We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Samed Sand Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samed Sand Sea Resort
Save
You added Samed Sand Sea Resort to your Saves list
43 Moo 4, Sai-Kaew Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
1 review
“What a shame!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I wish I would of checked trip advisor before booking here for 2 nights! 2,000 baht per night, had to check out after the first night. No where to hang your clothes so the top of the fridge became the wardrobe, the safe was impossible to work, bathroom was disgusting,could hear your neighbours tv and other familiar noises. Maybe if the cost per night was 600-700 baht you could and probably would accept the rooms but certainly not worth the 2000. Thankfully got a room for the second night at Samet villa's (2,200 baht) absolute 5 star and worth every penny. As I said what a shame the place as great location but does not deliver. Samet villa's for me every trip now.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    4
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My partner and I travel to Thailand every year. Our experience has been that Thai hotels are usually better star rated than they state. This is NOT. This was our first visit to Koh Samet and probably our last. We travelled with my partner's son and his girlfriend. Firstly: we booked two sea view deluxe rooms, before we arrived in Thailand, we sent 3 emails - one to the booking site (24/7), the second to the hotel email itself and thirdly a message sent via their facebook page. None of them was answered. We arrived to find only one room had been booked on their records (luckily we had copies of our confirmation). The manager yelled at us like it was our fault. We were told there was no free rooms in the seaview area however, every room but the one my partner and I were in was empty most of our stay. My partner's son and his girlfriend were given a garden bungalow with the upstairs locked and when we asked if they could unlock it so we could at least be together they agreed only if we paid an extra 5000 baht! We also had to pay a bond of 500 bht for the room safe which is not mentioned anywhere, and were given the key to the wrong safe. The beds are like bricks and the pillows the same - only one per person. The staff treated the Thai guests much better than us, which we have never encountered in Thailand before. Thais were given a better choice of breakfast and they were also given dinner from the kitchen which we were not. Breakfast was very basic - undercooked eggs and toast. Choice of coffee or juice was given the first day, we requested juice the next day because the coffee would be an excellent paint stripper, however, we were still given the same awful coffee each morning of our stay. The bathrooms are awful. I noticed 3 cleaners attended each room but not one even touched the bathroom while we were there. Water is in short supply on Koh Samet but the showers and taps gave no more than a dribble. There is also no tea or coffee making ability in the rooms. The location right on the beach is great but not worth the hassle of staying here. Another tip - if you travel up to see the giant buddah, do not accept a "gift of good luck" from the monk there - he will then turn around and charge you 1000 baht for the privalege. The best place we found for decent food and coffee or drinks is outside the main entrance of the hotel and up to your left about 4 doors. It is sad that what could have been a great time was spoiled by these rude and unhelpful people

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This resort could have been so much better. Rooms are ok, but not worth the 2000 baht. No duvets. Outdoor area a bit dirty and too cramped and small. Bathrooms not clean and noisy. Breakfast nothing special. Beachfront is nice. Beach is busy, obviously the busiest beach on Samet.
With a bit more effort and a bit more care this resort can easily be of much better value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

It's right on the first beach on Koh Samet. We tried both a superior room at 2000 bath/night, including a meager breakfast,and a standard room at 1600 bath. Same basic standard but the superior room was a bit bigger. Have a tv, refrigerator and a/c.
Staff was friendly and did their job. Nothing extra.
The cabins are not soundproof so you can hear pretty much everything your neighbours are doing.
Still, with this location it's good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Although the hotel has a great location and seems to be relatively new, the bathroom is horrendous. The shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom, so the water goes everywhere. The plastic shower head had pink mold on it. The worst part is that there is something wrong with the pipes. As soon as you start to use the water (shower or sink), the pipe openings stink of sewage. Strong enough to make you puke!
To be fair, the room itself is cute. Sheet were clean, but the blanket was so old it looked like it's from 1980s.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samed Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Sand Sea Resort

Address: 43 Moo 4, Sai-Kaew Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Samed Sand Sea Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samed Sand Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.