to get it cooked more. When it came back, it looked cooked but the accompaniments were now dry and overcooked, and we were even more surprised when we found a dead insect on the last piece of squid! We paid and let the in-charge staff member know before we left. His sudden excuse after a quick examination was that it was a mosquito and it could have happened at the table but absolutely not from the kitchen as it was not a fly…!
By the way, I also speak Thai so communication with their staff was not a problem.
Overall, it is ok to stay there for a couple of days and don’t expect much of their service and food. There are many nearby resorts and restaurants along the beach that you can also try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

After a full day of travel with an overnight through Bangkok, we just wanted to relax on the beach and didn't expect much of this hotel. Though the trip to this beach by truck is easy from the ferry, the 500m walk with bags across the beach is a bit arduous. But after all that, Vimarn Samed was more than a pleasant surprise. The private Thai style bungalow with a 'garden view' was exotic, clean and simple with a partial view of the water. A full Thai and western breakfast was included and had an incredibly impressive selection. The rear pier was a great vantage point at dawn and the rocky end of shore made us feel as if we were on our own private resort even though we were 2 minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Booked 3 nights with Vimarn and confirmed via phone. 2 nights before we arrived, the hotel told us we would have to switch rooms because another couple wanted to extend their stay. They were also extremely misleading with regards to transportation from the mainland. We gave them our estimated time of arrival and were told it would be 300-350 bhat per person for a speedboat. When we arrived that night and called the hotel from the mainland, the price suddenly jumped to 2000 bhat. Luckily, we were able to split the ride with another couple (this was not a translation error - my partner speaks Thai).

The resort itself is situated on a very beautiful rocky point with great views of the nearby beach. Our room was clean but the bed was ridiculously uncomfortable. The free breakfast was quite bland, even by Koh Samed standards.

The following morning, when we were about to leave for the day, we asked the management about having to switch rooms. They told my partner that we no longer had to leave. Unfortunately, when I returned several hours later, that story had changed and they demanded we move our things immediately. We packed our bags and found another resort that was less expensive, had nicer staff, and a better breakfast.

Too bad. I would be willing to forgive the uncomfortable bed but the service was very poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at this place in last 3 years. The reason I stay here is due to its location. Resorts sits on rocky shore at the end of the almost half circle shaped Wongdian Beach – because of which you get good view of the ocean as well as the beach. This beach probably has the finest white sand of any of the beach I have ever been to. To get to the beach swim area is not even 50 yards away – which would be about same for any other resorts that sits right on the beach as well – so don’t understand other reviewers gripe about the walk. Rooms are nice. Service is adequate. Beds are little firmer than what you find in western hotel chains – but it is a good 8 -10 inch thick mattress and is quite doable. Breakfast is so so – but is complementary so I don’t expect much. By the way finding fresh brewed coffee in most of the resorts in Asia (unless it is major five star resort) is nil – so this place is no different. I like the rocky edges and huge wooden deck over it on this resort. People from the beach can’t get here because they have to pass through the resort. Hence most of the time you have whole 100 yards or so of the rocky shore to yourself to chill out at. The restaurant location is equally nice – over looking the beach/cove. Food is not bad – I had one of the best scallops there on my last trip. But please keep in mind that does not guarantee that other items and every other day are equally good. Rooms are bit pricey – but here is the deal in Koh Samed - it is famous for Thai people – one of the closest pristine islands from Bangkok - hence tends to be busier throughout the year. There are lots of mom n pop lodges for 700-1000 Baht range but you get what you pay for. The ones that are slightly upscale can then get away with charging THB 3000 + per night because of lack of competition unlike Phuket and Samui. That has been my observation. So I give this place a B for the location and the view and B- for everything else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vimarn Samed Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vimarn Samed Resort

Address: 13/18 Moo 4 A.Meung Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vimarn Samed Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vimarn Samed Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vimarn Samed Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.