We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonsak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tonsak Resort to your Saves list
Tonsak Resort
Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Derby, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Tonsak resort during our stay on Koh Samet and it was the perfect island retreat. The resort itself is set in tropical gardens so you really get an authentic tropical beach feel. It is located on Saekew beach and only in a few minutes walk along the white sand you will find beach restaurants with fire shows and authentic Thai cuisine.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at Tonsak on Sai Kaew, the best beach in Koh Samet. We were slightly disappointed as we entered but that was just momentary. The beach is white, the breakfast is fantastic and the coconut smoothie is the best ever. The rooms could be less suffocating, but they are better than a lot of resorts around this place. For dinner, you could just stroll down the lovely beach at night and pick from any of the good restaurants serving excellent Thai food. Rent a bike and go to Ao Prao beach for the sunset and a cocktail at Lima Coco.

Tonsak is a good match for people looking for better than average accommodation. For the best, however, you should head to the luxury resorts on Ao Prao.

Room Tip: Try go get the beach front cottage. But, dont be disappointed if you dont. The beach is all yours if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I' ve been in this hotel maybe 10 times as I was living in Bkk and been many time in Samet.
the resort is a bit pricy when you compare to other bungalows on Sai Keaw but the rooms are nice and the location on the left of the beach entrance is making you avoiding all the noise coming froms the bar area (ploy...)
The food is awful but whithin 2 minutes walking distance you have 15 restaurants.
So for a short stay it is one of the best product you would find and K . Nida, the manager is very nice and can give you some advise about the island.

Room Tip: rooms on the left side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Where to begin...Recently stayed at the Tonsak Resort in Koh Samet. Won't bore with details but overall the experience was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and unaccommodating right from the beginning. The room was very basic for the price we were paying and was not clean at all. The restaurant has limited selection and the quality is quite poor. The only thing this place has going for it and the only reason i can imagine that it is still open is it's location. After the first night and a major headache from the resort we ended up checking out early (they refused to refund us for our second night). They then proceeded to try to charge us extra because the sheets were "wet". You are a beach resort! That's like complaining that we got sand on the floor. Save yourself the time, money and hassle, there are many other places to stay...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a very picturesque resort, but at bit overpriced: B3580 per night, which makes it the most expensive place I have stayed while in Thailand. There is lots of greenery, and boardwalks between the huts. The location was excellent; less than 2min walk from door to the sea. This means we were able to go swimming without worrying about taking any belongings, not even a towel - we left the key at reception to pick up again when we got out of the water.

Breakfast is included in the price, but there is no menu. You are given a voucher which is exchanged for a standard breakfast of orange juice, toast, fried egg, and processed ham products. Not the quality of breakfast that I would expect from a place charging so much. I am vegetarian, and even though I asked for only the egg and toast, at first I was brought the standard plate and had to return it. I was then given what I wanted, with two eggs rather than just the standard one. I would not recommend their restaurant as a good place to eat, especially as there are so many good alternatives on the beach.

This beach is the largest and most popular on the island so it is very busy, with both people staying on the island and day tripers. Tonsak resort obviously has a deal going with a tour company and seems to cater for the daytripers. In the morning a coach loads of tourists walk through the resort to get to the beach, at lunch time every table in the restaurant to pre laid ready for the group who come off the beach to eat, then return to the water. There is no evening trade in the restaurant. One time we were stood on our porch as a group were walking past, heading back to the transportation, when one asked if they could look through our open door to see what the rooms were like, that seemed ok but did mean most of the rest of the line did too.

The room had air-con, a kingsized bed, tv and fridge with two complimentary bottles of water. There was no lock box (which I have found in places costing just B400 a night). There was a large space next to the bed and I felt the room was lacking something to sit on apart from the bed. The porch has a table and chairs, though I would have preferred a hammock. When we arrived back a resort late at night a staff member trailed us to our room, being females he wanted to ensure we got to our rooms ok, a nice thought but unnecessary.

It was a nice resort; there are others that are much more expensive as well as cheaper. This was a wekend away from Bangkok and I left it to only a few days before to book a room, which meant that this was the cheapest I could get, the next avaialble room was in a resort priced at over B6000 per night. My advice is to do some searching and book well in advance for a good deal. It also depends what kind of standards you want, and how close to the beach you want to be. Everything is so close together that any resort right on the beachfront will be suitable, though if you are on a very tight budget you can get rooms on the main street for less than B500 and can walk to the beach in 10-15 mins.

Hat Sai Kaew beach is the busiest and most touristy beach. It has an atmosphere of fun and laughter, and there are many bars/restaurants; but is not the place for those looking for a quiet, peaceful beach. The further south you go the less tourists there are, but access becomes more difficult as the paved road disappears in favour of a dirt track. There are also secluded resorts at the north of the island for those who are looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Spent four nights in konsak and we thought it was nice.

Pro's:
Wifi in the restaurant
Restaurant has good food
Rooms are clean (at least ours)
Good location
Staff is OK

Con's:
A bit pricy.
No wifi in the room

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The resort has about 21 rooms in a small tropical garden right along Hat Sai Keaw beach on the island Koh Samet. It has a simple restaurant for breakfast and lunch. No swimming pool, but the sea is right on your front door.

OK I know hotels on Koh Samet are relatively expensive, but for this price of 3300 Thai baht per day I would expect some better rooms (shower only, no bathtub) with better animenities (like better& more towels). Our bathroom was smelling.

And it would be nice if the staff would be a bit more friendly. And for that price I would like to have a bit better breakfast as a cup of tea, a fried egg, cheap ham, 2 slices of cheap bread, cheap jam and fake orange jus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tonsak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonsak Resort

Address: Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tonsak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonsak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.