We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeps Bungalows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jep's Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jep's Bungalows to your Saves list
Jep's Bungalows
Ao Hin Khok, Ko Samet, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jeps Bungalows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Perhaps it's just for sentimental value or location but I have always loved coming to Jep's Bungalows. Don't expect the greatest service or the best rooms but the location and beach speaks for itself. From memory it was 1000 baht for a decent room with A/C and buffet breakfast.
At dinner/lunch your order will take ages to get to you and the waiters will kick each other to get one another to do work but seriously do you have an appointment to run off to? Somewhere else to be?

You get what you pay for and this is still an excellent low/mid range place to stay on the island.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    24
    24
    21
See reviews for
14
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Look I wasn't expecting much, and I didn't get much, but thats not what made it so bad.

The rooms were over priced for the mosquito filled area... They were dirty. They were dangerous. But we're on holiday, and hey we expect these kind of things. But when I say dangerous, I mean it, it was like taking out lives into our hands every time we crossed the pathways to our "huts". As in, single file, and be careful you walk on the struts underneath.

Again this didn't bother me too much. Island living and all that.

What did annoy me, to the extent of coming on here to complain was the service from what seemed to be the owner/manager. He wouldn't get up to serve you and he would shout in Thai at his staff, who had the same uncaring attitude. You want a watermelon juice? Too bad, you're getting banana.

Jep, let's just call this guy Jep was a complete Ahole. Not a smile, not a want to serve anyone, just a snear and a shout in Thai that made you certain he was calling you a stupid Farhang.

So look, if you don't care about people spitting in your food go there. But If I were you I'd take a 2 minute walk and find somewhere just as close, probably cheaper, definitely safer and you might even get a welcoming smile.

Jep, you're a dck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The price of Jep's Bungalow is fair for me. The breakfast, which was included, was good. Just around 25m away from the beach, So we enjoyed the time at the beach. The room and bathroom was good, clean (lucky us). The hotel service are okay. During our stayed just be aware of the uncountable mosquitos it so BiG, millepede (I found 2 in my room :-P) and insect. You'll feel like stay in the jungle :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although we were warned about the Mosquitos we still underestimated what we were up against, the place was nice but in the jungle so please prepare. The food was excellent both the inclusive breakfast as well as what is ordered off the menu, the staff are nice enough, Take a torch though because as in many places here the electric is known to go off REGULARLY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a backpacker room which was cheap 300 B. overall, the island was a dump but this review is for the accommodation only.

Pros- surrounds are relatively pleasant if you can avoid the death stares from the staff members.

Cons- the floor had wood look Lino stuck down with band aids (seriously!), because it wasn't stuck down properly it was really dirty. The walls were dirty, the floor looks like its never had a mop, and the windows don't shut (Mosquitos are bad on this Island). Shared bathroom was average in cleanliness compared to the room.

The absolute worse thing though is the staff! They were so cold you could almost freeze standing next to them. No smiles, no helpfulness and They seemed to think they were doing me a favour renting me that room.

The whole of koh samet is like an old English seaside town but in Thailand. It's run down, tired, and most the people who work there seem short of a few. Give it a miss is my advice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We were at Jep's Bungalow for 4 nights in June 2013. It's off-season and the whole island isn't very crowded. The price of Jep's Bungalow is really fair compared to other accommodations on the island. The breakfast, which was included, was good and beside Thai dishes several Western dishes (Pancakes, French Toast etc.) were offered.
Our Bungalow was just around 25m away from the beach. As the whole area of Jep's Bungalow is not located at the main beach, it was overall quite and we enjoyed the time at the beach.
During our stay of 4 days our Bungalow wasn't - even once - cleaned so that it was very sandy at the end.

(Be aware of the uncountable mosquitos.)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter for 4 nights at beginning of April! We stayed in a family bungalow which is down near reception area, so very handy indeed!
Rooms are basic, so as long as your happy with that then there should be no problem, we weren't there to sit in the room so we didn't mind at all!
There was an air con unit in room but it wasn't amazing but at the same time we wouldn't have been without it! There was also two fans over each bed with were very welcomed in that heat!
Bed was very hard,so I took blanket off bed and put over mattress and slept with just duvet cover over us which made the bed a little more comfortable- also pillows were a little hard (and I'm not a fussy person)
Besides that- location and price was excellent! Staff were very friendly and helpful! We availed of the laundry service which was 80baht per kilo (approx £1.70) and dropped to reception in morning & was back the same evening!
The bungalows are on one side of a road/lane/dirt track which are what the roads on koh samet all are and just across the narrow road is the beach bar/restuarant/breakfast area!
Breakfast was a good choice of food from French toast,pancakes, cereal, Thai food, fruit,yogurt,toast,croissants, fruit juice, tea and coffee. We were very happy with the choices available! Food in the bar area was great and fab prices too, the menu was extensive so there sure to be something to please everyone!
The beach was beautiful and the sunbirds/parasols were 30baht per person as Long as you used the jeps ones on left hand side as you face the sea, the ones on right (nearest bar and jeps bungalow sign on beach) are 100baht per person as they are privately owned!
We ventured over to other side of island to watch the sunset which was lovely- well worth a trip, it only takes about 5-10 mins and cost approx 200baht in the pick up truck taxis, the resort on other side of island in ao prao is beautiful and we had lovely cocktails (they have cocktail happy hour) and they had our dinner in the Italian restuarant (lovely way to spend an evening)
Over all this accommodation is basic so don't expect anything fancy, but price,location,beach, and onsite restuarant make up for that - who goes on holiday to sit and look at their room anyway!!! I'd definitely stay here again if I go back to koh samet!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jep's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jep's Bungalows

Address: Ao Hin Khok, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jep's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jep`s Bungalows Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jep's Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.