We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but not good in low season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vongduern Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vongduern Villa to your Saves list
Vongduern Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Moo 4 Pae Rayong, Ko Samet, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but not good in low season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family along with 15 others stayed at Vongduren Villas. We were a family of six and when we arrived we were given a room away from the beach which had three double beds. My son who was sixteen had a deluxe room close to the beach front. The room we had as a family was less than basic and the bathroom was not clean and was leaning to one side when you walked in. My sons room and others in the group had the deluxe rooms which were so much better. These rooms were bigger than the family room and had a huge bathroom and yet were advertised for two persons only which I thought was very strange. We asked to moved our rooms to one of these deluxe rooms as the room had a double bed and a double fold out sofa. We asked for a further single bed to be put in to, this was a rolled out floor covering which was very thin but was ok for a young child all of this was agreeable with no fuss made.
As the hotel was not in high season it was not prepared for a group of 21 people. At breakfast time we had a good choice of food but drinks initially were coffee or water!
I got married what I was on the island and the hotel catered for the wedding, they did a really good job except I wouldn't ask for a wedding cake as this was very basic!
We got to know the staff well and this helped enjoy our stay.
Overall the villas were ok however I believe they need some attention given. The resort could do with offering Wifi as we had to travel down the beach to get this facility. Alcoholic drinks at the resort was just beer so if you didn't like beer like me you had to stick to soft drinks which there was not a huge selection.
Overall the resort was friendly but needs some attention given and then the stay would have been a lot more enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Vongdeurn resort is very beautiful but it was really let down by the grubby standard room they gave me. Considering the entire resort was empty I have no idea why we were put in what seemed to be one of the oldest and worst rooms- really in need of renovation. The room was complete with cockroaches, ants and mosquito's galore.

We had booked a deluxe room for the following nights and this was a definite improvement, much bigger and nicer but still quite grubby and in need of a bit of work with tons of ants. I did however see some of the other deluxe rooms and they were extremely nice and large and looked brand new in comparison so it seems to be just a case of whether you're lucky.
Also, mattresses might as well be a plank of wood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Currently staying at this Hotel and overall experience is satisfactory. Very clean rooms and attended to well. Negative points would be that staff and hotel doesnt make you feel individually special. You will feel like just a another number passing through. And also beware that kitchen will be closed by 9:20 pm and they will have no pitty,even if you are one of their guests. Please do enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here in the beginning of april 2013, 3 nights. I love this area, fauna is great, many restaurants and bars on the beach. Very quiet place, no cars, no roads. I stayed in a little pricey(3000BHT) room but seems to be quite new with huge bathroom, it was one of 2 white new buildings behind the restaurant at the rock, 2 large beds and sofa. I didnt swim at the vongduern beach but rather went to the one next beach up the hill which i like little bit better as the beach(sangtian resort i think was the name) was less crowded but both are quite good. Restaurant at the rocks has beautiful view at the sea, but their breakfast was basic and same every day(but it was free, included in price). If i get a chance i will be back, just love this place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Private villas on a nice beach. Pretty restaurant with good dinner, but terrible breakfast. Clean rooms, although there are better deals in Samet. We stayed in a villa with two beds, a large couch and a large bathroom for 3000 baht/night. I believe they have other options, probably some that are cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As our first trip to Koh Samet, we thought the location of Vongduern Villas was amazing, as it is right on a fantastic beach which has the balance of being quiet by day with enough restaurants and bars to keep things lively by night. However, none of us in our group of 4 considered the standard of accommodation to be reflective of the price paid for a "VIP" Room. These rooms are dated with basic bathroom provisions, a creaky old bed, no room safetybox, and basic television channels. We are not sure how these room types compare to others in the "resort", but as "VIP" and given the price, we thought that they were below satisfactory. Service was satisfactory with the exception of the breakfast "service", which seemed to be too much trouble for any member of staff on duty (coupled with the fact that there is 'no choice' on what you actually have for breakfast!). In general we will return to this great beach but there is no need to stay at Vongduern Villas as there are other options on the same beach that appear to offer better quality for similar (if not lower) prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Vongduern is certainly not a luxury resort, but for the price of the rooms, there is certainly not much to complain about.
We originally stayed in a standard room, with a view over the water, which was extremely basic, but suited our needs. We ended up changing to a superior room the next day, as our Neighbour had left large amounts of food on the balcony overnight, & our room became infested with ants!! After we complained about the ant problem, they sent someone to fix the problem immediately, but we still took the chance to upgrade our room, & certainly were not dissappointed.
Vongduern is the perfect resort if you just want somewhere nice to stay, as it has everything you need, as well as the fact that there are plenty of bars & restaurants just up the beach.
The staff are very friendly, and The resort is well situated if you want to just relax, or otherwise explore the island.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the end of the resort, as we still had a wonderful view of the water, without muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vongduern Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongduern Villa

Address: 22 Moo 4 Pae Rayong, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vongduern Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vongduern Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongduern Villa Hotel Koh Samet
Vongduern Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vongduern Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.