We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samed Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samed Villa Resort to your Saves list
Samed Villa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Moo 4, Ao Phai | Ban Phe, Muang, Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Samed Villa in the beginning of March. We were quite satisfied with our stay and can recommend this place to others.
We had seaview bungalows A2 and A3, it was very convenient, as the terracces were facing to each other. Views were amazing, rooms were ok. Bed was not the most comfortable one, but that is the case in most of this pricerange hotels.

Food (dinner) was good on the beach.

The noice from the disco was quite loud, as mentioned before. With earplugs it was quite ok.

Unfortunatelu we all got sick . It happened one after another, so wasnt just one food, but something else. So far we don´t know what was the reason.

Also we had some problems when leaving the hotel, since our return (private) minibus never came to pick us up. We called the hotel like 10 times, and every time they told the car would come in 5 minutes.. Well it never came. We had a flight to catch and one of was sick on that day, so the waiting in the heat was getting a little bit on our nerves. Actually I am sorry that this incident happened, because so far everything had been quite nice, but have to admit this ruined our day. I am hoping that I am still getting a reply from the hotel, what actually went wrong.

As you can see, I have quite mixed feelings about this hotel. Overall everything was so good, but a few things could have been better. Still I think this place is more than average.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are very nice. We had A2 and A3, very nice. Close, but not the first ones to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoodeeAreedee, Manager at Samed Villa Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our GM immediately took measures to increase the overall transportation quality. Hence, all the external companies working for Samed Villa Resort are now well informed at what level of standard Samed Villa Resort is expecting from them. We hope this incident should not happen again. Your e-mail to the Management has been responded by our GM. Please have a check.

Concerning the food, we recently have not received any reports about the food poisoning. However, as precaution our Head of Chef are now informed and will tightened the hygiene issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    153
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
137
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Visited Koh samed on a last minute trip and stayed here. On arriving, there was no one to carry bags and there was some confusion about my bookings. After some back and forth, I had to shift rooms to ensure I had wireless connectivity. Everything else, was wonderful - the staff was very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was here in late January and am already lloking forward to next year's visit. Hard to fault the resort. Its restaurant is great - but there are other god ones to chose from along the beach. Happy Hour in the sun is a real delight with cocktails at less than £2! The spa is first class and so reasonably priced for its quality. It's basically a family orientated resort but there are bars and more typical Thai night life further along the beach: so you can get the best of all worlds. Highly recommended. . .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Visited koh samad for my 1st time and selected this resort from tripadvisers comments and wasnt disappointed at all. Its a fantastically run resort amongst lovely gardens at the end of the beach.
this resort has thought of everything to please its guests it provides all thats needed needed for a enjoyable stay from a mosquito bat to sockets, bins, brush on the balcony, The rooms are a good size with comfortable sized bed with a excellent buffet breakfast and plenty sun beds on the beach and under the trees with clean beach towels provided in the room daily.
Wifi is good in the rooms, all at a very reasonable rate.
my only disappointment was the cost of transport we were charged 50 baht each by the songthaew from pier to samad villa resort when it should have been 30 baht, on checking out of hotel to get to the pier they asked for 200 baht for a 5 minute journey which is vastly expensive or 20 baht each but need to wait for 10 passangers. Everything on the island is more expensive, changeing money was almost 4 baht less in the money exchanges then on the mainland so recommend to change before the boat over.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are nice overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was really excited about Koh Samet after hearing lots of great things. Once off the ferry we got a songthaew through to our hotel, i was just surprised at how smelly, narrow and grubby the roads were leading up to the accommodation. You had to walk through Silver Sands resort to get to Samed Villa and Silver Sands was not that inviting - large ugly concrete open bar, and 100s of large gutted Russians guzzling beer ( at all times of day).

Anyway once through all that, we were met by a lovely set of staff, we checked in no problem and our luggage was taken to our hut. We went for the cheapy option - 1700Baht a night, that was the cheapest! and it was at the very very back of the complex 'standard bungalow rear-side' - Cannot complain about the room it was lovely, just as described. Cleaned every day, fresh towels, toiletries replaced, working tv and HBO film, internet a little intermittent in our room at the back of beyond, but you could pick it up all over the complex and even on the beach.
The hotel and grounds is well kept and well organised. The breakfast was included and that was good, lots of variety, tea coffee fresh fruit, salad, bacon, sausage, french toast, bread, spagetti, vegtables, thai dishes, etc.

What put me off was how crowded the beach was, it was tiny in comparison to others and the entire population of Samed Villa was crammed onto the beach with their orange towels, right next to several rows from Silver sands.
Not a problem though as we just decided to take a walk to the next beach which was beautiful - white sand, lots more space and 2 lots of cute beach hut accommodation - Pudsa and Tubtim.
There are plenty of places to chose to eat all along the beach front. At night it is all lit up and looks lovely.
The big draw to that beach (Ao Pai) is the fire shows - which were great and very entertaining but some went on late into the night and also the disco from Silver sands was extremely loud - so we were glad we had booked the back of beyond room as we could hardly hear the noise!!!
We didnt stay on our beach as the sea wasnt great to swim in directly opposite - lots of rocks, so we just went next door to pudsa, and one day even walked the whole length of the island stopping at each beach and to be honest they got more beautiful the further down you went.
if we went again we would stay at Ao Wongduen.
We also ate at Samed Villa one night as they did a bbq type thing where you got salad, jacket and corn along with your meat. It was a little disorganized getting served and sorting the correct bills out - but they were very busy but it was good sized tasty portion.

Oh and it doesnt have a pool, but not many do around that area.

Top Tip - if you are thinking of booking at Ao Pudsa there seems to be some building work going on and one day we walked round the corner to be confronted by a massive rusty ship with 3 lorries and a digger on it and they proceeded to drive on and off the beach all day. You would be gutted if you had booked your 2week holiday and had to look at that every day!!

Room Tip: At the back away from the night club and beach noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Room was pretty basic but all that you needed - there may be more than one price range but my friend and I it was 1500 baht per night with breakfast which was nothing special. Although you could get an omelette cooked to order.

Beach area was nice but if you want a night out and are heterosexual head further up the island as this was the 'gay friendly' area of the island, of which I was unaware of until arrival.

Also do not overspend on getting over to the Island. A return leg should be no more than 500 baht each. There are scams where people are paying in excess of 1000 as a taxi driver will drop you off by these (probably for commission)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

It seems that this is a very popular hotel for European travelers. All the good family rooms were booked 5 months prior to travel.
We stayed at Standard Family room with 1 queen-sized bed and 2 single beds. It would easy to squeeze in one more person in however I found there was already a bit too crowded for 3 adults sharing one bathroom. Luckily the hotel beach toilet just a few steps away from our room - C3! We did not spend much time in the room. In fact the design of this room it seems just for sleeping. There is not much room left after 3 beds.
And the TV only had good reception with local Thai language channels. For the channels in other languages, the reception was sometimes less clear. But there was a reasonable selection of English language stations also Japanese, German and French and at least two movie channels in English. Regarding our TV reception problem, the so-called technician did come to look at the problem; however, he left saying “I will be right back” after flipping a few channels. Of course he didn’t return. The shower seemed to have reliably hot water in the midday. There was only lukewarm water in the morning and night.
This hotel located in a small part of Ao Phai, there is a small stream separated this hotel to others. The water of the stream is running directly into the sea. However I found there are times when there is a foul smell coming from the stream. It looks disgusting.
It is because of the location, sun bathing in this part of the beach is rather a time limited. By 3 pm some the sun already set behind the trees. You either go to next beach Ao Tubtim or like most of guests, start your day very early about 7am to reserve your sun chair.
And the staff started clearing up the beach chairs and replace dining tables for dinner around 3 or 4 pm. And I must say the atmosphere in this restaurant is quite good. The uniformed staff is quite well trained but there are not enough of them. Compared to Tubtim resort, where we ate one night, Samed Villa is a proper business with properly trained staff.
Overall we quite happy with this hotel even though were some minor issues. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samed Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Villa Resort

Address: 89 Moo 4, Ao Phai | Ban Phe, Muang, Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samed Villa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Villa Resort is a nice, comfortable located directly on a white sandy beach Ao Phai on Koh Samet island and set itself in a lush tropical garden facing the turquoise blue sea and belongs to the very best accommodation on Samed island in Province Rayong. Koh Samed is a small beautiful island in the south-east vinicity of Bangkok, in the area of Rayong district. The island is famous for its magnificent beaches and for the well-known Thai poetry. Parts of Koh Samet island belongs to the National Park Kaow Laem Ya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Samed Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Villa Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samed Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.